We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed September 19, 2013

It's difficult to rate a hotel when you only stay one night but from all my travels around the world, I only had just two outstanding hotel experiences. The first one was an hotel near Frankfurt airport in Germany and the second one was at this hotel in St. Paul. I must say this hotel is really nice. It only need some updates in the halls but as for room, amenities and service, this hotel was beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Hector P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Hector
What a powerful statement you made about the Doubletree St. Paul. Thank you! The team has a passion for serving our guests and comments like yours is greatly appreciated. I will be sure to share your comments with them. We hope to see you again when your travels call for the Twin Cities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 889 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked into the Doubletree Downtown to stay for the PHC opening show, meatloaf supper and street dance five blocks away. We had stayed there before when it was a Hilton Garden Inn. The change in branding appeared to also invoke an upgrade in amenities. The breakfast buffet (look for Town Grill in a restaurant review) and free internet access was now included in the room rate.

Because of airline delays we did not arrive until 1 AM but the person on the desk was very cheery, and the warm cookie was a nice touch. We were booked in quickly and found the room to be clean and comfortable with a choice of pillows. It included a microwave and mini fridge. The alarm clock doubled as a iPod base. The free Wi-Fi connection was quick and strong. It did have to be renewed each 24 hours but the front desk gave me promo code to make that a quick endeavor.

Another plus for this location is that it is located at the hub of the Sky Walk system of indoor elevated walkways around the downtown area so in bad weather you don't have to go outside for most of your needs. A Macy's and all the different foods you could want are there. Although some are only available on weekdays. And it will connect with the light rail system now being constructed between St. Paul and Minneapolis.

Parking is downstairs and the front desk will give you a pass to go in and out, although there is a daily charge for the parking added to your room.

There is a pool and fitness center on the third floor. We did not avail ourselves of those facilities.

We will definitely book in here the next time we come to St. Paul.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evanjva1Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful comments. Yes, many changes have been made since our brand conversion. And there are more on the way!
Also, we are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the staff took great care of you. Please come visit us again soon!
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel was very nice and convenient to my business in the city. The room was clean and comfy, especially the bed. The bathroom however was tiny, the door had to be completely closed to use it (I was by myself so I didn't need to shut it) since it almost reached the toilet. The shower was in need recaulking since some was missing and what was there was moldy. I was told that floor was next for renovations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Gregory T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Gregory
Yes, we have almost completed our bath rub refinishing project. We are sorry you received one of the rooms that was not refinished. Thank you for your comments. Please consider us again the next time your travels call for St. Paul.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nice clean rooms. Down comforter was a little warm in the summer. Good rate for wedding rates. Bad breakfast experience (ran out of everything and did not have enough seating for a sold out weekend). I liked our room, it was very nice, and clean and had everything we needed. I would stay at this hotel again for sure. Nice and quiet too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Greg And Alyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Kvyas
I’m sorry for the service you received for breakfast. We did have a large group of 75 people arrive between 9 - 9:30 that set us back a little on our promptness. As we did run out of some items, it was only temporary. I hope we eventually replenished all your favorite breakfast items. Thank you for your other great comments about the hotel We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The front desk was very helpful and staff was great. This is a normal doubletree experience as you would expect. Overall the hotel was clean and the room was clean. Seems like an older hotel with older features, but nothing bad

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hello Kvyas
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank thank you for the great comments on both the cleanliness of the hotel and great service you received. It was certainly our pleasure. Hope to see you again soon.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed two nights , and I will prefer to choose other Hotel, it's overprice it!

My room was facing the Meeting room and the Early morning was noisy, I remember when I was checking in , I look for a restroom in the Lobby and I could not find it!! You have to go to the second floor for a restroom .

It was a good touch the cookies warm to welcome.

It was ok. I was expecting more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hi Alejandra
Thank you for your comments. Yes, we do have some rooms that look out over the atrium. We are sorry to hear that the group was loud that particular morning. We are in the final planning stages to add a new restaurant to the lobby. At that time, we will be adding additional restrooms on lobby level. Hope to see you again soon and see all the new additions.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

9/7-9/8/13 Very clean hotel, welcomed by the friendliest man at the front desk(didn't get his name but had dark hair and a gotee ). Would definetely recommend this place to all friends/family. Thanks for making our stay so memorable. Also, the same man at the front desk when we were checking out gave me a complimentary sew kit. MUCH APPRECIATED!! THANK YOU!!! Kristy

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kristy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hi Kristy
Thank you for the wonderful comments! We have an excellent housekeeping staff that works very hard each day to deliver a clean and well prepared guest room. The gentleman with the Goatee is Ben. He is our Front Office Manager. He’s the guy in charge. He has high expectations for himself and his staff. I was glad you were completely satisfied with his service and attention to detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.2 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1703 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: $142 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing