We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting a makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Chicago
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Getting a makeover”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

This downtown St Paul hotel is really getting a makeover. They're getting a new restaurant and it appears it will be a nice hangout.

I stayed for only one night. The room was nice. It was clean, spacious and had all the necessary amenities.

It's walking distance from some restaurants and connected to the skywalk system.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ORDFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We share in your excitement! The lobby and NEW restaurant renovations are going great. We anticipate all to be completed by June 1st. Hope to see you again soon.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    280
    169
    76
    30
See reviews for
197
161
27
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The employees were awesome. They were remodeling so it was a bit cold in the entryway, but the hotel was very nice. Expensive, but clean and nice. The shuttle driver was wonderful to us! The desk clerks were very helpful too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brenda Slivnik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Brenda
Thank you for the warm comments during a cold week in St. Paul. Yes, some renovations are underway. Both the lobby and a NEW and exciting restaurant will be opening soon. Thank you for making the Doubletree St. Paul your home away from home. I agree, we do have some awesome employee's.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel although ideally located in the heart of downtown St. Paul needs to upgrade its rooms. I did notice they were upgrading the common areas while i was there but there is a real need to upgrade the rooms and equipment in there to be worthy of the "double tree" badge. The service from the staff has been outstanding though and overall the hotel was clean and tidy. no complaints there, overall satisfied. Perhaps take a page from the "Embassy suites" upgrade, that hotel is the best in this range in downtown and recently upgraded as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for the comments. Renovations are taking place with additional attention on freshening up the guest rooms. I will inspect your particular room myself to review the deficiencies you mentioned and will address them. Overall, the rooms are in excellent condition. Come back again soon. Our newly renovated lobby and exciting new restaurant is almost completed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frisco, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is not the level of Double Tree that I typically stay... I would have never believed it to be a Double Tree property if it didn't say so on the door. The property was getting a lobby renovation while I was there, but they should have started on the rooms first. Water stains on the ceiling above the TV, mold around the ceiling tiles in shower -directly above the clean towels, torn wallpaper, chipped paint around door-facings, sheets felt like burlap bags, carpet in room was dingy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank CR J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your recent stay at the Doubletree. As we are renovating the lobby and adding a new restaurant, we will look into the particular areas you pointed out about the guest room. We recently purchased all new bed linens and the high thread counts are extra luxurious. I will meet with our housekeeping department on the other issues in the bath room. Thank you for these comments. They will be fixed.
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during the week for a business trip. Easy checkin process. Parking in the front entrance is a challenge. Tight circle turn. Very little room if taxi or shuttle bus is there. The hotel is going under renovations. Rooms were ok. Outdated decor and furniture. New TV. Only one onsite restaurant. Had takeout one evening. Good breakfast Buffett in the morning. Parking underground for guests. Decent workout room with two treadmills, two ellipticals and one bike. Nice free weights.

The second floor opens into the Town Square, a food court and on the sky mall system. I didn't have to go outside and walked to my meeting in the UBS tower. Handy location. Easy trip back to the airport.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Arlog60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for the positive comments!
As you mentioned, the hotel is undergoing some renovation. We anticipate the new restaurant called Rivalhouse to open around May 15th. It will serve both lunch and dinner.
The lobby is also getting renovated. Even with all that we have very easy access to everything in the hotel.
Come back soon and enjoy the new look!
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel is very comfortable and the staff are excellent. Our King room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The hotel is connected to the Skywalks in St. Paul which makes is very convenient to get to other places in the downtown area. They have a shuttle service which was very convenient and transported us to our wedding venue on time and in comfort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 950marguerited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We are glad to have contributed to your special weekend. Thank you for the wonderful comments.
Please consider us again when travels call for the Twin Cities.
Brian Schmechel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Room was too warm. Took 36 hours of turning thermostat off to finally cool down. Unable to open a window at all. Parking at check in and then how to get to ramp was a bit confusing and muddled. Mattresses were worn and too soft. We were supposed to receive passes to breakfast buffett at check in but did not. Positive was staff was very friendly and shuttle service was excellent as we were there over a very quiet weekend. Prices were decent also. Decent selection of cable channels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasershow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I will be sure advise the engineer staff to check out your room and see what thermostat adjustments can be made. I hope you also notified the front desk about your breakfast coupons. We are here to serve you and I was glad to see the staff was ready to help.
Brian Schmechel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Address: 411 Minnesota St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1703 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing