We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Management I Have EVER Encountered - Save yourself and book somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worst Management I Have EVER Encountered - Save yourself and book somewhere else”
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Made reservation in April 2009 for an August 2009 stay. Cancelled Aug 2009 stay in June 2009. Was charged for a TWO-NIGHT stay(original booking was only for 1 night) in August and still have not been credited my money. Management is the most unprofessional staff I have ever encountered in my years of travelling - they won't even return a phone call. I finally got tired of trying to deal with them after 2 months of getting nowhere and have turned it over to my credit card company to get the $350+ they owe me. Save yourself time, anguish and $$ and book elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachluvr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    177
    92
    53
    51
See reviews for
230
98
47
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I had stayed at this hotel in 2006 when it was the Holiday Inn Express. I had a room on the second floor which was very nice. However, because there is no elevator I had great difficulty with the stairs due to a knee injury. When I decided to visit family again, I opted for a poolside room at this Hotel. It is convenient for family who live nearby to pick me up or to visit. The room was not very clean. The rugs were stained and quite disgusting to look at. The base of the lamps looked like they were never cleaned. The chair and ottoman looked as if they were 10 years old! The housekeeping staff did not clean the coffee pot on a daily basis, nor did they clean up any stains left near the coffee pot. When I put on the light in the bathroom, I was inundated with gnats. The complimentary breakfast was very nice but you have to get there early. The visiting kids enjoyed the pool which did look nice and clean. I hesitate to stay at this Hotel when I visit MN again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topaz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Paul hotels

Chicago
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2009

I am typically very easy-going when it comes to service industry experiences, but certain aspects of this experience had me rankled. I picked this Best Western because it was close to the area of St. Paul where my brother lives, allowed dogs, wasn't too expensive, and had continental breakfast. I was pleased with the breakfast, although other chains do it better, and with the size of my room. If I has been traveling with more family, we could have easily fit a rollaway in the space. I also found the employees, from the front desk, to the cleaners, to be very friendly and considerate.

Now for the drawbacks: The place wasn't as clean as I might have hoped. I've been in much worse, but I was surprised as how long garbage sat outside of rooms . I was also annoyed that the housekeeper didn't replace the coffee or clean up sugar that had been spilled on a table. The workout room was pathetic - bike, treadmill, and one combo weight machine. The "business center" was under the stairs. These are mostly petty annoyances. The big problem were the parties in the ballrooms. Saturday afternoon I came home to a ridiculously loud party. I could distinctly hear the music in my room. I let it go since it was the afternoon. Later that night there was another party with loud music. Since I was there with my elderly mother, at 10 pm I went to the front desk to complain. Someone had already beat me to it. The girls (late teens to early 20s?) didn't have a clue how to appease the angry guests or how to get the party-goers to quiet down, and the manager wasn't on site. One guest finally asked for his home number.

I can't tell you the end result. We had a dog emergency, left at 11 and didn't get home until midnight.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vernie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My friends and I choose this hotel because of the affordable rates and great location. We were recommended to stay at this hotel by a family friend and we weren't disappointed! The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The staff was extremely pleasant and always available to accommodate whatever need we had. We definitely took advantage of the continental breakfast and surprisingly it was more than the usual pastries and cereal. The staff was also very helpful when giving us directions to the Mall of America [the main reason for our visit ;)] as well as our other destinations. And there was a sports bar that was easy walking distance from the hotel that had good food which is always great after a day of shopping! I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoppingGirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for about five nights and enjoyed it very much. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite so we had two rooms separated by a bar. The extra space was great for since the kids could sleep in one area and we were in the bedroom section. It was also helpful for visiting with family and friends. The pool is nice, but it did get crowded when more than two families were around. The area is very quiet and peaceful. The morning breakfast bar is quite good, but be careful as they clear everything, including coffee at 9:30 promptly! It's too bad they don't have coffee throughout the day.

The internet is free and the cleaning staff is always around so the hotel is really clean and comfortable. The design is excellent and retains the original brick and woodwork of the 100+ year old train station. One issue with the hotel is the lack of signs to various rooms or the pool, so we ended up walking three times as far to our room by following the posted signs, while it was shorter to take a different route that did not have signs. Small issue for an otherwise excellent hotel for families.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed at the Bandana Square Best Western for a family vacation weekend. We were traveling from Chicago with our 15 year old son and 2 year old daughter. Our plan was Como Park - Zoo, Conservatory, Como Town the first day and Mall of America the second day. We didn't want to stay at a cookie cutter hotel in the Mall parking lot. We wanted to explore the twi cities a bit. Bandana Square Best Western was like 2 miles from Como Park and 13 miles from Mall of America. Very easy drive to the mall! The hotel was very nice, great staff, clean room (roll away ready for us in the room when we checked in at 11:30pm!) No hassles at all! The breakfast area was super cute with plenty of food and nice seating area. The pool was ultra clean and warm - my two year old LOVED it - it was nice to be able to just jump right in! The train engine out front and the box cars out back were an added bonus. It was a fun stay.....
The only negative was the air conditioning in the room was not adjustable. It was set to like 74- 75 degrees - ish and we would probably have set it cooler, as it was HOT this weekend. It would have been nice to have that control - perhaps it was just our room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLwL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We chose this hotel, although in an industrial area as it is close to the St. Paul Saints Baseball team. It is a short walk to Gabes Roadhouse for dinner and a bus ride to and from the game. Upon arrival we were greeted as "guest" of the day and upgraded to a suite. We really liked the roominess of the suite, with the table and chairs for eating and the living area for lounging. This unexpected surprise allowed family to visit without being on top of one another. All the 4 year old (who loves trains) could talk about was the railroad tracks in the lobby. The pool has steps on both ends leading to 3 feet then 5 foot depths which was great for the little ones who are too big for the kiddie pool but not big enough for the deep water. All the staff was friendly and very helpful. The building configuration can be a little confusing due to its history, but that also made it interesting. Two tips are 1) as it is a historical building they cannot have an elevator so if you are unable or donot want to climb a flight of stairs, ask for a first floor room and 2) go early to breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 321traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
317 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
1.7 mi away
Days Inn ST. Paul-Minneapolis-Midway
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
Address: 1010 Bandana Blvd W, Saint Paul, MN 55108-5107 (Formerly Best Western Plus Bandana Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bandana Square Hotel Saint Paul
Bandana Square Best Western
Best Western Saint Paul
Saint Paul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing