We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Doylestown
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Just perfect luxury”
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We love this type of hotel. Even for the mid-west, St. Paul is a wonderfully friendly city, and this hotel embodies that spirit. It is right in the middle of everything, surrounded by Charles Schultz "Peanuts" bronze statues (he was born in the city) and across from the amazing Landmark Center with its wood exhibit and just amazing Schubert Club musical instrument exhibit, It is a short walk to the Science Museum and wonderful Minnesota Museum of American Art (small but great). And the hotel? The service - impeccable; food - lunch is wonderful, breakfast is in a gloomy basement so go elsewhere. But I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for its location and service.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnydogmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    186
    53
    27
    13
See reviews for
124
268
36
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

My husband and I went to the Saint Paul Hotel for our anniversary and my birthday. The hotel was aware that we had chosen their property to celebrate our special days. They did make sure that we got a room with a view of the park but, other than that, there was really no acknowledgement. A cheesy, preprinted card would have been nicer than nothing.

Since the twin cities is known for their theater district, we wanted to take in a show. We went to the concierge on Friday to ask about what was showing on Saturday. He did not have a clue. Shouldn't a four-star hotel, located in an area known for the theater, have a LIST of all of the shows playing that weekend, what time, where, how to get tickets, etc.?

The only thing that made this hotel four-star was the valet service and the robes hanging in the closet. I was not impressed. I will not go back.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tess9745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

This is THE place to stay in St.Paul. It is an historic hotel, completely redone to become one of the boutique and great smaller hotels in the US. Doormen, elegance, fabulous rooms, be sure to book a park view room, close to everything downtown, yet quiet.....and has the St.Paul Grille, a lovely restaurant. We stay there at least 3-4 times a year, and it is always up to its luxury standar.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank eldichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Stayed here for a wedding so got the benefit of a nicely discounted rate. Historic hotel is nearly 100 years old and has lots of charm. Lobby is gorgeous and rooms, although smallish, are charming, too. Comfortable bed and chair with ottoman. Oddly the lamps could not be reached from the bed to either turn on or off. An inconvenience that should not be. Bathroom lacked a fan, so the mirror always steamed up when you took a shower. Curved rod made for good elbow room, though. Room lacked a coffeemaker, another drawback. Windows could actually be opened a few inches, a plus. Blackout curtains made it easy to darken the room for sleep. Bathroom amenities from Aveda--lotion, soaps, shampoo & conditioner. Fluffy towels and robes, another plus. Staff was gracious although the shuttle van service was a little disorganized. No problems with the valet service for the car. Air conditioning was very efficient and kept the room pleasantly cool--easy to adjust for your preference. Good fitness center on the top floor with a nice view--lots of machines and free weights available 24 hours a day with your room key. Restaurants were excellent.

  • Liked — Great downtown location
  • Disliked — lamps; no coffeemaker
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pesca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

I was tempted to title this review "A Death in The Family," but I feared folks (and hotel management) might take it the wrong way without reading the text. Family funerals are never easy, but it is a testament to the quality of St. Paul's hotel staff that ours was as painless as possible.

We got a call on a Monday evening that required cross-country travel on short notice. We booked a "deluxe single" as it was all that the web site showed available on less than 24 hours' notice. Bereavement fares were not available into Twin Cities, and we wound up flying into Madison, WI, renting a car and driving to St. Paul. Can you say 'long day on the road?'

Upon arrival 11pm or so on a brisk Tuesday night, we had the good fortune to meet Tessa at the front desk. We had picked up a niece along the way to stay with us, could we see if they had a somewhat larger room that might accommodate a rollaway? Maybe airlines have no heart, but Tessa was all that. She found us an unoccupied suite on the smoking floor (which admittedly smells like a rental car when you first get in; apparently there is an industrial strength deodorizer within the hospitality industry that turns stale smoke into a Turkish potpourri scent). Note to smokers: this is a non-smoking building, so the smoking floor is the second, close to ground level, where hockey fans could be heard in the wee hours cheering the Wild for a playoff victory.

Did I mention that Tessa placed us in the suite without raising the single room rate? It was a touching gesture for three sleepy and frazzled members of an extended family. We were there for five nights. During the course of our stay, we had other grandchildren in to watch tv or enjoy room service before setting off for the Children's Museum (a short outdoor or slightly longer skywalk away). Staff were uniformly courteous, helpful, and professional. Frankly, it's all you can ask in any hotel these days.

Basics: location. St. Paul Hotel is located facing Rice Park (with the Peanuts characters bronzed), across from the opera house and a short walk to the Xcel Energy Center (see, Convention, GOP for more details). The entire shopping district is attached to the skywalk towards the back of the hotel.

Rates: reasonable for a top level business hotel. "Deluxe single" means smallest rooms, closest to the elevator. This explains an earlier post: (her husband took her to St. Paul Hotel for anniversary, 'rooms were small.' Ma'am, tell your impecunious husband to go for a suite on your anniversary.)

Internet: $9.95/day, includes wi-fi in the lobby. Business center fully equipped right next to the lobby.

Fitness center on site is a few machines, but concierge can hook you up to a beautiful gym down the street that includes indoor pool and basketball.

Food: consistent and good. St. Paul Grill features an eclectic menu, leaning to American comfort food, which is fine by me (if I want inventive, I'll go to a resort.) Room service was timely, friendly, and ample (no skimping on the large coffee pots.)

The vibe at St. Paul is comfortable. The lobby is not large, but sitting areas are arranged to invite you to sit. (How many lobbies have you seen that look like set pieces where people really don't figure in the arrangement?) On a Friday night, a small jazz trio set up and entertained without being intrusive. There is a small lobby bar and eatery separate from the larger Grill in a separate wing.

The one gripe from previous posters that hits home is valet parking. These guys are totally overwhelmed (and presumably understaffed for a reason), to the point where the head bellman helps park cars. When he does so, a call to his desk to retrieve your car will go unanswered. Walk to the front door, present your claim check, and expect to wait ten minutes for your car.

Here's the problem or the charm, depending upon your point of view: St. Paul Hotel is an old building that has been lovingly restored. Bathrooms are not as spacious as new-construction Ritz Carltons, where bathrooms are larger than my first apartment. This is why some observe that the rooms are not terribly large (although these complainers have never been to a W, where $800 buys you about 140 square feet/night.) The lobby is smallish, with a boutique feel, but here it's a good thing. Some business hotels are impersonal to the point of robotics. The same space problem infects valet parking, where the entry drive cannot handle the traffic of what is obviously the most sought-after hotel in the Twin Cities, for good reason.

When I checked out, I had to ask for a credit on a movie rental. I had tried to resume watching a feature film but accidentally ordered it anew. I never did find out how National Treasure ended, but I knew that if I were ever nominated to the Supreme Court, Senators would be grilling me with questions like, "Do you think someone who watches movies as cheesy as National Treasure Part II twice in twelve hours is qualified to sit on the highest court in the land? Well, do you? Speak up man!" I needed to remove the evidence. As luck would have it, Tessa was at the front desk and on the job, which was once more well done.

I recommend Tessa and the entire staff at St. Paul Hotel without reservation.

  • Liked — First class staff
  • Disliked — valet parking
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jackfurlongesq_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2008

While St. Paul in February may not be the best time to visit, I found the Saint Paul Hotel to be one of the warmest places I've ever stayed. The staff were incredibly useful, the room was large, the best comfortable, and all of the added touches (such as his and her robes hanging in the closet) were excellent. I would highly recommend this place. It has a great location and the hotel provides free transportation to local restaurants and facilities. I can't say enough about this place. Absolutely 5 stars!

  • Liked — The comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — No in-room coffee.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CardinalsLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Our stay at the Saint Paul hotel was ok but not the best place I've ever stayed. It was very beautiful and elegant when we walked in. The lobby is gorgeous. Our room was equally pretty, but not very large. We actually visited on our anniversary and my husband had asked for the "romance" package, and we got two "tuxedo" strawberries and a bottle of sparkling wine. (Not champagne). We also got a bouquet of flowers, which contained icky carnations. We didn't spend much time in the room, but when we did it was very loud. We could, ahem, "hear" our neighbors for most of the night and were unable to sleep. We were also right by the elevator which was very loud all night long.
Other than our sleepless night we had a great time- very good location if you are wanting to go to a concert or an event at the xcel.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank erikakayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Property: The Saint Paul Hotel
Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing