We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 14, 2007

Loved this hotel! You can't beat the location and the staff is excellent. As another member mentioned, "midwestern friendly" is different from other places. They really are kind, not just faking it for their day job. The conceirge can reserve transportation in their towncar or passenger van to local sites and the drivers are chatty and nice. The cars are complimentary within a certain radius (tip the driver) and a nominal fee for outer areas.

I had take away from the cafe downstairs for breakfast because I didn't want to sit in the restaurant alone and my muffins and coffee were brought out quickly with a smile. They did have to double check if they could make a latte but it was done well when I got it. The food at The Grill on the main level was average. I was surprised as a local recommended it to us. It seems to be popular for happy hour as well. We were able to take the remainder of our bottle of wine upstairs with us after dinner, which was nice.

Pazzaluna, across the street from the hotel, is excellent and serves late in the bar. We also liked Fhima, at Wabasha and Sixth, five minutes walking from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank getsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 744 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed two nights over Easter weekend, and upgraded to the Ambassador Suite. We were in town for a wedding, so we didn't get to spend a lot of time in the hotel, which was too bad. The bed and shower were wonderful, the view was very nice, and having classical music on the Bose system added to the feeling of being pampered. We didn't eat in the Grill, but I wish we had tried it. We would have liked to spend a few more minutes by the fireplace in the lobby as well. The staff was friendly and responsive.
Two things to be aware of: 1) there is no coffee maker in the room! According another review you can request one, but we didn't. However, husband was able to purchase coffee and pastry in the lobby, so that was ok. 2) It's $18/day to self-park in the garage. If you do, park on "E" level, which is where the walkway to the hotel is (if you do this you'll have to navigate some stairs w/ your luggage). Also, we tried to leave early one morning and there was no attendant in the booth so we had to call to have someone come let us out. If you have an early flight, make sure you can get out of the garage! But everyone was friendly and helpful, just perhaps a tad disorganized re: the garage and parking. I suppose the solution is to use valet parking, but we didn't want to wait for the car.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHKDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2007

We stayed 3 nights, 1/19-1/22/07 and had an excellent weekend. We had initially booked their rack room and found that disappointing, so we upgraded to a Landmark King room - very nice and well worth the upgrade - more comfortable bed, much better view (corner room with view of the city and the park - room 1026), nicer radio (Bose), and a little bigger. The staff are fabulous, from check in to concierge (thanks, Ana) to room service to valet parking to housekeeping. We got the "romance" package for one night and the "snuggle up" package for another and both were nice additions. Only had a couple snags, e.g. the "wine and cheese" basket had very little cheese, so we called the kitchen to see if we could get something more and they brought us a nice cheese plate without hassle or extra charge. Unlimitied in room movies were included with one package and they ended up on our bill in error which was fixed right away when I pointed out the error. We'd definitely stay there again, had a great time. Try the escargot at the restaurant. If you're going to the Ordway, stay here - you can't beat a 2 minute walk to your hotel after the show.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2007

We spent the weekend at the St. Paul Hotel and found it very quiet, clean and the staff was helpful. We ordered room service for one morning and it was fantastic. Perfectly served by a very courteous staff member. We attended an event at the hotel and we were given a special gift basket by the hotel since we were staying at the hotel for that event. What a nice touch! We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

I stayed at this hotel in September 2005 and thought it was great. The room was very nice, although I did not have enough time to enjoy it. I was there on a Sunday and there was not a whole lot going on in town. We came across a bar, I think it was called Alary's, which was the only open bar in downtown that we could find and it had a big Chicago Bears crowd. There was also a very nice restaurant just across from the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcd63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2006

We booked our stay at the St Paul Hotel for four nights in an Ambassador Suite. The room was quite pleasant, nicely decorated, and exceptionally clean.

The Ambassador Suites have a king four poster bed which is quite comfortable. All the furnishing appear to be new and well maintained.

Our first night we had gone to bed early, and at a little bit after 10pm the phone rang and woke us up out of a sound sleep. It was the front desk seeing if we were missing a cell phone. We we not happy about this annoyance, and let them know so. Why they would pick our room to call I could never get an answer.

The food was very good in the Grill and also breakfast was most pleasant. No complaints.

Before we came up to St Paul I ask if they had coffee makers in the rooms. They said no, but that they would put one in our room for us. I also ask if I needed to bring coffee, and they said no, it was provided. Yes, it was provided for a $3 per day charge which showed up on our bill the last day. I did call the front desk and that charge was removed. Frankly that is just cheap for a hotel to charge you for coffee for the coffee maker.

We used the valet parking at $18 per day as it was convenient. However, only after we returned home did we notice our brand new car with less tha 900 miles on it had some big nicks in the paint.The driver had obvious rocks in his shoes,and scraped the car as he got out. It has been a month and we still are waiting for a claim form. We have spoken to the manager and others, and no one can seem to get this taken care of.

Overall the hotel is nice, and in excellent condition, however, these little things made my rating of our stay only two stars.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2006

If you are passing through the Twin Cities on business or with your sweetheart, the St. Paul Hotel is the place to stay. Gorgeous, gorgeous spot, impeccable service, fantastic food, excellent location. Each person on the staff does what they can to make you feel special. While taking a run through the downtown and along the river is convenient and lovely, they also have a top notch fitness room with breathtaking views. I do have to say though, that if you are traveling with young kids I would not stay here. We felt very claustrophobic with our 4 year old, and were constantly "on guard" to keep her in check because the surroundings are just so lovely. We looked longingly at the St. Paul Grill (their superb, beautiful restaurant) but it just isn't appropriate for kids. The staff, by the way, did nothing to make us feel uncomfortable with our child. We just wanted to respect other people and took our "wildebeast" to a more family-friendly restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank buffalogordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range: $180 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing