We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Let me say, I am very, I am very disappointed by this Doubletree Hotel because I have stayed at a Doubletree before and was very pleased.
The staff was distant and not knowledgeable. They forgot to give us the breakfast coupons or denied them to other members of our team.
The shuttle kept us waiting for 30 minutes and arrived after another 15 minutes after several calls. The shuttle driver had been sent to the wrong location. After a complaint at the receptionist she apologized and simple said the driver was confused.
My coworker did not get her wake-up call and amost missed breakfast.
The whole hotel needs a make-over.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We appreciate your loyalty to our brand and we’re sorry that we couldn’t live up to your high expectations of us. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay but we clearly dropped the ball this time. We’ve addressed the shuttle miscommunication and wake-up call mishap with our team so we can improve for the future. I hope that the next time you’re in the area you’ll visit us again and experience a much higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    277
    165
    76
    28
See reviews for
192
157
25
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel isn't flashy but it does exactly what it says on the tin. A comfortable bed, clean and tidy, it's a little tired looking but it does the job. If you're looking to be wowed by a hotel, don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddlemethis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Convenient location in downtown St. Paul with good access to the Skywalk. Standard amenities, but extremely substandard resturaunt and pathetic service. Don't eat there, there are plenty of plaves wwithin a short walk.

Room Tip: Become a Hilton Honors Member for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodwinegoofnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to a single person! We booked a block of rooms at this hotel for the nights leading up to our wedding and our wedding night. What a disaster! There were issues from the get go, no safes in the rooms? Who doesn't have safes in their guest rooms now days. But you can use their 'community safe' run by their staff who jack your sunglasses if you accidentally leave them at the front desk. Oh and if you want to bring your wedding gifts and money back to the room?! They just hand keys out to your room no matter who you are! Come on, come all! Their shuttle service, well don't rely on them! They are no-shows! And their Front Desk Manager, Paul...what an arrogant, unprofessional human being he is! Clearly he has NO idea what the definition of customer service is.

I could continue on. Don't waste your money, you will be utterly disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. I understand what a stressful and important event it was for you and I’m sincerely sorry for your experience. We want all of our guests to have a relaxing and wonderful stay. I can assure you this is not typical of our hotel and staff and I have addressed the issues you mentioned. Your safety, security, and satisfaction is important to us and I ask that you please call me so we can discuss this further. Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to speaking to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a conference and trade show at the Excel Center. This hotel offered comfort, friendly staff and business tools.
The only thing we didn't like was the bar. Our drink had bugs in it! After a long day, we were looking forward to a cold drink.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodlifesupplement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We recently stayed for four nights at the Doubletree on Minnesota in St. Paul. The room was nice and the service at the hotel was good, however, being in downtown St. Paul without a car is not ideal. Why local bus systems cannot make change in the U.S., is beyond me, since they can overseas. Also, it would be nice if Doubletree offered a good map for tourists and/or better tourism information. The tourist information rack had an entire row filled with a book on Montana. Is Doubletree confused about the "M" states, too, sometime I experience as a resident of Missouri.
At any rate, the service was good and the room was nice. We were in St. Paul for a wedding, and for non-wedding activities used Bus 54, which runs right by the hotel and goes to the Mall of America, the airport and to many of the cities main neighborhoods.

Room Tip: The view from the top floor is great. Our room was on the ninth floor and we had a good view, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WriterDianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the accommodations and attentive service we provided during your stay. Your comment about the Montana brochures is a good. Our Convention and Visitors Bureau did a brochure trade with the state of Montana to also promote their state as they are in the process of promoting Minnesota. I agree with you, though that an entire row is a bit much. I took care of that. Also, we have a much clearer city map now available at the front desk. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was a little concerned based on recent flag change to DoubleTree (from Hilton Garden Inn) and some of the other revierws that I saw here.

The elevators could really use some modernizing (not to mention a little more kick in its step), the hallways on guest floors could likewise use a little sprucing up (the new carpet is great, but the wiremold on the ceilings would be more appropirate for a Motel 6) but those are relatively minor gripes.

The front desk staff was prompt and attentive. After wandering the immediate area on my own at 5:30 on a Friday night I noticed that it seemed particularly desolate -- asking at the front desk they pointed me in the direction of some of the more lively areas and the one I headed for was an easy couple block walk away.

The room itself was clean, bright, and well stocked with a great view of downtown out the windows.

Waking up the next morning and packing up, the drive to MSP for my flight home was likewise easy and painless.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lincolnjkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are very happy to hear the staff at The Doubletree was attentive to your needs. We work very hard to engage with each of our guests to help make their visit with us the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing