We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms, Relaxing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Valleyfair Shakopee

Travelodge Valleyfair Shakopee
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Valleyfair Shakopee
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms, Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

At check in the staff asked us if we wanted to upgrade to their renovated rooms and my husband and I decided to go for it. We werent expecting any major differences from other economy motels but when we got to the room we were completely blown away. The room looked like it belonged more in a higher end hotel. Everything was beautiful and clean and modern and we ended up having the most relaxing stay instead of the sleep and go we usually do when staying in budget hotels. The bedspreads were actually modern instead of the 80s style print ones we have usually seen in this class of hotel. The bathrooms were nothing special but definitely adequate and clean. For $75 a night on a weekend, this room was a great deal. We will definitely be staying here again if we travel through Minnesota again. Thank you for a one of our most relaxing nights in a long time and at a great price too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spandi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    20
    18
    65
See reviews for
57
36
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cat10ver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We were in a group that came into town for business and booked at this location online. It was the cheapest place we could find in shakopee. They gave us 4 rooms next to eachother, which was very convenient. There was plenty of parking space for our rental cars and restaurants very close by where ordered in a few times. The breakfast was continental but enough to satisfy the whole group. Wireless internet access in all rooms was key, and it was up and running throughout our stay. The rooms were spacious and we were given extra towels and pillow when we requested. Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat10ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed here after spending new years eve at the mystic lake casino. It was close to the place which amounted to a cheap cab ride. We loved the secluded location next to the iced over minnesota river. It was quiet and cozy. The sheets smelled fresh and the pillow were plump. The bedding felt new. The wireless internet worked like a charm and HBO/AMC has some entertaining movies. The break fast area had a a common table where we congregated with some other folks for a good time. Due to the heavy snow, we had to stay an extra day and the management gave us the same great discount we had gotten online. There was a perkins on the other side of the street which was very convenient during our extra stay. We definitely plan on staying at this place again for the next new years.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank df0st3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

I stayed here over Christmas break for two nights with a couple of friends from out of town. We were looking for a low cost place near Mystic Lake casino and a reasonable distance from downtown. This was a great bargain, $45 over the weekend. The rooms were clean and the front desk staff was friendly. Wireless worked well. It’s a shame Valley Fair was closed for the winter since we realized it’s just down the road. The weekend was a blast. We might do it again this summer.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samgraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarland, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

I am a single mom travelling with kids and was looking for a good bargain. We were on the road and came across Travel lodge in the middle of the night.

The front desk clerk came right out and was very friendly. I explained my situation and she gave us a great deal on a double bed non smoking room for 5 nights. I was so happy that I didn't have to bargain at a time when I was very sleepy and my kids were looking for a bed to curl up into.

The rooms were plain and basic but extremely clean. The staff was friendly throughout our stay. We got extra towels and pillows without hassle when we requested. My kids enjoyed the milk, muffins, bread, and orange juice every morning for breakfast. Also, I was able to keep in touch with friends via the computer in the lobby. We received daily room service which was a pleasanet surprise, given that my kids like to make a mess of things.

My experience here was better than I could've expected. The staff and management made our stay comfortable and I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandyfergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Arrived at this out date hotel for our 5 night stay. After having to ring for service, the attendant asked for our name and conformation information. As soon as he saw that it was a HOTWIRE booking he said (without looking at the confirmation) that "this is a smoking room with one double bed. Well we asked if we could have a non smoking room with two beds and he said "you people book with this company and this is all I have for you. For extra money I can upgrade you to a non smoking room with two beds". The upgrade was twice what we had originally paid. He said there is nothing wrong with a double bed, you could fit three people in it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very argumentative attendent, very unaccommodating and if he cracked a smile, his face might split. Needless to say, we lost our money and moved to a hotel down the road, who gave us a room with two beds, and gave it to us at a discounted price after they heard what trouble we had earlier. It was nice to see an empty parking lot at the Travelodge when we drove by. Maybe others had already heard bad things about this hotel, wish we would of looked into it more.
We contacted Hotwire also and they said there was nothing they could do to get our money back. Lesson learned. Never book with Hotwire, and never book with The Travelodge in Shakopee, MN.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outwardbound40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shakopee hotels

Avon, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Non-smoking room reeked of smoke. Did not honor the online reservation price. Payment required at check-in, though online reservation and posted Travelodge Policy stated payment required at check-out. Was told managements policy was to pay before. Top door latch was completely broken and door face plate was also broken. Looked like the door had been kicked in. After complaining we were moved to a different room and two different sets of key cards did not work. Had to use emergency key card just to unlock the door.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenAvon_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shakopee
0.1 mi away
Valley Inn Shakopee
Valley Inn Shakopee
#6 of 12 in Shakopee
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis/Shakopee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee
4.2 mi away
Chanhassen Inn
Chanhassen Inn
#3 of 4 in Chanhassen
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minneapolis SW - Shakopee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Valleyfair Shakopee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Valleyfair Shakopee

Property: Travelodge Valleyfair Shakopee
Address: 1251 East 1st Avenue, Shakopee, MN 55379
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Shakopee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Valleyfair Shakopee 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Valleyfair Shakopee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shakopee Hotel Shakopee
Travel Lodge Shakopee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing