We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very satified customers, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 St Paul I-94

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 St Paul I-94
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very satified customers, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have been guests at the Super 8 for several years, it was previosly Excel Inn. In the last few years we have witnessed a decline in standards under different managers, rooms not clean more homeless people than guests living there very noisy and constant visits from the police. In view of this we had decided not to come back to the Super 8, however we found out that Julio had been promoted to manager and we came back again in September 2012, what a difference the place is much cleaner, staff very helpful and pleasant but most of all the difference in the clientele.
We don't feel a Motel is the most suitable place to house homeless people, this is no reflection on the people themselves. It is so sad that these families find themselves homeless.
So thanks to Julio for the improvements, keep up the good work and we hope to be back to see you in September 2013.

Catherine & Margaret from Scotland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyA187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    32
    43
    99
See reviews for
67
33
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomer
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The room was a great value & great location, for my work. The bed (double) was too small for the two of us. Otherwise, we would definitely stay there again! I believe we've been there 2-3 times. I love the fact that they have smoking rooms. When I'm out of town, I do not like having to go outside by myself to smoke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank yuo very much for your feedback and please know it will be used to better our customer experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wow. It was awful. We stayed at this hotel for a concert, and the hotel stay ruined the weekend. It took 40 minutes of standing in line to check in. They were "overbooked" on double rooms and were turning people away that had guaranteed with a credit card hold. Thankfully, I had a single room and my reservation did not get lost from an overbooking. After we FINALLY got a room key we took a creepy elevator ride. The lighting was spooky. The elevator door opened to a reveal a dangerous looking man with some type of lizard on his shoulder. We reacted with surprise and the man just chuckled. Upon entrace to the room, we found a beer bottle in the corner of the room and a very musty smell. The tv did not work. The air conditioner (or any ventilation) did not work. Sink did not drain AT ALL even over night. The first thing I did was inspect for bedbugs: no sign. However, the mattres was stained all over and the bedding was repulsive. At first I thought the sheets had not been changed as they were extremely wrinkled and stunk. When I asked for a clean set of sheets I was given a ball of sheets that were equally stained and smelly, except these came from the linnen closet. Sleep quality was poor. Thin walls and rowdy people do not mix, especially when I had no tv or fan to drown out the noise. Do not expect breakfast from this hotel. They do not restock anything. I was there 1.5 hours before the end of breakfast time and the ONLY thing left was juice from the machine. Not even a piece of bread. With all of these negatives being said, the staff were nice and polite. The girl checking in and helping the 40 minute wait line was working alone and did well with the complaints and pressure. I won't be coming back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank art3508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We apoligize for your less than satisfatory stay. Please know that we have taken steps to resolve issues and your feedback will be used to better our guest experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed here for a little over two months and have had no problems at all. The staff are frendly the hotel is quiet the rooms are what you would expect form a super 8 I would recommend this hotel to anyone dont let the bad reviews scare you away..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angielaswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are pleased your stay was a very pleasant one. Thank you for choosing Super 8 and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Paul
7.7 mi away
Days Inn ST. Paul-Minneapolis-Midway
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#11 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 St Paul I-94? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 St Paul I-94

Property: Motel 6 St Paul I-94
Address: 1739 Old Hudson Road, Saint Paul, MN 55106 (Formerly Super 8 St Paul / I-94)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 St Paul I-94 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel 6 St. Paul is pleased to provide our guests with exceptional service and quality amenities at an affordable price. Whether you are here for Business or Leisure you can enjoy our Free High Speed Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Free Cable, fitness room, and much more. After a restful night of sleep, you can look forward to starting your day with complimentary coffee from 6 am to 10 am. We have several restaurants nearby; Sonic, Davannis, Wendys, Culvers, Subway, Los Ocampo, and The Little Oven. We are located minutes from The State Capitol, Science Museum of Minnesota, Downtown St. Paul, Excel Energy Center and Mall of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 St Paul I-94 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St Paul / i-94 Hotel Saint Paul
Super 8 Saint Paul
Super Eight Saint Paul
Saint Paul Super 8
Saint Paul Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing