We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible. Disapointed. Potentially unsafe” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible. Disapointed. Potentially unsafe”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

As a diamond member this was one of the worst properties I have been in across the country. The property was undergoing a remodel on the upper floors and the condition of my room was deplorable. We had a corner Suite and it was not only dirty but also unsafe. I made a comment to my wife that I was glad the Grand kids were not with us or we would have gone home. Some kind of mold or dirt growing in the bay window...Just generally unclean, broken and not working..Lamps/Lights/TV all had issues. Have never seen a property like this. Stay away.

Room Tip: Wait until after the remodel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure cleanliness and comfort are our first priority. I understand the condition of your guest room was of concern. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind as we look towards completing the refresh of the property. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Charles Goldberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    199
    135
    98
    59
See reviews for
276
119
12
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel often throughout the years and always enjoy it! Embassy Suites have, in my opinion, the best layout of any hotel, with the sitting room completely separate from the bedroom and bath. This property has aged and was being renovated when I was there, so I look forward to the new rooms! Breakfast was great. The hotel also has a very accommodating shuttle service in the downtown/Capitol area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doneyroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review that was given to our Hotel and friendly staff on February 25th. We appreciated your comments about our friendly staff. That is certainly something we are known for and expect every day. Thank you for sharing detail on what you found to make your stay enjoyable. We are truly blessed with a great location, view and great people to deliver service day in and day out.

We are certainly excitied about the renovation taking place and look forward to providing our guests with a product that will be one of the nicest in Saint Paul.

Once again, thank you for your input and kind words. We share all comments with our service teams to reward good service and to understand our opportunities for improvement.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed two nights this week in 1 BR corner suite. Nice room, even pre-renovation. Great common spaces (interior open area is very airy -- nice during cold spells). Quiet during the night. fantastic breakfast.

We ate at the Irish Pub restaurant on the main floor for lunch and dinner during most of our stay -- carry out and dine-in. we found the food to be very good. However, the service during dinner was extremely poor. The wait periods were unbearable at all phases: too long to be waited on; too long for a drink and water to come; too long for appetizer; too long for main course; but then the final crusher was that after our check was presented -- long after we asked for it, the the wait person did not come back to collect, leaving me to pay at the bar.

Room Tip: Great food, but terrible service during dinner at the Irish Pub restaurant on the main floor. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for the review that was given to our Hotel and friendly staff on February 21st. We appreciated your comments about our public areas and how much you enjoyed the Complimentary cooked to order Breakfast. Thank you for sharing detail on what you found to make your stay enjoyable. We are truly blessed with a great location, view and great people to deliver service day in and day out.

We are also glad to have your input on things you would like to suggest to make us even better. Your feedback on both the food and thje service has been shared with our F&B teams and we are working very hard to improvethe qualit of our service every day. We truely appreciate the feedback it is the only way we can contnue to improve.

Once again, thank you for your input and kind words. We share all comments with our service teams to reward good service and to understand our opportunities for improvement.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stay here quite often - only 2 blocks from my son's apartment..Rooms are clean and quiet - especially on the upper floors. Business center, fitness center, and pool are all well appointed . The breakfast to order (omelets, bacon, etc.) along with quick breakfast items - fruits, yogurts, cereals, and the evening reception are well done. If it has been a wedding weekend, there will be quite a wait at the breakfast table, but that is to be expected. Front desk staff is extremely helpful and friendly - maps and a number of pamphlets for area activities are available. There is also a restaurant on site that has a nice "Irish sport bar" atmosphere, and the food is good. For convenience there is a small store available - some clothing, gum, candy, etc. - the hours are a little odd, though. Parking is outside - first come, first served, and is $10/day - your ticket is stamped when you check-in. Internet service is also $10/day unless you are a Hilton Honors Diamond or Gold member - then it's free. Only blocks away from the Excel Center and a large number of excellent restaurants; also close to many of the older churches. I have always been quite happy with my stays here.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor and toward the end of the halls - away from the elevators. Corner rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bauerfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the superb review that was given to our Hotel and friendly staff on February 10th. We appreciated your comments about our friendly front desk staff. That is certainly something we are known for and expect every day. Thank you for sharing detail on what you found to make your stay enjoyable. We are truly blessed with a great location and great people to deliver service day in and day out.

We are especially proud of our staff and the associates who work the Complimentary Breakfast area in particular. They strive each and every day to give excellent customer service and provide the highest of quality when it comes to the breakfast items we serve.

Once again, thank you for your input and kind words. We share all comments with our service teams to reward good service and to understand our opportunities for improvement.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked this hotel for one night in January so that we didn't have to drive home after attending The Beer Dabbler. We got an excellent rate from hotwire and the room surpassed our expectations. The lobby and service is welcoming. I also enjoyed the atrium with the ducks. The rooms are spacious though outdated. The hotel is centrally located and we had no problem walking to the St. Paul Farmer's Market which was the location of our event.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the superb review that was given to our Hotel and friendly staff on February 10th. We appreciated your comments about our welcoming staff. That is certainly something we are known for and expect every day. Thank you for sharing detail on what you found to make your stay enjoyable. We are truly blessed with a great location and great people to deliver service day in and day out.

Once again, thank you for your input and kind words. We share all comments with our service teams to reward good service and to understand our opportunities for improvement.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good food, quiet nights, friendly staff. Loved the ducks in the lobby. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was super friendly. Room service was fast and friendly. Food wasn't to my liking but it was my fault for trying something different. Pancakes and eggs were delicious. Always fully stocked and quick.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sondra01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for the superb review that was given to our Hotel and friendly staff on January 30th. We appreciated your comments about our friendly staff. That is certainly something we are known for and expect every day. Thank you for sharing detail on what you found to make your stay enjoyable. We are truly blessed with a great location and great people to deliver service day in and day out.

I will certainly pass along your comments on the positive experience you had with both Room Service as well as the Embassy Breakfast team. We very much enjoy sharing these types of experiences with our associates.

Once again, thank you for your input and kind words. We share all comments with our service teams to reward good service and to understand our opportunities for improvement.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel. We arrived just after midnight and were booked in a smoking room. They changed it without any hassle. The room was spacious, clean and free breakfast was great. The lobby was really neat, ponds with ducks and old brick interior. Heard they are remodeling in next month. Really cool building, too bad they are changing it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkalcheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for review that was given to our Hotel and friendly staff on January 23rd. We appreciated your comments about our friendly staff. That is certainly something we are known for and expect every day. Thank you for sharing detail on what you found to make your stay enjoyable. We are truly blessed with a great location and great people to deliver service day in and day out.

You heard correct, we are starting a refresh of the property and will be updating the entire property starting with the guest rooms and moving completely through the hotel. We are all very excited about this as it will allow us to give our guests a much improved product. We will do all of this without changing the charm and allure of the hotel that have all come to love.

We share all comments with our service teams to reward good service and to understand our opportunities for improvement.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.5 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Address: 175 10th St E, Saint Paul, MN 55101-2352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown hotel conveniently located in the heart of the Twin Cities is just blocks from the Xcel Energy Center, the Science Museum of Minnesota and Minnesota Children's Museum. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale hotel is just minutes from many Saint Paul, MN attractions making our downtown St. Paul hotel the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests of the Embassy Suites St. Paul Downtown hotel stay in a spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary evening reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. Our on-site restaurant, Cork's Pub, provides a casual venue for enjoying dinner, catching a game on TV or simply having a drink to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Saint Paul Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing