We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated but a good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Burns Ave, I-94 & McKnight, Saint Paul, MN 55119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Saint Paul
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A little dated but a good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel close to MSP and a decent rate this is a good hotel. It is a little dated and the hotel resturant is just ok but the rate was very good. Close to 3M campus and they do have a hotel shuttle that will take you over to 3M of you have business there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thexprt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area), responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We value all guest's opinion and feedback. We are currently in the process of renovating our exterior and doing some updates to our hotel. I hope you notice the updates the next time you are in the area! We also appreciate your kind words about our shuttle. We take pride in our complimentary shuttle to 3M and a 10 mile radius of our hotel.
Thank you again for your valued feedback, and we hope you stay with us when you are in the area!

Sincerely,

Paul H
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    42
    33
    26
    12
See reviews for
41
20
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I love Holiday Inn's. They are all so comfortable, reasonable, and always clean. It was located a little bit out of downtown St. Paul but was not an in convienence. I really wish Holiday Inn's were serve breakfast like the Holiday Inn Express' but they must have their reasons. I would stay here again as the price was right for the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area), responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel and the Holiday Inn brand. We strive to give the best possible service, and I am greatful that you enjoyed your experience. For breakfast, all of our Holiday Inn hotels have restaurants that serve breakfast, and Holiday Inn Express has a complimentary hot breakfast. Although, we do provide breakfast to our Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards Members during the weekdays.
Once again, thank you very much for your kind comments. i will be sharing your comments with our staff, and they will be thrilled that you were happy with your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Paul H.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just had the worst breakfast experience I have had at a Holiday Inn hotel. Went down @ 7:45am for the "free" breakfast buffet. When I entered there were NO tables clean of the apparent 30+. They told me when I entered that they were cleaning. I took a plate and put some of the food on it. There was STILL no place to sit, nothing to eat with, no glasses, cuts, drinks, or people in sight. I had to go into the kitchen hallway to try and find someone. One bite of the cold food was the final straw. When the front desk was informed, they said sorry and continued to work on. Better to plan on poor breakfast or go out to Breunners a few blocks away. So much for being a Gold Member.

Room Tip: Eat at a real restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DasMole57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area), responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your feedback for our hotel. I deeply appologize for your underwhelming experience at our restaurant for breakfast. Our restaurant was just done serving a large group, and I am very sorry that we were not prepared for your breakfast experience. As a Gold Priority Club member, we want to make sure that your experience at our property is the best possible. If you could email me at pheuer@holidaymn.com and give me more information, I would like to try to make this right for you. Also, if you have any other questions or concerns, please contact me at that email address. Comments like yours help us improve as a hotel, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,

Paul H.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Paul hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here this past weekend and had a wonderful experience. Meg the front desk/driver was an absolute gem! From check in to check out this stay could not have been better. The shuttle to downtown was punctual and easy to access. They provided a spotless room with great recommendations to nearby restaurants.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area), responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Meg N,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind comment for our hotel. We strive to deliver the best service possible, and we are glad that you enjoyed your experience. Your kind comments have been shared with Meg, our shuttle staff, and also our housekeeping staff. They all enjoy hearing the great comments that you have shared. If you are ever in the area, we will love to have you back at our hotel!

Sincerely,
Paul Heuer
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Was a bit taken back when I saw a yippie dog come off the elevator on my way up to my room, thankfully I was on a different floor. The room cleaning was not complete by 4 pm, so upon return I was surprised on the second day.

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, and the shuttle to and from the Excel was nice. Overall it was decent, not the best HI I have stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Compsolut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area), responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Compsolut,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington Minnesota, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

For 12 years I have worked with Holiday Inn East in St Paul for our convention. We have tackled everything from remodeling to parking problems in the last 12 years and they have always bent over backwards to make our visit a success. They even contacted a neighbor for get access to extra parking for us. If your looking for a location for an event and you want to work with great people. You've found your place

Kelly
Operations
Con of the North

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copper Country, MI
Level Contributor
231 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have good experiences with this hotel in the past, but I won't stay here any longer. It was convenient to where I had to go, but I'm willing to drive a little bit more now to avoid this place. This hotel is past it's prime and management doesn't care about it any longer. My main reason why I'm not coming back here is that housekeeping of the common areas is atrocious! A glass, left in the hall by my door, sat there for 3 days. Dirty dishes were left in another hallway for 4 days. Not a single staff member bothered to pick these up? On the morning I left there was garbage strewn about the lobby in full view of the desk person and the sidewalk in front of the front doors had garbage about. What a pigsty.

I understand that these minimum wage workers don't care how the hotel looks, but you'd think management might?

Apparently not.

Room Tip: Here's a tip....choose a room someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lungfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area), responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Lungfruit,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback as a management team as it allows us to improve our hotel and refine our operations moving forward.

I would like to apologize for the public spaces and areas just outside your room not being cleaned promptly throughout your stay with us. I will share your comments with the appropriate managers so we can address the situations. Regardless of business or leisure travel, we expect that all our guests receive prompt and courteous service.

Sincerely,

Steve - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Paul
4.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#2 of 18 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#6 of 18 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bandana Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area)

Property: Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area)
Address: 2201 Burns Ave, I-94 & McKnight, Saint Paul, MN 55119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Paul
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn St Paul East is a full service hotel that fits the needs of many travelers. Whether you are here for 3M, business meetings or leisurely travel, the Holiday Inn St Paul East will fit your needs. The Holiday Inn St Paul East offers a swimming pool, whirlpool, game room, fitness center, shuttle service within 10 miles (based on availability), a restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner with room service and much more! Our restaurant is called McKnight's Bar and Grill, and we have a wide variety on our great menu! Come and enjoy the great amenities and comfortable rooms at the Holiday Inn St Paul East! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Paul-i94-East (3m Area) Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing