We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-Class Accomodations on the Lake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temperance Landing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schroeder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Temperance Landing
Ranked #1 of 1 Schroeder B&B and Inns
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“First-Class Accomodations on the Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We are frequent guests to Surfside on Superior which is the sister property to Temperance Landing. However, this time, we were 8 people: Three couples and two young boys. So, for this spring weekend, we stayed in Temperlance Landing Unit #22 and this unit was perfect for all of us. There are three bedrooms (2 Kings / 1 Queen). Each bedroom is on it's own level and there is a full bathroom on each level. The two boys made good use of the family room on the lower walk-out level. They had their own space (pull-out couch) and own TV to play their games and watch their movies. The kitchen on the Main Level is equipped very nicely with plenty of glassware and dishes. The 8 of us were very comfortable in this spacious home and we will definitely return again.

During our stay, we drove up to Surfside to use the pool, hot tub, sauna and exercise room. The facilities there are nice and worth the short drive up the road. There is a Finnish Sauna on the Temperance Landing site that is just outside of Unit #22. But during our stay, it was closed for maintenance. We hope that is fixed when we return again.

For those who want to make use of the full kitchen, there is a very good and complete grocery store up the road in Tofte (across from CoHo Cafe). The unit also has it's own grill on the back deck if you want to grill.

You are right next to Temperance State Park where there are lovely hiking trails for everyone. Our favorite hike is about 10 miles south of Temperance Landing at mile marker 70 on Highway 61. It's a hike that follows the Caribou River inland to Caribou Falls. There's a small indescript lot right off of Highway 61 alongside Caribou river. The hiking trail is only about a half-mile in. You reach a staircase that is worth the descent. It takes you right to the bottom of Caribou Falls. There is also a nice platform built at the top of the falls that gives you a spectaculor view of Lake Superior.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzy1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed in unit 48. wonderful accommodations! This unit has a real wood burning fireplace, which really adds to the warmth and the north country cabin feel. We have been staying at Blue Fin Resort and Temperance for many years. The staff is always incredibly accommodating, the food in the restaurant outlets exceptional, and the accoomdations well maintained. We will continue to visit Temperance Landing or Blue Fin Resort at least once a year.

For a unique adventure, we drove up to the Tressle Inn for dinner. Food is fine, but the experience is what makes it fun and worth the 30 minute drive.

Room Tip: The is a wide variety of options to choose from. wood buring or gas fireplaces. whirlpool tubs, fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ9856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We've stayed at #52 Temperance Landings for two years now, with another couple and in the winter (January). Since we stay during the week, it is more affordable, which is why we stay with only one other couple, though the place would easily accommodate six people. Although when we are there, we are inside, there is plenty to do and it is very comfortable. The fireplace is always going (gas) and the music is on. We eat and play games at the dining room table. We bring food rather than cook, so that solves the eating issue, and the beds are fabulous. We cross-country skied and snow-shoed, and the equipment was free from the Blue Fin Check In place. There's plenty to do in the winter in Tofte. I also went to the spa at Surfside, which was wonderful.

Room Tip: All units at Temperance Landings are the same, except some have a walkout for the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnBurleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Prospect
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a fantastic experience at Temperance Landing, and we are already talking about when we might return. The townhouses are ideally situated on the lakeshore, with a lovely beach and lava rocks for climbing. Opening any one of the many windows brought the beautiful music of the waves in to the house.

There are firepits on the beach, and firewood is supplied. One night, we could not look away from the mystically beautiful moonrise we watched from our bonfire. The next night, the moon was obscured by low clouds, so the stars came out to play instead.

Big deck, with table, chairs and a gas grill. More chairs at the basement walk-out level.

The complex is very private and quiet, and close to the Temperance River State Park. The house itself was awesome; stocked with everything you might need (even coffee!)

The downstairs fireplace was two-sided to the living room and master bedroom. The large walk-in shower in the master had both a regular and rain showerheads. The Jacuzzi in the master was nice and deep, and the bedding was of the best quality.

There were only two of us, but the house could have easily accommodated three couples or a multi-generational family.

Free (!) bikes were available to us from the Surfside Spa a mile or so up the road, as well as the pool at Surfside, and the facilities at BlueBin Bay.

We can’t say enough good things about this great place, and we’ll return as soon as we can. Expensive, but moderated by a free-night offer that we found on the internet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IllinoisTraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, MN
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This resort is BEAUTIFUL......both the cabins and the scenery are extraordinary! We went with 2 other families and there was something for EVERYONE. The cabin is very spacious and accomodating! The amenities are AWESOME - dishsoap, dish washer soap, coffee, toiletries, and FIRE WOOD!! We love to have camp fires but have NEVER been provided with the firewood to do so before......GREAT IDEA! Our campfire on the shore (just outside of our cabin) was SOOO much fun! This is or second time at this resort (my kids have now been there THREE times) within the last year! We always recommend this to all of our friends and family.
LOVE IT!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

These cabins, it's not really fair to say they are 'cabins' but I guess that technically what you would call them. How about luxury cabin! Are extremely nice. Beautiful decor, well built just great. If you visit their webpage http://www.temperancelanding.com and look at the photo's they are spot on which is nice. You can easily have 6-8 people stay. Every floor (3) has it's own full bathroom. The master bedroom has a jaquzzi. Leather chairs, full kitchen with stainless appliances. All the linens, everything but the food. You are right on the shore. The one drawback from our cabin is that the weeds were pretty overgrown so you had to search out another walkway to the lake. But you are right on it. We spent a lot of time looking for agates and other superior rocks right in front of our cabin. One word of caution. There is no air conditioning. A bit odd given these cabins are also for sale in the $650-thousand dollar range. You think putting a/c in would be a given. When we were there is was very humid and hot, unusual for the lake but none the less, having a/c as an option would have been nice. You have Direct TV however the tv's in the upstairs and downstairs locations are not very good. The main floor has a nice 40" LG tv. The cabins are a bit close together, you have to be careful to pull the blinds at night ;) There are tons of windows and great views of the lake and a nice deck with lots of chairs to sit and watch the waves crash. You are pretty removed from any nearby stores or places to eat so be prepared. Bring your food. The have Caribou coffee and a coffee machine along with a full size refrig, microwave, diswasher. Again this is a very beautiful cabin you just need to be prepared. Highly recommended....for the right person and need.

Room Tip: We had a cabin with a wood burning fireplace. They have gas fireplaces in some units. Ours had a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpeck93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Temperance Landing with our adult children (including spouses/girlfriends) and one toddler grandchild. So often, I have found that the pictures on the internet portray spacious and luxurious accommodations, and then, have been sorely disappointed upon arriving at our destination. Not so with Temperance Landing! It is even more beautiful than the pictures show on the web site! We had a group of 9 adults, and one toddler, and there was ample room, spacious deck and secluded beach area. The kitchen was more than adequately stocked with cookware and serving dishes. Plenty of extra blankets, pillows, towels etc. A Culligan water cooler was provided for drinking water which was a HUGE plus for us during the very warm week we were there. The staff was very courteous, and efficient. My kids enjoyed the kayaking and some of us girls had a great morning at the Waves of Superior Spa. We are frequent visitors to the North Shore, and would love to come back in the fall and take advantage of the beautiful fireplace, and sauna. Definitely surpassed our expectations!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schroeder
2.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
3.1 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
10.4 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
2.0 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
1.0 mi away
Superior Ridge Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temperance Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temperance Landing

Property: Temperance Landing
Address: Hwy 61 and Temperance Landing Rd, Schroeder, MN
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Schroeder
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Schroeder
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing