We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and hot but good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Seattle, United States
1 review
“Noisy and hot but good service”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Pros: very friendly staff, great location, easy in and out parking, close to highways and my family. Cons: strangely very stratchy sheets with a weird basketweave pattern on them. My husband and I and my sister and her husband (who were in a different room) all experienced this. Also, we all were unhappy with the very noisy fan/HVAC system. There was also a black splash mark near one of the hinges on the bathroom door the entire 4 nights we stayed there which was at my exact eye level when I was seated in the bathroom. There was also a piece of hair in the sheets that was manifestly a different color than mine or my husband's. Other than that, though, the room was cleaned promptly and thoroughly each day. Finally, the bathtub stopper had to be completely pulled out so the tub would drain - I was standing in ankle deep water throughout my first shower. However, when we mentioned a lot of these problems at checkout, the front desk staff was very responsive and gave us a really good discount on our stay. Overall - great service, poor physical plant, ergo an "Average" rating. We did not eat at the hotel, but there is a food court just outside of the hotel's second level which has lots of great and not-so-expensive choices.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    284
    171
    76
    31
See reviews for
200
161
28
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Grange, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We attended a wedding in St. Paul, and we were very happy with the service, the attitude of the staff, the breakfast, the cookies, and the room itself. The lobby is small, but we didn't really need a lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Visiting for Thanksgiving. perfect base of operations. everyone we encountered on the staff pleasant and helpful looking forward to staying again. The hotel is silent. Never slept better! not much to do in the immediate area. Make sure you have a car available.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Generalmanager501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013

A very nice hotel conveniently located downtown. Staff was very friendly. There were a few issues - couldn't get the temperature right in the room, one of the bath towels had a hole in it - but, all in all, not a bad business trip experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you Daniel for the wonderful comments about your recent stay. I have already met with the housekeeping supervisor about your towel. We look forward to seeing you abain soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The rooms were clean and fresh. The bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly. The location is prime for dining and visiting all of the sites. This hotel offers a great breakfast and a lot of choices on cold days as it is next to the skywalk food court.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Nice room, small bathroom, good to have refrigerator and microwave, although we didn't need them. Nice room, small bathroom, good to have refrigerator and microwave, although we didn't need them. Nice room, small bathroom, good to have refrigerator and microwave, although we didn't need them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Delmar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here one night for a concert at the Xcel center. Rooms were clean, but dated. For $169 a night I was underwhelmed. We were able to walk to the Xcel through the sky tunnels, which was nice. Would look elswhere if I did it again, or need a better price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDocFeelgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Address: 411 Minnesota St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1703 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing