We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great park, but disappointed by closed rides.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Valleyfair

Valleyfair
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Shakopee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
487 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great park, but disappointed by closed rides.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was our first visit to Valleyfair and we ended up going on the final weekend of "normal" operation because it was the only time we could get away. We were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the park, the ease of parking, and the variety of rides, souvenirs, and food options. The Planet Snoopy section was our favorite, even though we couldn't ride the rides, because we are kids at heart. The park is just pure fun!

Now, I understand that the park is starting to prepare for its Halloween celebration and I have run into this problem before at Disney. However, I don't think it is fair that the park close down certain rides and attraction to prepare for Halloween and STILL charge the same admission price. I understand that weather sometimes forces rides to close or maintenance, but when the park KNOWS that this is coming up, they should reduce the price by a few dollars. Nevertheless, we will be back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    212
    89
    32
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun family time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

A lot of fun for our family! We picked a day that ended up not being too crowded, which really made the experience a lot more fun! Our kids love visiting the wave pool on the really hot days!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

It's clean midwestern family fun. The staff and most of the guests are nice. There are lots of fun rides.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelvosburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice little park perfect or smaller children and young teens. Nicely landscaped, lots of shady areas to sit and rest. We went on Sunday, day before Labor Day. The lines were not very long and lots of "breathing room" in the park. I agree with previous traveler reviews, they really price food and beverages high. All in all we enjoyed our trip, it was a wonderful family day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shbrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Funtime for the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Fun time, get there early for great parking and no lines on the good rides. Food of course over priced, blown away at the subway, foot long sub $15. Water park was fun and the roller coasters as well

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valleyfair also viewed

 

Been to Valleyfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing