We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - big burgers!”

Highland Cafe and Bakery
Ranked #178 of 908 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: American, Nepali, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Highland Cafe & Bakery is a family owned business. We specialize in personal service, and make every effort possible to make your time with us as great and fun as it can be. We serve Breakfast, lunch and dinner with daily specials. We make everything from scratch, from soup to mashed potatoes. Our wine and beer list is filled with local offerings. We have 1/2 price wine bottles Tuesdays and Wednedays, craft beers for $4 on Thursdays and 2-4-1 Beers Fridays. Stop in, give us a try and join our family. -HCB
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We husband and I stopped in for lunch because we had a groupon for this place. It was very good. My husband ordered the burger with a side of onion rings - it was a very generous portion and he said they were great. I had the turkey burger with a side of fruit. The turkey burger was well-seasoned and the bun looked home made. Wish the fruit had been a larger portion due to the nearly $4 charge but it was fresh and good. Would go back. (p.s. the bakery case was filled with great looking goodies!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Theresa989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ C, Manager at Highland Cafe and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thanks for coming in! Try our House Chocolate cake with a buttercream frosting next time! its fantastic!! Look forward to your future visits! Sorry for the delay as we had issues loging into this site everyone.
-HCB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 49 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is a true MN cafe-it reminds me of the cafes in smaller towns, which is cool to me. Yummy home cooked food & friendly staff. We like to come here with the kids- plus we love the Highland area of St. Paul.

Thank mandy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ C, Manager at Highland Cafe and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thanks for your review! We are glad you think of our restaurant as a hometown cafe. That is the vibe we are going for. Not too over the top, but far from a dive. We just had an artist come in and paint a beautiful mural of St. Paul on our wall. Add more to the home town look and feel. Look forward to having you and everyone reading this stop in and dine with us again.
-HCB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This place has regular portions for many, and smaller portions available for old and young
So you can pick the amount of food you want, and not be hung.

Food is definitely comfort and prepared well
No wonder a lot of it they do sell.

Sandwiches and salads are first rate
So it's a good place for an informal date.

Fancy, no, not at all
But it's much better than most places at the mall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Seniordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

This is a fine stop when you want American comfort food at a good price and with swift service. They have some special dishes on offer that change per day. Often the specials will be dishes that remind you of the best home cooking experiences. These special dinner features are the ones to go for. They offer wine and some very fine desserts too. There are also some surprises since they own another site that specializes in ethnic food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MNCondoDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ C, Manager at Highland Cafe and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thanks for this post! We are in the process of also adding Local Craft Beer to our ber list. We hope you tried one of our daily specials! Those are really the way to go. You can always get a burger or pork dinner, but you can't always get a special like Sautted Shrimp w/ fresh asparagus and a baked potato for example. Hope to hear from you again soon!!

-HCB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My family (husband, myself, 11 yr old daughter) goes here at least once a month. The servers are super friendly and the food is great.
We fell in love with the appetizer 'Kathmandu momo's" they are sooooooo good! We order these now every time we go.
The omelets at Highland cafe are big! I get the ham and cheese omelet and there is more ham than you will see anywhere else and lots of cheese. You also get a slice of home made toast on the side and some home made jelly. It's excellent.
My daughter usually get's a philly which she loves. Sometimes she opts for the Chilly another one of her favorites. She has a few things she goes through- I won't list them all.
Husband usually has liver (I'm not a fan, but he says it's "Awesome") or a curry dish that apparently Highland cafe is really good at making.
I'm not sure you can go wrong with anything you order.
Be sure to check out the bakery when you're done eating- their baked goods are excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MNHighlighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Cafe and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Highland Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing