We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice neighborhood place”

McHugh's Public House
Ranked #4 of 51 Restaurants in Savage
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood place”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

McHugh's is a nice local pub. The food is good and the prices are very reasonable. The staff is friendly and service is good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“First time for dinner”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My fishing partner and I pass this place at least once a week since it is near the lakes we fish. We have stopped there often for lunch and most times the portions are so large that a take-out box is needed. On a Saturday evening he and his wife and my wife and I decided on a burger dinner for a very casual and relaxed impromptu meal. McHugh's was the destination and the experience was very nice. The surprise for us two guys was that prime rib was the Saturday special at $17 for the large cut. It was very good and a lot better than the burgers we thought we were going to get. I have had more tender prime rib dinners but for the value and good service it is a good choice. We'll be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Overall a nice place. Decent food, generally a good value. Clean place. Lots of TV's to watch sports. Nice menu selection. Good happy hour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice server OK Average food”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Went to McHugh's for the firrst time at the urging of a business client. It wasn't very busy and the server was a very nice woman. I had the Chicken wild rice soup and the dagwood sandwich. The soup was good not great but i wouldn't hesitate to order it again setting my expectations to meet the result. The dagwood sandwich was a nice mixture of meats and grilled nicely. Again it was good not the best sandwich I've ever had.
Overall McHugh's is a place i could go back to. It wasn't a bad sports bar and the staff was very nice.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfcMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McHugh's Public House also viewed

 

Been to McHugh's Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing