We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 St Paul I-94
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed September 20, 2012

When all guests staying at a motel are asked to leave a copy of their photo ID at check-in (for when the police come), you know you should run a mile!! Unfortunatley we didn't! We got to experience a smelly, disgusting, grotty motel. The hole in the rooms wall was a nice touch too. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

We have taken measures to keep the safety and security of our guests at the highest level. The maintenance and cleanliness of our property will and has improved. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 220 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

We understand that motels are hit and miss on a long trip -- but this joint was the worst. The usual good quality and value of the Super 8 chain skipped this place. Out of order elevators -- inop computer -- stale breakfast food -- and a room that was NOT cleaned before put into inventory. This resulted in massive series of bedbug bites. The manager tried to make it right but the ddamage was already done. Out of control kids running helter-skelter till midnite. What a nightmare.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

New management has taken over property and has resolved issues thanks to the guest feedback. Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wow sums up my experience at this hotel. Hookers and drug users can be found in hallways. Speaking of the hallways they smell of smoke, body odour and general filth. The room (non-smoking room) was full of cigarete burns, had two ashtrays and smelled of stale smoke and booze. The fire alarm went off on my first night and I had to call the front desk to inform them. They said it was likely just some kids "screwing around" and would shut it of. Five minutes later it shut off. And the best part...I got attacked by bed bugs. I mean really attacked, hundreds of bits, feet so swollen I could not were shoes. And the funny part was the bed was so filthy that I slept on top of the covers and they still got me. DO NOT STAY HERE...sleep on the streets it is likely safer, smells better and has fewer hookers and drug addicts.

Room Tip: Don't stay so here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

New Management has taken over and have worked hard to resolve issues. I invite you to stay with us again and see the differfence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

When first arriving, no fewer than 5 cops were already in front of the hotel. It could easily be mistaken for a jailhouse. The majority of customers looked like drug users. When we got to our room, the room reeked of urine and was musty. The room was a complete turn off, and the environment felt very unsafe. The desk clerk was beyond rude, and when we were unsatisfied with our room and refused to stay, he would not give us a refund. We are currently in the process of trying to drop the charge and refund our money. Refusing to stay there another minute, we stayed at the Holiday Inn in Eagen, MN. The Holiday Inn was clearly up to standards and was a much more welcoming stay. I advise that anyone who is thinking about staying at this hotel, to instead go the the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

New management has taken over property and is working hard to resolve issues, Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

After dropping our daughter off at UM, we stayed at this Super 8. We were told that the room had a king bed, but I realized after my husband and I went to bed this was only a double. The TV in the room had "snow" on every channel and we had to ask maintenance to fix the TV the next morning since it would not turn on at all. For being a nonsmoking room, it smelled of smoke

This hotel gave me an uneasy feeling staying for the night and I can see why after I've read the reviews of the other travelers. Sometimes the cheapest price is not always the best reason to book a hotel room. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

New Management has taken over property and has worked hard to resolve issues, Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place is filthy. It is advertised as "newly remodeled". I did not see anything "new" or "remodeled". I swear the comforter on the bed smelled vaguely of urine. When my husband and I were leaving to go find a place to eat supper, we passed a masseuse coming into the motel. The same people were always hanging around outside in the parking lot. There is no coffee, or any other extras, in the room. In the morning, I went down to the complementary breakfast area and there were three empty coffee pots. I had to ask for coffee and then wait for it to brew, while two gentlemen stood behind the front desk. There were two bagels in the bin and no Danish. No one was restocking the breakfast room. Do not stay here! There are other options in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia53511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

New management has taken over and has worked hard to resolve issues. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were travelling and checked into the hotel because it was reasonably priced. We got into our room that had bedding covered in Cigarette burns, stained carpet and the bed was not made. We went back to the front desk and asked for another room. The sheets were stained.

They gave us another room, but the hallway on that floor smelled awful- of body odour and unclean smell. We entered the room and it smelled like glue- contact cement. Due to my husband's asthma, we had to leave immediately. We checked out within minutes of checking in. It was gross.

The Hotels.com booklet said that this hotel was newly renovated. There is no way. It was dirty. It smelled. The clientele was dodgey and the two times in the ten minutes I was there that I needed to get the front desk clerk I had to go get her at the front door where she stood smoking.

DISGUSTING!

This place should be shut down.

Room Tip: Do not even stop there is a wonderful Days Inn just down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NStravellers71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanusHotels, Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

New management has taken over and has worked hard to resolve issues. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Paul
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#11 of 16 in Saint Paul
203 reviews
7.7 mi away
Days Inn ST. Paul-Minneapolis-Midway
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 St Paul I-94? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 St Paul I-94

Address: 1739 Old Hudson Rd, Saint Paul, MN 55106-6120 (Formerly Super 8 St Paul / I-94)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range: $49 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 St Paul I-94 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel 6 St. Paul is pleased to provide our guests with exceptional service and quality amenities at an affordable price. Whether you are here for Business or Leisure you can enjoy our Free High Speed Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Free Cable, fitness room, and much more. After a restful night of sleep, you can look forward to starting your day with complimentary coffee from 6 am to 10 am. We have several restaurants nearby; Sonic, Davannis, Wendys, Culvers, Subway, Los Ocampo, and The Little Oven. We are located minutes from The State Capitol, Science Museum of Minnesota, Downtown St. Paul, Excel Energy Center and Mall of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Motel-6, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 St Paul I-94 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St Paul / i-94 Hotel Saint Paul
Super 8 Saint Paul
Super Eight Saint Paul
Saint Paul Super Eight
Saint Paul Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing