We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Make a Reservation Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Schofield, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Make a Reservation Here”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Made a reservation in January for an away from the pool king. In May I saw that a by the pool kind was only $10 more so I called and upgraded. When I checked in, the front desk lady answered her cell phone while helping a guest and my room was an away from the pool king. I didn't have time to say anything because I was on my way to a baseball game. The room was absolutely tiny. I felt claustrophobic and that never happens to me. At breakfast, I handed them my rewards card and repeatedly told them to add my number to my reservation. I still haven't received my points. When I got home, I looked up my reservation number and it came back as cancelled. I didn't cancel it or I wouldn't have shown up if I had. That means someone at the hotel had to have cancelled it and made a new one for me for an away from the pool king. Needless to say, this hotel was nothing but a hassel and headache. Stay far away from this horrible place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    177
    93
    53
    51
See reviews for
231
98
47
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My family has stayed at this hotel at least 5 times in the last 4 years. We loved it the first time and each time since it has gone down hill. When we checked out this past Sunday, my husband told the kids to say goodbye to it .. we won't be staying again. It keeps getting dirtier and more unkept as the years go by. It's time for a remodel ... new furniture, rooms painted, bathrooms redone, pool area repainted (paint peeling by hot tub) new plants/shrubbery .. the list goes on and on. There was a disgusting brown palm tree in the lobby area. Yuck! The one positive note about the BW Bandana Square is the Front Desk staff - ALWAYS kind and curteous. Good luck to the staff, this place really needs some sprucing.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are loud (birthday party going on in room next to us at least 30+ people there using the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JajaRobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBandana, General Manager at Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hello and thank you for your response! A customer’s feedback is the best thing for any business. I wanted to first apologize for us not meeting your needs and please know that you comments are and will be addressed. I wanted to let you know that our rooms have been repainted, and we have addressed the matter with the hot tub/ pool area. I am also happy to announce we are in the process of updating the plants and shrubs, along with some small renovation items that we hope to have done by the end of this year that well continue to make the hotel a great place for all who stay.

Again I wanted to say thank you for your response and please consider us again in the future.

Regards,

James M. Gray
General Manager
Best Western Bandana Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

When the signage to a hotel is problematic, that plants a critical readiness in a reviewer. We missed the front doors of this hotel driving around the building 3 times, because the markings above the facade were not distinct or in the logo one would expect to see.

Next, the check in, though done by a very polite clerk, was too lengthy. She alone was dealing with phone calls coming in and the guest ahead of us and it might have been faster had she not been alone.

The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable and sleeping was flawless. At LAST!!! A QUIET ROOM WITHOUT AN INTRUSIVE and NOISY AIR CONDITIONER! This room had central air, with adjustable thermostat - a VERY welcome touch to light sleepers like I. Overall, the facility was pleasantly quiet.

The vending machine on my floor did not accept the dollar bills and this occasioned a lengthy walk to another machine clear across the other end of the facility which had a different menu without the drink I really wanted.

Breakfast was OK, not terribly memorable, and the exercise room fairly adequate for a brief stay.

The lobby, in which I had to wait for 3 hours after check out for my ride, was spartan, but comfortable, even if a bit warm.

I didn't particularly like the location - it was nowhere near any restaurants I could see, either by walking or driving.

Room Tip: It appears to me that the second floor rooms would offer a better advantage. I lost my directional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BloomingMisfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel about four times over the past few years. Initially, our rooms were very clean, recently decorated and had a very nice, high quality feel to them. Four years have passed, and the rooms feel dirty and need some improvements - stained carpets, cigarette burns on mattress, and run down furniture. On the plus side, I had made the reservation through hotwire.com requesting a non smoking room. When we arrived, the reservation was not processed correctly (NOT the fault of Best Western) leaving us with a smoking room in a completely sold out hotel. Two desk managers really went out of their way to accomodate us and found a good solution for our second night. We really appreciated this and that counts for a lot. Room improvements will go a long way to make this a special place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with outside exposure. Rooms facing the pool have poor ventilation and can be loud. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teygosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife took me to St. Paul and Chicago for my birthday this last weekend. The Best Western Bandana Square was convenient to the train station and the historical train motif was great. The rooms...we had two...were clean and the breakfast, though not a hot breakfast, was pleasing. Negatively, it was a bit pricey and Spartan when compared to the five star hotel we visited in Chicago the same weekend (same price) ...especially since I used Best Western's reservation service directly. I would have expected about 20% less or more on a weekend.

Room Tip: It's worth a visit, especially if you like historical stuff. The St. Paul Model Railroad society...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dherbert53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip. On a Thursday night, the hotel was relatively low-key, but having a room on the pool is an absolute nightmare if you need to sleep early (I need to wake at 3 am for a flight, but the pool is open until 11 pm and people are not very conscious of the guests in the hotel rooms a stone's throw away.

The hotel itself is gorgeous and has lots of charm as a renovated train center. Unfortunately, what I hoped as some standard courtesies and amenities are not available.

As a business traveler who packs only a carry-on and has limited liquids space, I anticipated shampoo and conditioner - but only shampoo was provided. There are ants crawling on my bed and there are no other rooms. The water pressure was non-existent and it's lucky that I'm staying alone in my room because the hot water ran out very, very quickly when showering.

The service was friendly, but this hotel is not friendly to the go to bed early traveler.

Room Tip: I'm guessing that rooms not on the pool are quieter. Children running upstairs are very loud, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTravels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBandana, General Manager at Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you.

I will address your concerns with our staff in order to make sure this type of experience does not happen again

I do hope you will give us another chancel come back and see us again soon.


Regards,

James Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Paul hotels

Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was a little hesitant to stay here since it's not in a cute neighborhood or in a bustling shopping/restaurant area, but decided to take a chance since it looked so charming! And it did have lots of character, which I loved. The old train buildings were in tip top shape, and were really lovely. The train motif existed throughout the hotel lobby, with the continental breakfast held in the old ticket counter area. The lobby, pool area, and rooms were all very clean.

The downside is that the breakfast was really, really poor. It was so crowded in the little ticket area where the buffet line was, you could barely move. But the worst part is that though they say they serve breakfast until 9:30, that doesn't mean they have food until 9:30. When they run out of food, they run out of food. Two mornings in a row, we were there by 9:00, and the oatmeal, fruit, and eggs were gone (which was the bulk of what they offered). All that was left were some soft apples, cold cereal, and cheap bread for toasting. By 9:25, they were putting everything away. The buffet area was clearly still packed with people, still waiting in line trying to get food, and the food staff was quickly putting everything away in front of our eyes. Customers were trying to grab the pitcher of juice off of the cart (where the staff was putting food to take it away) to quickly pour themselves a glass of juice. At 9:27 as she was putting away the loaf of bread, and I asked her if she could please at least leave me one piece of bread to eat. It was really quite strange!

(I should add though that they did have a waffle area.)

The equipment in the fitness room was in poor condition and much of it didn't work, and the hot tub was warm, not hot.

We will not stay here again, unfortunately, even though I wanted to like it! I do want to mention that the counter staff (where you first check in) was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sailawaynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBandana, General Manager at Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for review! First let me say that I am sorry for the experience that you had at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

I have taken your response and have personally talked to each department head and staff member and let them know that we let you down. We have since made changes in order to address your concerns.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked and problems that you had during your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you give us anotther chance

James Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
316 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
1.7 mi away
Days Inn ST. Paul-Minneapolis-Midway
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
Address: 1010 Bandana Blvd W, Saint Paul, MN 55108-5107 (Formerly Best Western Plus Bandana Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bandana Square Hotel Saint Paul
Bandana Square Best Western
Best Western Saint Paul
Saint Paul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing