We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a dangerous Dump! Do not stay here with kids!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Savage
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a dangerous Dump! Do not stay here with kids!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Despite all the bad reviews for this place, I feel the need to share my experience in case there are people thinking this is a great deal. It's not, it's not worth the $80 for the room if you can afford more. I was out in the area for a wedding and, due to drinking, wanted to stay in the area. I was planning on a room at the nearby casino but I didn't reserve quick enough to get a good rate. After my experience, I should have just spent the $200 for a room at mystic. The hotel wreaks of cigarette smoke, the halls, the pool, the front office, it was all so smokey. That was the first thing my boyfriend said when we walked in. The room was fine for the most part, the sheets were clean, the room was generally clean, and thankfully there wasn't a lingering smoke smell either. However, the comforter had a cigarette burn in it, and the decor of the room was just generally outdated and stale. It was a 95 degree day and, although the AC worked, it worked poorly; the room was very humid and stuffy for our entire one-night stay. I took a shower in the evening and very suddenly the water went from warm to extremely hot in a matter of seconds. Thankfully I didn't get burned badly. I informed the front office boy about it and he didn't seem to care or offer me any kind of compensation for the issue. I was not impressed. In the morning during checkout, the process was excessively slow. The cops also showed up to deal with some domestic issue going on, which was a little scary. Also, the people staying there were very sketchy. One gal carried some other couples child (because he was wandering the halls alone) and the parents berated her for taking their child to the front desk. Several residents were obviously on drugs. It's just trashy, ghetto, and unpolished. While I realize that there are people out there who will have to stay in places like this due to the price, please try and keep your kids away from this hotel and get something better and safer. I couldn't help but worry that some poor child might burn him or herself in the death trap of a shower.

Room Tip: Get a room on the far edge of the hotel to avoid excess noise and the other residents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    12
    25
    35
See reviews for
36
26
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is in a questionable area and is questionable itself. It smells a bit funky, the rooms are small and feel dirty. They have NO ELEVATOR as well, which would have been nice to know before having to lug 50lbs of luggage up 3 flights of stairs.

THe staff was great but the hotel needs more than good staff to make it worth a stay. Avoid this hotel and this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Savage hotels

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Staff was so friendly n helpful. Best beds we have ever slept on in a hotel. Great price n location. The only issue we had was the parking stalls are somewhat small n its hard to get out of your vehicle. We will stay here again:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksand04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed two nights in two different rooms.The first room was a bad experience. The room had a horrible smell. Had to buy an air freshener for it. The fitted sheet was clean but worn enough to see stained mattress pad beneath. The sink faucet only had hot water. Unexpectedly needed to stay a second night. Was able to get a bigger room and it was like a completely different hotel, no smell and clean. They also allowed us to extend the checkout time due to our situation.They offer a shuttle service to local attractions (some are many miles away) for a very reasonable fee. If all rooms were updated like the second one, it could be a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The lady at the desk was friendly, but service was slow. All of the rooms we had smelled like mold. One had pet waste behind the TV. Two of the rooms were at garden level, and had bugs crawling in from the crack between the Air conditioner and the wall. The water temp would change drastically when the other room would flush or turn on their water. It wasn't safe for my kids to shower due to the extreme temp of the water. Road noise was bad in the rooms as well from trains and semi trucks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank othergm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

First room we were given had a nonstop barking dog next door. When we complained multi times they kept telling us no other rooms available. Finally fixed fan in another room and moved us. Next room smelled so strongly of cherry air freshener it made me ill. They would not move us and would not refund money so we had to sleep there. Next morning when we woke up freshener had disapated and whole room smelled of dog pee. Very bad experience with a motel,worst i can remember.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabeena R, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Bunny,
Thank you for taking time to comment regarding your stay at our hotel and allow me to apologize on behalf our hotel for failing to meet your expectations.

We accommodate many guests each evening and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one.
The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all our guests, consequently, its disappointing to learn that you are unhappy.

Please accept my apology.

Be assured that the issues you had have been addressed and the appropriate action has been taken.

Again, I want to thank you for taking time to share your concerns with us.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed at quality in and I liked the location. It was really good for me for travel wise. The room was neat and clean and for the price I paid I would say it was worth it. If I was traveling again or my friends were traveling I would recommed it and go stay there again.

Room Tip: try to get a corner room so that you have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evelina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savage
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#36 of 43 in Bloomington
3.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Eden Prairie/Minneapolis
6.3 mi away
Quality Inn Lakeville
Quality Inn Lakeville
#3 of 4 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Quality Inn Brooklyn Center
Quality Inn Brooklyn Center
#4 of 8 in Brooklyn Center
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
17.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#4 of 8 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
16.6 mi away
Envision South Saint Paul, an Ascend Member
Envision South Saint Paul, an As...
#1 of 1 in South Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 4601 Highway 13 W, Savage, MN 55378-1365 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Savage
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Savage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn(R) Hotel - Savage, MN is conveniently located off State Highway 13, with easy access to Interstate 35W or 169. Our guests enjoy a free deluxe continental breakfast, featuring Belgian waffles & biscuits with sausage gravy, cereal & fresh fruit daily. Our hotel features free wireless high-speed internet, free local calls, free 24-hour coffee and tea in the lobby, an indoor heated pool and hot tub. This Savage, MN hotel provides business travelers with modern conveniences including a business center, speakerphones, and access to copy/printer and fax services. All guest rooms include coffee makers, iron & board, hair dryers, room-safe, refrigerators and microwaves. We offer guest laundry facilities. Handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are available. For special occasions, two-room whirlpool suites are an excellent option. Pets are welcome with a nightly fee and deposit. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, make the Quality Inn Hotel your home away from home when visiting the Savage and Twin Cities area. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Savage
Comfort Inn Savage
Savage Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing