We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Whiskey River - CLOSED

Whiskey River
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stopped here on the way to the Twin Cities. Fun atmosphere with great views. Food was good. Not gourmet, but good. Kind of like a lot of TGIF etc.. Emily, our waitress was a gem. Seems like the best choice along the way and probably a fun place to grab a few beers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank the_muser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    16
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good ol' MN Food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Loved the food and the view. The food was like home cooking from grandma's kitchen. They have everything Minnesota including jello salad.
Charming little stop. Made for an easy little getaway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced bar food.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great location if you have nowhere else to go to have some overpriced bar food. The food is average at best. The staff are locals and are friendly enough to get a tip. There is nothing on the menu under 10 bucks. The appetizers are a complete joke. If you want tomato or onion with your burger you have to ask. I just assumed a burger would come to my table with both. Four adults and 3 kids spent $125.00 for a couple appetizers some hamburgers and soda pop including the tip. I get it, it's St. Peter Minnesota - What should I expect? All things considered, it was overpriced, greasy and twice as much as it was worth to sit in the bar area of a dingy lounge and slop down some beef without a gratuitous slice of tomato.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average Overpriced Food at a Dirty Outdated Establishment”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very popular place for locals I would believe. We live close and paid $16 each for the buffet. The food is plenty, but mostly fried and greasy. None of the food is marked so the overbreaded shrimp were mistaken for cheese curds. The omelet cook was nice and went to the kitchen to ask what they were because he could not even tell. We were seated to the far side of the restaurant because the locals behind us in line wanted a window seat. The waitstaff walked us by that nice window table, straight to the very back furthest point from the buffet. THIS IS A BIG PLACE. My wife and I were sitting back and saying to each other "Each other, if you were pulling in all of this money, wouldn't you put some money back into this place!" We both said yes. Wont be going back, kind of a novelty in the area, been there done it, better meal and service at any local greasy spoon for 1/3rd the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BellCopterJockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a waste!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stopped after a day of tank driving. This was suspose to be up scale. Anything but up scale. Place was big and host had everyone sitting in one little area. Moved ourselves. To say the food was average would be highly over rating it. They could not even get a hamburger cooked correctly (it was completely raw in the middle). Don't waste your money here. The staff walk around like zombies, especially the cashier/hostess. Go to fast food. You will be treated better and get better food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank glass_man111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiskey River also viewed

 
Saint Peter, MN
 
Saint Peter, MN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing