We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is "Standard proceedure" for housekeeping to wake you by 0900 you must open door.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed March 20, 2013

They will nickel and dime you for everything. 1 cup of coffee per room, want more? PAY FOR IT. House keeping went up and down the halls at 0845 knocking on doors. They would not stop until you get out of bed and opened the door. This was on a Saturday and check out was at 1200. Front clerk said "This is standard procedure"

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We understand that part of the enjoyment of staying at a hotel is our leisure travelers being able to sleep in the next morning. This is not a standard procedure to disturb our guests in the morning. The procedure is to only clean rooms that have been verified as being checked- out. Obviously this did not happen during your visit. I have already addressed this with both the executive housekeeper and her team. Thank you for your comments. It is comments like you’re that we can ensure this does not happen again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 842 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's no less than a roadside cheap country hotel. The carpets and bathrooms are getting old.
Stayed here for one night while travelling on business and nothing great to say about this hotel.
The lobby and other common areas are maintained well,and friendly staff etc.. which are the only saving grace but as someone mentioned already, it's "screeming for renovation".

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckeye O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was here for 15 days on April 2012. The hotel is old, but clean, with nice and kind staff and the food options are diverse. The omelettes are wonderful and the chef is very gorgous. I won't have doubs if I have would be in Saint Paul again and I have to be there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grettel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I'm currently at the Double Tree St. Paul Downtown, and have been very happy with my experience thus far. I arrived early (about 1:30pm) and they had a room available for me and did not make me wait till check in time. My room on the 11th floor was satisfactory. The bed is very comfortable and there are six (!) pillows, which makes this pillow hog happy. Room service is relatively cheap, which was nice since I wasn't comfortable with walking around downtown by myself as a female. The food quality was great too. The rooms come with a microwave and a (very good) fridge. The bathrooms also have lots of counter space, which is nice. The closet in my room is HUGE! It's twice the size of any hotel closet I've had that wasn't a presidential suite. I am an events planner, so I have dealt with the sales staff as well and they have been great throughout the whole process of the event. I haven't had an employee interaction yet that wasn't excellent.

Also- free wifi!

The area doesn't seem too exciting. I picked this location because of its proximity to the Capitol, not for the neighborhood. One thing that was odd (albeit interesting) is that the buildings are all connected here by skywalks for blocks. Everything kind of has a dirty look, but that's probably because of the dirty snow. It's a standard downtown atmosphere, and everything nearby seems to shut down at close of business time.

Overall, I would definitely recommend it if you needed to be downtown. If not, you could find more exciting surroundings.

Room Tip: There are 17 floors- but it is surrounded by other high rise buildings so your view is iffy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinderella921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We were pleased to hear of your pleasant stay. I will pass these comments onto the team and thank them for continuing to provide great service, clean accommodations and memorable customer service to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Nice Hilton Hotel. Easy check-in, clean room, Housekeeping staff on 10th Floor very accomodating. Bed comfortable. The perfect location for the Excel as you can walk the Skyway and do not have to juggle you vehicle if staying several days. The only thing we did not like was the inability to adjust the thermostat. 70 is a bit warm for us, especially during the night. The only adjustment is Fan on or off. Staff at Front Desk, in the Bar and Restaurant were very friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a recent business trip and found it clean and comfortable. There was a small fridge and a microwave, which came in handy. The location is central and easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. (Buildings are connected by enclosed walkways, so winter weather is not an issue.) Staff were friendly and helpful. I smelled cigarette smoke in the hallway on my floor, but my room was fine. I would say this hotel could use some updating, but overall it was okay. The buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant was reasonably priced and had a good selection.

Room Tip: Elevators were a bit slow, so being on a lower floor (2-6) would probably be most convenient.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria_BCTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed one night on the HHonors floor during a conference at the Saint Paul RiverCentre at a discounted rate ($120) and felt well taken care of. The location was great. Very friendly service, both at the front desk and the hotel restaurant. Delicious, fair-priced food and drink. Clean and comfortable room. The fridge ran a little loud, and it was made more noticeable by the odd cutout in the wall between it and the bed. But, minor thing, and you could just turn off the fridge. Would stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_56001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1703 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: $146 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing