We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“twin cities marathon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed October 13, 2013

great hotel if doing twin cities marathon. hotel provided shuttle to another hotel to get on shuttle to start of the race. They also had comp breakfast ready at 5 a.m. for participants - a great plus!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Becky Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for the review given to our hotel on October 13th. We are certainly excited to be a part of the Twin Cities marathon and host its participants. We look forward to having you all back next year.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 955 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed 3 nights while traveling from Chicago to support our son who was running the Twin Cities Marathon. The location was super for all of the events we wanted to experience while in town. The first impression was of a beautiful, classy hotel with a gorgeous lobby. There were palm trees, small ponds and live ducks meandering the waterways. Check in was fairly quick, and desk clerks were friendly and efficient, and we were able to get into our room early. Had some trouble with the door to the room, it was somewhat difficult to open, a theme that would continue throughout our stay. However, once inside, the room was just as impressive as the lobby. Two room suite, modern, updated decor, a comfy bed, with some of the best pillows I have ever slept on in a hotel! Bathroom was a tad small, and no fan in the bathroom (?), but there were Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries, cool! Only negative we noticed at the time was when opening the drapes, our "view" was of the liquor store across the street.

We did have an issue during our stay when it was somewhat cold in our room and we tried to turn up the heat, and realized nothing was happening. A call to the desk revealed that the heat for the building had not been turned on yet for the season, which was surprising, however, a space heater and an extra blanket were quickly provided, and took care of the problem. I am not sure when the heat is turned on, and as it will only get colder going forward, I hope it's soon!

The evening manager's reception was great, with free drinks and snacks offered a couple of hours each night. The people pouring the drinks were always extremely pleasant and seemed to truly enjoy their jobs!

The same can be said of the breakfast workers who fixed the made to order omelettes. Nice perk to have such a great complimentary breakfast offered each day.

The hotel is apparently done remodeling the guest rooms, however, near the end of our stay, renovation of the lobby appeared to be ongoing, as some of those beautiful palm trees were cut down (sad), and a fountain was removed, and a portion of the check in area was blocked off. Not sure what the final outcome of the remodel is supposed to be, but I was kind of disappointed, as I thought the lobby was quite welcoming the way it was when we arrived.

Overall, though, we were happy with our choice to stay here, it was comfortable, a good location for what we needed, and had some nice perks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was here for three nights. It is a very pretty place. The free breakfast can't be beat. They pretty much have everything. Our room was clean and nice..but..We had no toilet paper when we first entered the room, our coffee maker didn't work, and the remote to one of the tvs didn't work. Two of the three were remedied very quickly. We had to call a second time to get the coffee maker replaced.

The biggest negative was that the elevators were very slow and they didn't have a staircase to the lobby. How strange is that? The stairway lead to the outside of the building. So unless you wanted to get your coat on to go to breakfast, you had to wait for the super slow elevators!

The beds are awesome..really comfortable and no critters!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blessingsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I usually stay at Hilton properties for business travel and this was by far the worst stay I have experienced. The main problem was that it was freezing in my room and I was advised by the front desk that the general manager had to give approval for the heat in the hotel to be turned on. She then suggested that I call the manager on his cell phone. I was then told that even if they were allowed to turn on the heat it would take over 24 hours for the building to heat. I checked the weather to see how cold it was outside and it was 45 degrees. At 11pm they brought me a space heater to get through the night.

I usually dismiss little problems with a hotel room, but because of my frustration with the heat, I noticed several little other issues that showed an overall lack of management. My towels were not properly stocked, the "Do Not Disturb" tag was missing, and while there was a tissue holder, there were no tissues. When I first turned on the TV in the living room, there was sound but no picture. I used the TV in the bedroom, but once I turned that one off, I could not turn it back on. When I checked in and checked out, there was only one person working the desk and they were clearly overwhelmed. Overall, a horrible experience and I do not plan on staying at this property again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you very much for the review given to our hotel on October 9th. We are certainly sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations and and we are very sorry that when these issues were brought to our attention we were not able to do anything that would have made the expereince any better for you. We do share all of our guest comments with all of our associates in an effort to contnually improve the quality of our hotel and our service.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Last year I couldn't justify paying the rate at this hotel because it needed to be remodeled, now the rooms are modern and beautiful. There were slight areas that could've been cleaner (hair and things on the floor). The happy hour food was great and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you very muchn for the review given to our hotel on October 9th. We certainly appreciate you telling us what you enjoyed about your stay and we are excited to hear that you love the new rooms as much as we do. We also appreciate you letting us know where we could have done better to help us improve the quality of both our service and our guest rooms.

We share all guest feedback with our associates in an effort to continue the improvement of service and quality at the hotel

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel needs considerable work and staff was variably uninformed, security is lacking, and room was awful. Seems as though everyone is just taught to be polite as if that covers faults too numerous to count. A classic outside my room window was the area where staff hide to smoke and throw their empties.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank VinCanton_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are in touch with this guests to identify and work out the issues that might have been encountered during there stay. We are very sorry if the experience did not live up to the standards that we have set for ourselves and it is our intentions to make this right for our guest.

We thank this guest for the feedback, as it is the only way we can contnue to improve both the quality of service as well as the hotel.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

In our room at least, second floor rear, on the right , just before you get to the sales office, there was a loud intermittent mechanical system noise throughout the night. SOunded like an electrical motor winding. Then, before 6 , we were awakened by the loud crash of dumpsters being emptied. Yeesh.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank ELLIZABETH O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for the review given to our hotel on September 30th. We certainly are very sorry that there were noise issues that did not allow you to enjoy your night with us as intended. We hope that we will have the opportunity to have you back and see that these issues have been addressed and give us the opportunity to earn back your trust, loyalty and business when staying in Saint Paul.

Thank you very much for the feedback on what you found enjoyable as well as those issues that hindered your stay. This is the opny way we continue to improve the quality of our hotel and service.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
469 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.5 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown

Address: 175 10th St E, Saint Paul, MN 55101-2352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: $128 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown hotel conveniently located in the heart of the Twin Cities is just blocks from the Xcel Energy Center, the Science Museum of Minnesota and Minnesota Children's Museum. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale hotel is just minutes from many Saint Paul, MN attractions making our downtown St. Paul hotel the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests of the Embassy Suites St. Paul Downtown hotel stay in a spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary evening reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. Our on-site restaurant, Cork's Pub, provides a casual venue for enjoying dinner, catching a game on TV or simply having a drink to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Saint Paul Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing