We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Paul's Thinnest Pillows” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 St Paul I-94

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 St Paul I-94
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Saint Paul
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    31
    40
    96
See reviews for
65
32
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed on the second floor/2 queen/non-smoking. When we got into our room the smoke smell was horrible. Our kids, 9 & 12 couldn't even stand it. It smelt like someone literally just had a cigarette in it. The lamp shades had stains on them, there were burns in the comforters and matress covers. The mattresses were stained and under the top mattress it was filthy. The staff though were very friendly. They changed us to a room down the hall. Much better. There was no bad smell and it looked like it was a little bit updated. Even though there were burns in the comforter it was a little cleaner. There was still some dirty stuff under the top mattress but not as bad as the other room. It was the cheapest hotel in the area and it was a quick night's rest. I think that it just needs a good deep clean. Breakfast was okay and nothing fancy; bagels, juice, cereal, frozen waffles.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33Tanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments regarding your stay, and also the constructive comments about our hotel. I am glad we were able to move your family to another room. The hotel does need some deep cleaning in areas and we have addressed those issues. My apologies for the areas of the hotel we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We told two front desk people that the tv had one channel three times & they said they would be right up. We asked three times for one pillow and one blanket & never got them. No toilet paper and they did not have any in the building and did not know when they would. Elevator did not work. Smoke detector was missing. No cover on the outlet. Oder in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your constructive comments. Comments such as yours can only improve our service standards. My sincere apologies for the lack of service you received while staying with us. We are training new staff members with emphasis on excellence in service. Again, my deepest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I should have gotten tipped off when I found the hotel had a hurricane fence around it ...locking people out as not to be attacking people in the parking lot.. Scary place ,,,while there I kept thinking we were going to end up on forensic files show as the victims..The place said they had video cameras yet I didn't see any.i went down to check on our vehicle and there were two under cover cops in the lobby like in the movies.. one sitting reading a newspaper and the other playing with the computer.. i was so stupid staying in this hotel.. we high tailed it out the next day and headed to Duluth.. geez..till this day this hotel gives me the creeps and im a grown adult usually never afraid of anything but definitely was there.. never again.. rather sleep in the woods near an insane asylum .

Room Tip: UGH ...do I really need to mention this.. choose a good room in an excellent motel that is rated 90...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven V, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments. My sincere apologies for the inconveniences and problems you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Paul
7.7 mi away
Days Inn St. Paul - Minneapolis - Midway
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area)
3.3 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#2 of 18 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bandana Square
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 St Paul I-94? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 St Paul I-94

Property: Motel 6 St Paul I-94
Address: 1739 Old Hudson Rd, Saint Paul, MN 55106-6120 (Formerly Super 8 St Paul / I-94)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 St Paul I-94 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel 6 St. Paul is pleased to provide our guests with exceptional service and quality amenities at an affordable price. Whether you are here for Business or Leisure you can enjoy our Free High Speed Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Free Cable, fitness room, and much more. After a restful night of sleep, you can look forward to starting your day with complimentary coffee from 6 am to 10 am. We have several restaurants nearby; Sonic, Davannis, Wendys, Culvers, Subway, Los Ocampo, and The Little Oven. We are located minutes from The State Capitol, Science Museum of Minnesota, Downtown St. Paul, Excel Energy Center and Mall of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Motel-6, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 St Paul I-94 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St Paul / i-94 Hotel Saint Paul
Super 8 Saint Paul
Super Eight Saint Paul
Saint Paul Super Eight
Saint Paul Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing