We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter requires heat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I stay here on business due to its location. During this trip, I could not get the thermostat to go above 62F. They came to "service" it while I was out. It still did not work and started making terrible noises. The only thing the front desk offered was a free breakfast - that doesn't "fix" the problem. The room also did not look clean. I emailed Hilton about this and never got a reply.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAM7769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We were very sorry to hear about your heating problem in your room. As we make every effort to solve any problems that come to our attention, we obviously fell short in this matter. I hope we had the opportunity to move you to a different room and not just offering breakfast for your inconvenience. I will be sure to follow-up with the staff as we work to ensure all our guests are completely satisfied during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 863 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Location was great during the Winter Carnival, just a couple of blocks away for walking distance. Lots of restaurants to walk to as well using Skyway or walking outside. Quality of room was excellent and the included breakfast was very good. Room service and service during breakfast was very nice, exception for the employee behind the counter when we arrived. His body language and "non-happy to greet us" tone made me think he had something else better he could be doing or maybe just having a really bad day. Probably could use a refresher in "Customer Service".

Room Tip: East side rooms show two huge buildings and the food court area from the skyway. Not much of a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjberg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here while I was in the city for a meeting. The rooms were ok and the reception staff were quite helpful. The interesting part of this hotel, was a door opening to the mall/ food court from the first/mezzanine floor with multiple food joints.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gopalvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel since the business client was "next door". The ability to reach other restaurants using the sky bridge system was a big plus. The hot breakfast provided several choices: hot food, continental breakfast choices, breads, and juices. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. In the evening, team members could meet in the restaurant area which is adjacent to the bar for drinks and discussion.

The meeting room provided an excellent work area for the team. The afternoon treats, purchased by our management, provided a wide variety to satisfy everyone's snack cravings.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are available for Hilton Gold members
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haycritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy that you were able to experience firsthand our friendly staff that is committed to provide our guest with memorable stays. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I booked using the specific hotel website. I booked a Smoking room and received written confirmation. Upon arrival, I was advised that the entire hotel was non-smoking and when I said I would move, I was told that there would be no refund because I had paid in advance.
I resigned myself to a smoke free evening and went to my room. It was a sauna...I was unable to reset the thermostat to a lower reading. I found a pill on the floor...it wasn't mine. Reception phoned me and woke me 2.5 hours after check-in to see if I had gotten into my room okay. What was that about? All in all, I will never stay at a Hilton again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very sorry that you weren’t happy with your guestroom during your recent trip. We apologize that our hotel's non-smoking status was unclear when you were booking. In addition, Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here 3 to 4 nights a week nearly every week the last half of 2012 (for business).

The front desk staff is excellent -- very friendly, very helpful.

Rooms were clean and completable, but a bit dated. Bathrooms were small but serviceable.

This is not a destination hotel, but for the price it the best bet for business travel in St. Paul.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a bit larger than the others. Some rooms have a nice view of downtown and the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked this hotel on Priceline for $70 per night including all taxes for one night after attending a concert at Excel Center. We checked in and were given two bottles of water and a nice hot cookie. The water was for being HHoner Members. The lobby is beautiful. It's on the ground floor. They have a nice little restaurant on the 2nd floor along with a banquet room. Pool is on the 3rd floor. We wanted a room on a higher floor with extra pillows and when we checked in we were on the 15th floor and had extra pillows. Some of the reviews stated that the rooms were dated. I would say this is a 3 1/2 star hotel. It is fine for a night or two. For the price it was nice. Here are some pro's and con's:

Con's:

*Rooms are small and so are the bathrooms. When in the shower the soap dish hits your elbows.
*Parking is $15 which I thought was to expensive for one night
*I did see what previous posters noted - dust on the filter in the bathroom that is at eyesight (should be changed every six months)

Pro's:

*Great location - we walked all through the skyway to the Excel Center (12 minute walk)
*Crabtree and Evelyn products in bathroom
*Room clean (except filter in bathroom)
*Bed comfortable
*Nice fridge, microwave and coffemaker
*Fresh, clean sheets
*Excellent Views
*Huge windows at the elevator locations so you can take in the views

The staff seemed fine except we received a call at 8:00 AM asking if we had called a cab. It was the front desk and she didn't identify herself when she called. She just said "did you call a cab? I said no and she said, oh OK then I must have wrote down the wrong room number". As we checked out at the front desk it was the same person as the one who called earlier and the couple next to me didn't have there cab yet. She must not have figured out the correct room number. She really lacked training and was so quiet I couldn't hear what she was saying to me. Maybe she was new?

We didn't find anything in our room that was broken or moldy as previous posters had said. The hotel is older but I thought it was consistent with out 3 - 3 1/2 stars in the area. I would stay here again for a night or two but if I were staying a full week would probably go closer to Mall of America in a newer hotel.

Room Tip: I like a room on a higher floor so I can have a better view. We were next to the elevator and could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnesotaGeocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#10 of 16 in Saint Paul
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1703 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: $121 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing