We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned, comfortable, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Well positioned, comfortable, good service - only (very slight) negative was the lack of a working rowing machine in the gym (and that perhaps was not such a bad thing). Very comfortable and spacious rooms!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 748 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at The St. Paul last night for a concert. I purchased the "Celebrate in Style" package that included $130 in meal credits, parking, and fresh flowers for my wife.The staff was very friendly and the rooms were nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable! We had supper at the St. Paul Grille which was very good and the breakfast at the M. St. Cafe was awesome. The hotely is located downtown a block from the Xcel Energy Center which you can walk to without going out side.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olsonkmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The St Paul Hotel is a classic, beautiful, and well-run property. We followed the advice of our Trip Advisor Friends and requested a room facing Rice Park, 6th floor or higher, NOT near the ice machine, and NOT with a connecting room. Thank you everybody....that was TERRIFIC advice. Thanks, as well, to GSA, Paul, who took our reservation and was so helpful. Our room was quiet and well furnished, free newspaper, Aveda products. We were there for the Winter Carnival, and viewing Rice Park with its white lights, and illuminated ice sculptures......sigh...it doesn't get any better! We spent our first evening in their lobby, listening to their jazz combo...very elegant and relaxing. We ate at both their restaurants (will review them separately), and both were excellent. If not already a member, you might want to join "I Prefer;" there are a few perks with that, as well.

Room Tip: 6th floor or higher, away from ice machine and connecting rooms, facing Rice Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MusicLadyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A very comfortable hotel in a perfect location for visiting St. Paul. It was the main hotel for the recent Crashed Ice event at the St. Paul Winter Carnival - perfectly situated for the Winter Carnival Parade that passed by the front of the hotel. Directly across the street from the ice carvings and the outdoor ice skating rink.

An excellent business center with easily accessible internet,computers & printer. No hassles and no charge.

Community involvement was impressive - the hotel opened its lobby to the general public for 75 cent hot chocolate, other beverages and snacks during and following the Winter Carnival parade - nice to see a no rip-off policy for anyone who wanted to stop in and get out of the cold.

My room was quite nice - TV worked fine,lots of hot water, good view of the skating rink and a pretty fast elevator - couldn't ask for much more. I didn't request turn-down service so don't know if they leave a chocolate on the pillow! They did deliver a Sunday paper which I found to e an unexpected treat - lots of hotels leave a weekend paper on Saturday and that's it.

Should mention that the hotel is only a block away from the Science Center and close to the Xcel arena. Nice location within easy walking distance of lots of downtown locales.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSPH, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. You stayed with us on a particularly exciting weekend! I am pleased you were able to enjoy so much of what St. Paul has to offer. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Minnesota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hands down, one of the best hotel experiences we have had. My wife and I were lucky enough to experience ALL the Saint Paul Hotel had to offer. We used this first class facility for our wedding, reception and stayed in a deluxe suite to cap the night off.
STAFF: From the Doorman to the Concierge, the people working at this hotel, truly seem to care for making your experience perfect. Lots of smiles and greetings through out our stay.
ROOM: Attention to detail often seem over used, but i have to say that we were very impressed with everything. Clean clean clean. And we heard this from over 50 of our wedding guests that joined us as well!
RESTAURANT: Onsite food is available, we chose room service for our stay!
The Saint Paul Hotel has "classic" old world charm that made our stay perfect.
We return each year for our Anniversary!

Room Tip: There are corner suite that overlook a beautiful downtown park, but to be honest the architecture of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottandJulie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

No matter if you spend the night at the hotel or just stop in for a drink or even have dinner, this is the perfect place to splurge a little for some of the finer things in life! The staff is amazing, always friendly and they go above and beyond! The bar staff is knowledgeable on every whiskey & scotch on site and then some. If you're ever in the area or if you ever want to treat yourself or have a romantic evening, this is by far one of the best places to go in St. Paul!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerlynDalamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great service from the time we made our reservation until we checked out! Staff was very helpful to get flowers in the room and a bottle of my wife's favorite wine and a fruit/cheese tray there before our arrival as well. The room was very nice with a very comfortable bed. A great stay!

Room Tip: We had a corner room overlooking the park - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllenCambridge_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range: $179 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing