We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique but not the greatest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed May 13, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cjalex824
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 616 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

We arrrived at the hotel on a Thursday evening. Hotel was very clean and neat looking as it was an old railway station. Check in time took a long time and staff really need to smile and look like they enjoy their job, because they both didn't seem to like it. Our room was a king size room that had only one chair and a old office chair that was broken. There appeared to have been a sofa as there was two end tables and a coffee table. I had to sit on a broken chair that was so uncomfortable. Check out time was the same, staff at the reception but did help with directions and that was good. The continental breakfast was good and the staff there were excellent! The lounge was cute but closes way too early as there aren't a lot of places to go there for snacks or drinks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBandana, General Manager at Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

First I would like to say thank you for placing your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. Positive or negative feed back helps us at the hotel improve on our service. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I wanted to let you know that I will be speaking to the staff that worked the days you stayed with us and let them know your comments. I take pride of a friendly staff and ones that are here for the guest and I am disappointed that you did not get the experience or the staff friendliness that we try and instill in our staff. Also if you would be so kind to contact me at the hotel I want to make sure that if you did not mention the chair being broken to the staff on check out or during your stay that I personally inspect the room and make sure that everything in the room is up and running in at a high standard.

Again thank you so much for your review and we do hope that you visit us again as we will make sure that your experience is one that you will remember for the positive.

Regards,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Traveled to St. Paul for my granddaughters concert at Hamline University. This hotel is very close. The hotel is clean and interesting as it is a former railroad depot. They are located near the fairgrounds and excellent shopping. The breakfast is good and it is very quiet. But the bed had a big scoop in the middle and I was not comfortable. I have serious back issues and this is not where I will be staying on my next visit. But if you are of sound body I think you should try it. Tell them you are a Hamline parent and you will get a great rate. They don't seem to check on it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBandana, General Manager at Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

First I would like to say thank you for placing your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. Positive or negative feed back helps us at the hotel improve on our service. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

In the past year we have replaced all of our beds so I am deeply sorry that the bed was not up to par for you. If you could please contact us and let us know what room you were in I want to make sure we get the bed fixed or replaced right away.

Again thank you so much for your review and we do hope that you visit us again as we will make sure our bed is up to your satisfaction.

Regards,

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was just their for 3 nights. and this was the worst stay at a best western by far. bottles caps on the windows. room was to cold no heat. loud room service workers. if you like to b woken up at 8am everyday this is your hotel. WILL NEVER STAY AT THIS ON AGIAN.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 755patrickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBandana, General Manager at Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Good Day Sir,

First I would like to say thank you for placing your review of the hotel on Tripadvisor. Positive or negative feed back helps us at the hotel improve on our service. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I do know that I spoke to you upon your check out and I do wish at that time you would have let me know about your stay as at the time I would have been more then happy to address any of your concerns or problems that you may have had. I am saddened that you didn't mention it to me at that time as until we know about it we can’t do anything to improve on it. I do hope you had a better trip back to Chicago then you did the last time and again I apologize for your stay and I do hope that you will try us again in the future. If you would like to contact me personally I would be more then happy to hear from you.

Regards,

James G
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice stay. Really liked the building. Room was clean, shower head good. Room a little on small side. TV was old but worked fine. Popcorn in lobby was a treat. Good breakfast. Service was great. Computer with printer available. Did not use the pool or hit tub but looked good with nice seating area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeppy405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welovetrips, General Manager at Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello and thank you for your response! We appreciate the feedback as a management team as it allows us to compliment, improve and refine our operations. I am also happy to inform you that our TV's will be getting a nice refresh shortly so i hope you will be back to visit! Again Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again!

James G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

First the building. It is a converted train repair station and has the original beams and train track running through with a cute train station in the lobby that serves as the breakfast area. Very fun for the kids. It is close to the Model train museum which is great for kids and has an indoor pool. There is a small bar/grill which is nice to have a cocktail and do some work on the laptop. A special note on service, I was late getting down to the breakfast which closes at 9:30 a.m. and Ruth set me up with everything I needed even though she was trying to close it down. Thank you Ruth! One note for the management. The workout room is fine, it just needs a bottle of disinfectant spray and a roll of paper towels so we can spray before/after a workout. Overall great stay, very good service!

Room Tip: Quiet on the rooms not on the pool side. Pool is located on the interior with pool side rooms on bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I've been coming to this hotel ever since the 90's when it was a Holiday Inn Express. It has the most comfortable beds, and the service is always great. Everything is clean, and the continental breakfast is awesome. I absolutely love the fact that it is located inside of an old train repair shop. The tracks running through the building makes me feel like I'm in an old western. I would suggest this hotel to anyone traveling to this area. BANDANA SQUARE IS THE BEST!!!

Room Tip: Any room is great, but I think the rooms that are attached to the pool area are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
1.7 mi away
Days Inn ST. Paul-Minneapolis-Midway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
487 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel

Address: 1010 Bandana Blvd W, Saint Paul, MN 55108-5107 (Formerly Best Western Plus Bandana Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range: $117 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bandana Square Hotel Saint Paul
Bandana Square Best Western
Best Western Saint Paul
Saint Paul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing