We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Items in the room were not working. My fridge I did not realize until the just before check out that it did not keep my drinks cold. The tv was also broken, it had audio but no visual.After searching for an ice machine it was discovered that only one floor had ice and no laundry facilities. Rooms were noisy with the glass doors facing the atrium. I found two hairs in my bathroom after checking in and a half bottle of shampoo. On the website it said the pool did not start construction until the following week but was already out of commission. One of the elevators was not working causing the other one on my side to be slow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

We are in contact with the guest who wrote this review in an effort to make the experince right. We are very sorry that this experience did not meet there expectations and from the sound of it, this experience fell short of the expectation we have as well. We will do everything in our power to make this right and wish all of our guests to have an excellent experience while visiting us.

We Thank you for the review and letting us know what we could have done better to have made sure you had an exceptional guest experience.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 969 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Avoid if you would like amentities. Pool under construction, elevators not working. Noisy. Have to pay to park your car in lot...overall would not go again if I were to pick my own hotel. No ice available on floor. Granted were in construction, but feel the rate should have reflected this, as well as having prior knowledge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you very much for the review given to our hotel on May 19th. We are very sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations, unfortunately there is no good time for these improvements to take place in the hotel. We are very happy to report that the Pool is completed and open for all of our guests enjoyment. While there was no Ice available on your floor, we do have ice located on several other floors withnin then hotel and will have ice machines up and running on all guest floor by the end of the week 5/26. The fee associated with Parking at our Downtown location is one of the less expensive in the area and unfortunately is somethign we are unable to change. We will continue to keep this expense as low as possible in the future. We do hope to have the opportunity to show you that we take your reviews seriously and we very much would like the opportunity to earn back your loyalty and your contnued business.

We do share all reviews with all of our staff to assist with our efforts to contnually improve the guest experience as well as the overall hotel product for our guests.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This place isn't much to look at, and there's very little of interest near by. The room was comfortable. Breakfast is just passable, and the nearest diner (Mickey's) seems to be about a half mile away, but it's worth the walk. The hotel staff (including the breakfast chefs) are friendly, helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank N6925KTstevenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for the review given to our Hotel on May 16th. We thank you for the feedback that you have given us and will certainly be working to ensure an exceptional guest experience each time we have the opportunity.

We share all of the reviews we recieve with all of our staff in efforts to continually improve the quality of our hotel as well as the guest service our associate offer.

Thank you

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel several months ago and it was very dark and dreary in the rooms. Boy was I delighted when I walked into the newly refurbished rooms!

They are like the pictures show! You walk in with soft music coming from the bedroom in the back and in your front room a soft palette of grey and yellows.

Even the ability to connect your electronic gadgets has improved! There was an electrical outlet right in the edge of the table in the living area and a desk in the bedroom too! So no excuse not to get some work done here.

Alongside the bed are night stands with outlets too.

Definitely a great hotel. The pool is under construction at the time of my stay mid May. Looks to be great.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank ORDFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for the great review given to our hotel on May 16th. W certainly are blessed with a great location and a wonderful staff focused on the guest experience.

We do share all reviews with our team in orderto continually improve the product quality and guest experience.

Thank you, we look forward to having you stay with us again

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very clean, newly remodeled hotel within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. The staff is wonderful and the made to order breakfast is excellent! The manager was very helpful and always present, checking on things! Great place for a little get-away! We will definitely go back if the opportunity arises!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank stephanieg455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for the great review given to our hotel on May 14th. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly appreciate you sharing what made your stay so exceptional and we are blessed to have a great facility as well as engaged staff who focus on exceptional guest service with every interaction.

We will certainly share your comments with all of our team members and look forward to having you back.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Very good value for the price- having the living area with television, kitchenette, etc. separate from the bedroom is very helpful. Full breakfast adds additional value. Clean, recently updated and friendly staff add to the positive aspects of the experience here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for the outstanding review given to our hotel on May 4th. We are certainly blessed with a great product and an exceptional staff to deliver the guest experience day in and day out.

We look ofrward to your return!

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Breakfast and evening recpetion make this THE place to stay in downtown St. Paul. Dinner in the pub was excellent and there are also a lot of choices with walking distance. Downfall: $15 for PARKING! Puh-Leez. Its not even in a ramp. No fan in the very small bathroom. Good luck fixing your hair or applying make-up after a shower (clearly designed by a man.)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Jackiendds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you very much for teh excellent review given to our hotel on May 3rd. We appreciate you sharing what made your stay so great as well as the items that we can look at to help improve the qulity and value of the property.

We share all of the reviews given to us with all of our associates in order to continue improving the quality of our product as well as the guest experience

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown

Address: 175 10th St E, Saint Paul, MN 55101-2352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: $125 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown hotel conveniently located in the heart of the Twin Cities is just blocks from the Xcel Energy Center, the Science Museum of Minnesota and Minnesota Children's Museum. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale hotel is just minutes from many Saint Paul, MN attractions making our downtown St. Paul hotel the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests of the Embassy Suites St. Paul Downtown hotel stay in a spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary evening reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. Our on-site restaurant, Cork's Pub, provides a casual venue for enjoying dinner, catching a game on TV or simply having a drink to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Saint Paul Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing