We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Fun”
Review of Canterbury Park

Canterbury Park
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Shakopee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alden, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon Fun”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

It is nice relaxing way to spend an afternoon. We did not spend a large amount of money but bet a little on each race to make it exciting,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeremy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    56
    8
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Family Reunion”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This is our second time having our Grochow family reunion at Canterbury. We enjoyed ourselves, the weather was great, the food was superb, and the horse racing was fun. Will come back again. Free pony rides and face painting for the kids.

Helpful?
1 Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Canterbury is great at making horse races so family friendly. On Sundays they have face painting, mini horse rides, and small petting zoo. They allow kids to pet and feed the helping horses on the side of the park. There are lots of food choices and we really had fun watching the bulldog races! It's a great outdoor or indoor activity depending on the weather. We'll be back for sure, perhaps on their $1 night next time!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“uNCOrkED!!!! AT CANTERBURY”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Attended a special event hosted by the park for wine tasting and racing last night. It was held in Longshots, a separate venue with in the park, located on the second level with a great view of the track. We had a ball. The price included admission, racetrack profile for the day, appetizers, and all you can taste in wines. Although the ticket availability was a big snafu for us, the track worked out all the kinks and were able to meet our needs. My advice, buy your tickets in advance for this, as it SELLS OUT. and you'll save $10.00 pp. The area was nice, great tables, separate betting window and even live betting tables sitting outside. What a treat. We try to make the track at least once/twice per year. Being that it was held on a Friday evening, there was even a live band playing between races. (we wished they had played more than just a song or two at a time...they were good!)
The improvements is really noticeable with larger purses for the horses, bigger groups of horses in each race, and the lower level of the grandstand is now fixed up nice. Keep up the good work, we love this venue. What a great family friendly place to go. My heart melted with I saw the track ponies(not racers) coming up to the fence so that the kids could pet them. How great is that for city kids?? Staff worked hard at this event to make it fly...it is very popular. Perhaps they can even run two of these a year now, as everyone was having a blast. We even got to try some really nice new wines too. If you have a spare day and are "bored " and don't know what to do, come out to the track and check it out....it is gorgeous there, and so much to see and do. Enjoy and Good Luck.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RedneckCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I really enjoy going to Canterbury Park. The venue is clean and the staff are friendly. They have a casino with table games as well as 8 - 11 races per event. They have special promotional events that are fun. They just installed new wagering monitors. They have $1 nights that include $1 hot dogs and admission and programs on Thursday. On Friday evening they have great happy hour prices on their draft beers. Depending on what type of beer you like, there are different stands that you can purchase them at, with a full bar on the second and third floor. They have covered seating as well as benches down by the track. They have a non-smoking section of seating by the finish line. They moved their live music stage right down by the track, which is a nice change! They also offer some fun beginner classes that teach you the basics of wagering. They also have valet parking and a free coat check. The races run every 18 - 25 minutes, so you have enough time to grab food and drink, see the horses prior to the race, and go to the bathroom without feeling rushed. You can stand right by the finish line and get up close and personal with the action!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank swmmer608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canterbury Park also viewed

 

Been to Canterbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing