We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would expect, convenient for the business traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Eau Claire WI
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Everything you would expect, convenient for the business traveler”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The lobby is under construction, and I mean the WHOLE lobby. It's weird to stay at a hotel that has no lobby. Everyone couldn't be nicer, but I feel a little isolated. The rooms are well appointed, including my free water as a Hilton Honors member. Room has a refrigerator and microwave. King bed very comfortable! Room service was prompt and good.

Room Tip: All rooms have a city view, right downtown. High floor is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbarkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
The renovation turned out great! You will be very please with it. Thank you for your patience. We hope to see you again real soon.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    284
    171
    77
    31
See reviews for
200
161
28
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I have stayed at the Double Tree many times for business. The rooms are nice and always clean. Front desk staff are always friendly. They are remodeling the lobby area for the next month which should make it nicer. I usually stay here on weekends, and St Paul usually shuts down for the weekend. There is not much to do in the immediate area. A few block walk will take you to the area of the XCel which has a lot going on.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcs1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to serve you.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for training. Wonderful staff and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. I have stayed at many hotels in this area and i was certainly pleased with this hotel. Will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you Shanda!
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Arrived to find the check desk set up in a temporary entrance. Staffed by a pleasant employee, being bellman and desk attendant. 5 guests in front of me and 2 more behind me, so it took longer than I expected. Construction confused paths to and from elevators. Loud in room refrigerator.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank kimm846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Kim
Thank you for your patience during the renovation. We will be completely finished in a couple of weeks!
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Really nice hotel. We stayed for a wedding. They were flexible with our check in time and allowed us to check in early. Comfortable room with Iron and hair dryer already in the room. Great stay - would definitely stay here again. Connected with the skyline which although is hugely confusing, at least you don't get wet when its raining or snowing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Neil
I will share with the team your nice comments about the hotel. Thank you!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Rapids, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Very convenient place to stay if attending any downtown St.Paul activities. The parking was reasonable, and easy to navigate. The convenient downtown location makes walking to the Excel Center a breeze. I always stay here when traveling to St.Paul.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for making us your home away from home! See you again this summer!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Help was real friendly and willing to help.The room was very clean and the cookie was very tasty, but surprised there was no complintary coffee. We were suprised there was no continental breakfast. We realize the construction made it tough............

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theboybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for the feed back! In response to your comments, we do offer complimentary coffee in each of the guest rooms. We work very hard to keep the hotel clean during this construction phase we are in. Glad you noticed and appreciated our attention to detail in this area. We hope to see you again soon.
Brian Schmechel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Address: 411 Minnesota St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1703 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing