We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a difference a coat of paint could make” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a difference a coat of paint could make”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My room was great except for the paint peeled cabinets and "jiggle the handle" toilet. But some in our party found food left in their fridge, stains on bedsheets and hair in the shower. That's sad because the general areas are so wonderful with fountains, ponds, greeery and real ducks. Next time we might search a different place until they get their act together.
Front desk staff was excellent though and very helpful with local suggestions for food.

Room Tip: Check the room out before you settle in, nothing worse than un packing and then finding the hair in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOrkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for review that was given to our Hotel and friendly staff on January 18th . We appreciated your comments about our friendly front desk staff. That is certainly something we are known for and expect every day. Thank you for sharing detail on what you found to make your stay enjoyable. We are truly blessed with a great location, view and great people to deliver service day in and day out.

We will work with the associates in Housekeeping and review our inspection policies, as there is never an excuse for such situations to take place. We treat this as an opportunity to get better and counseling and training will take place to ensure this does not happen again. I would also like to share that the hotel is beginning a multimillion dollar refresh of the property and all of the guest rooms and guest corridors will be completely stripped down and a brand new product will be put into place. We will be updating the public areas without losing the charm that we all love about this property and finally all of our meeting space will be refreshed and updated with all of the amenities that our groups and corporate clients have come to expect. We look forward to your next visit and will alwys work very hard to continuously earn your loyalty.

We share all comments with our service teams to reward good service and to understand our opportunities for improvement.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    199
    135
    98
    59
See reviews for
276
119
12
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Other than the aging room décor, this property has plenty to offer. There is a manager special in the evenings that provide free drinks and snacks. In morning there is also a complimentary breakfast offers cereal, muffins, bagels, fruit, etc and a freshly made omelet with your choice of fixings if you choose.

I found the hotel staff to be friendly and courteous. I believe this hotel will be starting a renovation project in the near future. This property is very close to the Xcel Energy Center, Science Museum and other St. Paul attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Striker701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for the review that was given to our Hotel and friendly staff on January 16th. We appreciated your comments about our friendly staff. That is certainly something we are known for and expect every day. Thank you for sharing detail on what you found to make your stay enjoyable. We are truly blessed with a great location and great people to deliver service day in and day out.

As you mentioned in your review we are starting a renovation of the property and are very excited about the updates and changes that will take place at the hotel. I hope that you will be back to see our progress and enjoy the property after this refresh takes place.

Once again, thank you for your input and kind words. We share all comments with our service teams to reward good service and to understand our opportunities for improvement.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I've stayed in Embassy Suites everywhere but this one is the pits. It's very old and falling apart, dirty and smelly, and in dire need of a gut rehab. The furniture is ugly and dated - looks like the clock stopped at 1970. If you're thinking of staying here, just don't -- I mean it. This hotel would fail every hotel rating test including a black light test.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle-Lettrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review dated January 15th 2013. I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations of the Embassy Brand. We could not agree with you more that the hotel is dated and in need of a complete rehab. That is why I am very excited to let you know that starting in February the hotel will undergo a multimillion dollar renovation and every area of the hotel will be touched. We are very excited about this process and look forward to having you back to see the property and the exciting changes that take place.

Charles Goldberg
General Manager
Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldböckelheim
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hi all
I'm staying here as of an business trip and the Embassy suites is a place you don't want to be.
I have attached pictures of the bath room/ toilet and this is disgusting.
The hotel is old and the rooms haven’t been updated at all – except some flat screens, but in general this is a place you don’t want to spent a night at all
I have cleaned the floor in the bathroom several times – see attached pictures – and the way the toilet paper looked like after wiping the floor is just a no go!
I’m staying here as the room has been booked by the company.

Do not book this hotel at all!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure cleanliness and comfort are our first priority. I understand the condition of your bathroom was of concern. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience both good and bad as this is the only way we can contnue to improve. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area. I look forward to earning back your business as well as your loyalty to the Brand.

Charles Goldberg
General Manager
Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed there for a family function, and unless I have to will not return. Rooms very dirty, brown stain on pull out couch sheets...humm gross!!!!! Old food in the fridge left from previous guest.....nasty! Toilet paper roll only had a few squares left, but it was folded in a triangle to be "fancy" with no other rolls in sight. Bathroom had one lotion, no shampoo, soap, conditioner, one towel that s it! Stayed on the 8th floor, so hot it was dificult to breath if you were walking to elevator, which was very slow. Breakfast was disgusting.....Half cooked french toast that was wet. I ended up getting the stomach flu the next day, which makes me wonder if it was food poisoning or just unclean rooms? The only thing saving this hotel was the nice staff and cool atrium....

Room Tip: Do not stay on the higher floors, unless you want to feel like you are staying in a sauna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet expectations and based upon your review I am actively participating with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again. Thank you again; I appreciate your honest feedback.

Charles Goldberg
General Manager
Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.5 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Address: 175 10th St E, Saint Paul, MN 55101-2352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown hotel conveniently located in the heart of the Twin Cities is just blocks from the Xcel Energy Center, the Science Museum of Minnesota and Minnesota Children's Museum. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale hotel is just minutes from many Saint Paul, MN attractions making our downtown St. Paul hotel the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests of the Embassy Suites St. Paul Downtown hotel stay in a spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary evening reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. Our on-site restaurant, Cork's Pub, provides a casual venue for enjoying dinner, catching a game on TV or simply having a drink to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Saint Paul Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing