We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand old St Paul” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Saint Paul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand old St Paul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love staying in this historic, but modernized hotel in the heart of st paul. Beds are comfy, rooms are spacious and clean, rooftop fitness center offers good equipment and great views. Fireplaces, wallpaper, rich carpeting, dark wood, attentive staff, and make this a great business hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sebago7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    178
    52
    27
    13
See reviews for
121
255
36
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Saint Paul is elegant and classically comfortable. Rooms are of a good size for a more historic property. Nice large bathroom vanity. Good marks all around from me regarding the room.

I hesitate to elevate this review to a higher level because of an experience that I had at breakfast one morning. Firstly, upon calling the desk for a Wall Street Journal I was informed that their WSJ's had not been delivered. Its a Wednesday morning, you mean to tell me that you can't have someone go to a news stand to grab a few papers seeing as most of your guests midweek are business travelers?
The real problem occurred once I arrived to breakfast at the Cafe. It was understandably busy but I was seated immediately. I had about 45 minutes to eat before leaving for an appointment. I waited about 10 minutes for me server to get to me. No coffee-- no water -- no "I'll be with you in a minute" -- nothing. A middle-aged man was seated at the table next to mine. The server then decided to pay attention to me. Throughout my meal, she checked in with the man several times but only stopped to see me at the end. I had to wave her down for a coffee refill.

Her blatant sexism is sad. I hope she got the monster tip that she was clearly expecting from the middle aged man. Don't worry though, she got one from me although I didn't intend to leave it for her. Upon leaving my inclusive voucher for the check, she proceeded to WRITE IN tip that was later charged to my room.

I travel often for business and have never felt neglected or poorly served based on my gender or age until this time. Its sad. I can say that the following morning, I had a better server who was attentive and deserving of the large tip that I ELECTED to leave her.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

They do everything right here. They truly have a heavenly bed--perfect pillows, linens & mattress, with a duvet that was warm enough, but not too warm. The room had plenty of surfaces & drawers for keeping things organized & put away. The room had a very comfortable sitting chair & ottoman. The inclusion of toiletries from Minnesota's own Aveda was a nice touch. There are other amenities in the bathroom that are convenient & not nailed down, which is refreshing after seeing other hotel rooms where everything is bolted down or otherwise secured. The staff is friendly, helpful, & capable. The location is central to St. Paul's charming attractions. I am personally not a fan of traditional decor, but this hotel embraces its tradition in such a comfortable way, it's enjoyable. It would be nice if the room had a receptable for recycling. Even though my room was right by the elevator, it was very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I have no idea how this hotel gets 4-5 ratings. I travel extensively and this hotel is average at best. The staff is slow to respond and not very attentive. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are outdated. The towels are cheap and small. You can hear normal conversations in the neighboring rooms and there is a lot of noise from the street as well. My statement was incorrect at checkout and it took too long to make the correction. The architecture and location are both good but that does not make up for what this hotel claims to be.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kevps133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night. We had the Deluxe King breakfast package. This included a voucher worth $30 for breakfast at the M Street Cafe (which was excellent as well) and valet parking. We were greeted by the doorman, check-in was a breeze. The room was very nice. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Evening turn down, including filling up the ice bucket. They didn't miss a beat. Very satisfied. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WIstoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed here two nights while in town to attend a Prairie Home Companion show. Although chock-full of wedding attendees this hotel felt charming and uncrowded. The room was lovely - the wi-fi is free up to 768kb, if you want to stream video you pay. There are several well-reviewed restaurants within walking distance, as is the Fitzgerald Theater. The fascinating science museum is two blocks away, I spent several hours there. There is a bike share across the street and you can easily ride or walk down to the Mississippi River. My room was very quiet except I could hear doors to other rooms slamming shut. Definitely a repeat if I make it back there.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BigTreeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Finished off holiday with 2 nights here 10th and 11th October.
Had been hiking in the north country and just had a couple of nights before flying home.
From check in to the bar staff, doorman, and the guy doing coffee on the bar in the morning everyone was really exceptional in the level of service and the ambience they created.
Rooms clean, comfortable and quite.
Had dinner one night in the St Paul grill as a final splurge, was not cheap but was one of the best dinners i have had in years, waitress also exceptional.
If you ever find yourself in St Paul, splash out and stay here, from the chandeliers to the service you will not be disappointed.
Also internet access was free for boarding passess etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Property: The Saint Paul Hotel
Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing