We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Accomodations With Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Classy Accomodations With Excellent Staff”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Spending several days at the St. Paul Hotel is always a pleasure.
Rooms are comfortable and well-appointed...what a pleasure to have a magnifying mirror in the lavatory. The staff is warm and welcoming. There is a well-equipped business center with complimentary Wi-Fi. We ate in two hotel restaurants, and both food and service were outstanding in each. Shuttle service to the airport was convenient and fast. This is a great old-fashioned hospitality hotel. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Probably a good idea to request a floor with no wedding parties in residence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    185
    53
    27
    13
See reviews for
123
266
36
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
757 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I used to stay at the St Paul Hotel frequently but I hadn't for a few years until last week. The place hasn't slipped at all. It is still the elegant and genteel old world place that it has always been. The service is impeccable everywhere from the valet parking desk to the front office. You will be properly addressed, the doors will be opened for you, they will do all they can to make things right at the St Paul. The rooms are clean, elegant and yet modern. The beds are fantastically comfortable and the place very quiet too. There is nothing that I can add but it is a great elegant experience at the St Paul. For events in downtown St Paul and the Ordway, this is the very best. There are also many good restaurants within walking distance offering from sports bar, microbrew to ethnic and elegant. The hotel also has two restaurants. The Grill is one of the finest place downtown. You will be happy to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is one of those that brings back an earlier time without losing any of today's comfort and terrific customer service. I love staying here and wish I had a reason to return often. The rooms are extremely comfortable although I did have a loud couple next door and the connecting door wasn't thick enough to keep out the noise of the television or their talking. But, that was a small thing compared to the enjoyment I get out of staying here. One of the helpful services they provide is a complimentary ride to places within a certain area of St. Paul, but I've always been able to take advantage of that. This is an elegant hotel and I highly recommend it to anyone making a trip to St. Paul.

Room Tip: Ask for one that overlooks the park. This way to see the lovely little lights in the trees as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel in my eyes, you have found it with the St. Paul Hotel. Everything was perfect. Our room was beautiful, the service was excellent, and the restaurants were wonderful. Any request we had was fulfilled quickly and efficiently.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
620 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed one night as part of a package with the American Queen Steamboat Co. The hotel is understated elegance with professional service. Our room 426 was on a corner that overlooked the park. The room was comfortable and appeared to be newly decorated. The bed was super comfortable, but since I am short, I needed to stand on the end of the bed frame in order to get in the bed! No biggy.

The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to many restaurants. I wouldn't recommend Trattoria da Vinci though.

We'd stay at the Saint Paul hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fudgbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love staying in this historic, but modernized hotel in the heart of st paul. Beds are comfy, rooms are spacious and clean, rooftop fitness center offers good equipment and great views. Fireplaces, wallpaper, rich carpeting, dark wood, attentive staff, and make this a great business hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebago7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Saint Paul is elegant and classically comfortable. Rooms are of a good size for a more historic property. Nice large bathroom vanity. Good marks all around from me regarding the room.

I hesitate to elevate this review to a higher level because of an experience that I had at breakfast one morning. Firstly, upon calling the desk for a Wall Street Journal I was informed that their WSJ's had not been delivered. Its a Wednesday morning, you mean to tell me that you can't have someone go to a news stand to grab a few papers seeing as most of your guests midweek are business travelers?
The real problem occurred once I arrived to breakfast at the Cafe. It was understandably busy but I was seated immediately. I had about 45 minutes to eat before leaving for an appointment. I waited about 10 minutes for me server to get to me. No coffee-- no water -- no "I'll be with you in a minute" -- nothing. A middle-aged man was seated at the table next to mine. The server then decided to pay attention to me. Throughout my meal, she checked in with the man several times but only stopped to see me at the end. I had to wave her down for a coffee refill.

Her blatant sexism is sad. I hope she got the monster tip that she was clearly expecting from the middle aged man. Don't worry though, she got one from me although I didn't intend to leave it for her. Upon leaving my inclusive voucher for the check, she proceeded to WRITE IN tip that was later charged to my room.

I travel often for business and have never felt neglected or poorly served based on my gender or age until this time. Its sad. I can say that the following morning, I had a better server who was attentive and deserving of the large tip that I ELECTED to leave her.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Property: The Saint Paul Hotel
Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing