We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$136
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$127
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 340(Saint Paul)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$125
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$128
$114
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge(Saint Paul)(Great Value!)
$104
$93
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$153
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (908)
Filter reviews
908 results
Traveler rating
291
305
187
89
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
305
187
89
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesdouble treewedding weekendfew blocksvery nice hotelfridge and microwavecomfortable roombusiness tripshuttle servicelight railparking rampwild gametwin citiesxcel energy centerpaulstskyway
Filter
Updating list...
865 - 870 of 908 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I booked using the specific hotel website. I booked a Smoking room and received written confirmation. Upon arrival, I was advised that the entire hotel was non-smoking and when I said I would move, I was told that there would be no refund because I had paid in advance.
I resigned myself to a smoke free evening and went to my room. It was a sauna...I was unable to reset the thermostat to a lower reading. I found a pill on the floor...it wasn't mine. Reception phoned me and woke me 2.5 hours after check-in to see if I had gotten into my room okay. What was that about? All in all, I will never stay at a Hilton again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very sorry that you weren’t happy with your guestroom during your recent trip. We apologize that our hotel's non-smoking status was unclear when you were booking. In addition, Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here 3 to 4 nights a week nearly every week the last half of 2012 (for business).

The front desk staff is excellent -- very friendly, very helpful.

Rooms were clean and completable, but a bit dated. Bathrooms were small but serviceable.

This is not a destination hotel, but for the price it the best bet for business travel in St. Paul.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a bit larger than the others. Some rooms have a nice view of downtown and the cathedral.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked this hotel on Priceline for $70 per night including all taxes for one night after attending a concert at Excel Center. We checked in and were given two bottles of water and a nice hot cookie. The water was for being HHoner Members. The lobby is beautiful. It's on the ground floor. They have a nice little restaurant on the 2nd floor along with a banquet room. Pool is on the 3rd floor. We wanted a room on a higher floor with extra pillows and when we checked in we were on the 15th floor and had extra pillows. Some of the reviews stated that the rooms were dated. I would say this is a 3 1/2 star hotel. It is fine for a night or two. For the price it was nice. Here are some pro's and con's:

Con's:

*Rooms are small and so are the bathrooms. When in the shower the soap dish hits your elbows.
*Parking is $15 which I thought was to expensive for one night
*I did see what previous posters noted - dust on the filter in the bathroom that is at eyesight (should be changed every six months)

Pro's:

*Great location - we walked all through the skyway to the Excel Center (12 minute walk)
*Crabtree and Evelyn products in bathroom
*Room clean (except filter in bathroom)
*Bed comfortable
*Nice fridge, microwave and coffemaker
*Fresh, clean sheets
*Excellent Views
*Huge windows at the elevator locations so you can take in the views

The staff seemed fine except we received a call at 8:00 AM asking if we had called a cab. It was the front desk and she didn't identify herself when she called. She just said "did you call a cab? I said no and she said, oh OK then I must have wrote down the wrong room number". As we checked out at the front desk it was the same person as the one who called earlier and the couple next to me didn't have there cab yet. She must not have figured out the correct room number. She really lacked training and was so quiet I couldn't hear what she was saying to me. Maybe she was new?

We didn't find anything in our room that was broken or moldy as previous posters had said. The hotel is older but I thought it was consistent with out 3 - 3 1/2 stars in the area. I would stay here again for a night or two but if I were staying a full week would probably go closer to Mall of America in a newer hotel.

Room Tip: I like a room on a higher floor so I can have a better view. We were next to the elevator and could hear some noise from that so would request a room away from elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnesotaGeocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We've stayed in this hotel 4 times over the past 6 years visiting family in the Cities, and the Doubletree (used to be Hilton Garden Inn) rooms that we've stayed in have not been upgraded or renovated during that time. They definitely need a facelift.

We've stayed in all of the hotels in central St. Paul, and we love this hotel for the location. There is one hotel nearby that is much worse, and the Doubletree is the only one nearby that is on the skywalk, with direct indoor connection in the dead of winter to coffee, lunch, Macy's, and even a decent bar. Very close to Meritage, an absolutely outstanding restaurant.

The staff are great, parking on the street or in a discount parking garage is more affordable than the valet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonneChere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Bottom Line - No thanks, and probably not again.

I stayed for 4 nights in December 2012 and had a negative-leaning experience. I believe this is the only HHonors hotel in St. Paul; it used to be the Hilton Garden Inn (the mattresses are still the HGI type).


ROOM
I am Diamond VIP with HHonors, and upon check-in, they had assigned me to room 1760, which is on the top floor. The room had textured wallpaper reminiscent of what you would expect to find in the home of The Golden Girls. The carpet was quite worn, and the furniture was a mix between some (like the bed frame and side tables) that are maybe a few years old, and others (the chairs, ottoman and lamps) probably a few decades old. I moved one of the large chairs to make room for the ironing board, only to find the square spot (that the chair covered) full of dust. The carpet was green, and the square spot was grey. WTF!!!!! This hotel definitely had lazy housekeeping. I didn't even want to move any of the other furniture for fear of what I would find.

The bathroom was on the smaller side, but that wasn't the problem. The bathtub was in dire need of deep cleaning, and the fan sucked air in at the bottom, only to blow it back out on the top. If you imagine what a Motel 6 room smells like, that is what the bathroom smelled like (I highly suspected it to be mold) so I kept the door closed at all times! Also, regarding the bathroom fan, there was an engraved note on the front that stated "Replace Filter Every 6 Months," but when you looked at the filter, there was a huge nasty dust clump visible on the inside, as well as tiny dust clumps sticking to the slits in the cover. The fan was at eye-level right over the toilet, so it really shouldn't have been missed by housekeeping or maintenance... it definitely hadn't been cleaned in YEARS. DISGUSTING.

The walls are quite thin; I could hear the TV in the next room, so if you're sensitive to noise: beware.

SERVICE
A couple nights in to my stay, I called for fresh towels (since I decline housekeeping throughout my stay), but after 45 minutes, they still had not arrived. I had to call once again, and the gal (who initially took my request) all of a sudden remembered, and she did feel badly about forgetting. Aside from the lousy guest service response, the front desk agents are pretty nice and have a positive attitude. The star rating I assigned wasn't impacted by the service... more the (lack of) quality of the actual room.

RESTAURANT (BREAKFAST)
If you're Diamond VIP, they give you breakfast vouchers for the restaurant on the 2nd level. The breakfast is pretty basic; I would never pay for this particular one as the quality of the food is less than mediocre. I will, however, recommend the Meritage restaurant just a couple blocks away on St. Paul Street if you're looking for lunch or dinner. The escargots appetizer, the burger from the bar menu and the half crispy chicken are particularly fantastic.

PARKING
Parking is quite convenient, and the daily self-park rate is $15 per night with in and out privileges. There is street parking; it's pay by meter from 8a-6p, but I did notice a few broken car windows when I was walking on St. Paul Street a couple blocks away... The area is pretty deserted during weeknights as far as I could tell.

OVERALL
This is probably the most uncomfortable and disappointing DoubleTree experience I've ever had. Next time I'm working in St. Paul, I'm going back to the Westin Minneapolis (where I had stayed the previous week)... the commute from Downtown Minneapolis to Downtown St. Paul in the morning really wasn't that bad (about 15 minutes), and returning in the evening wasn't bad, either (15 minutes again).

Room Tip: High floor facing the quiet side IN ANOTHER HOTEL.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance and housekeeping team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show you the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews