We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Great hotel in a very lively, central part of St. Paul. Front desk was friendly and efficient. Our room was very comfortable, clean and new, although slightly smaller than usual. Everything was very well maintained. Some reviews complained about having to pay for parking -- we weren't surprised because it's *downtown* -- and the staff was very upfront about it. Great value; we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterhill3505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 321 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2010

This is an average hotel but has a convenient location with easy in/out parking priviledges included. Very small indoor pool/spa & exercise room. Cute little restaurant called The Liffey is nice on a sunny day with it outdoor dining patio.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karensells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Our stay was much improved the second time we stayed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable; the decor was modern and appealing. It is a tad smaller than what most business travelers are accustomed to, but it felt bigger -- they do very well with the space they have. The rooms are about the same size as a Westin room, but without the entryway...and we had a great view.

It was kind of a cool evening, but hot in the morning, so we used both the heat and the a/c -- both worked fine -- they had a nice digital controller that worked well. My only complaint is that the alarm clock wasn't set to the right time, and I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to fix it.

This hotel is a great value. It's probably not for someone looking for a luxurious experience, but the rooms are clean and quite comfortable -- and the location is great. The pool and hottub downstairs was clean and well-maintained. Also, The Liffey is a fabulous bar/restaurant, operated by a real Irishman -- every hotel should have a cozy little pub like this attached to it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robko626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Great staff, great beds, great location! We were were able to walk to just about everything we wanted to do, Wild game, meals, Science Museum....the staff is very knowledgable about the area and was able to give us lots of ideas of places to try during our visit. Enjoyed the Liffey Pub attached to the hotel, fun staff, good food.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Wild_Fan_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed here for New Year's eve. The rooms are small but clean. The hotel is kitty corner from the Excel Energy Center so the location is great. The fact that it is walking distance to most of downtown St Paul is great too. There is even a small refrigerator in the room if you happen to bring your own beverages. However when I took a shower in the morning, the water was lukewarm and then cold. Nice. I guess I expect at least hot water from a Holiday Inn. They need to do something in order to provide this at the very least. Otherwise we had no problems. Check in was fine. Price is a bit high, but that is due to the location I suppose.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNpalmtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

It's too bad this hotel has such a great location. If it didn't gain so much business by being so close to the xcel energy center, there is no way it would still be open. The staff were very helpful, our server in the Liffy on the Thursday night was very friendly and good at her job. The hotel was constructed poorly. I've never had louder accomodations. I could hear our neighbor peeing, and the elevator doors each time they opened and closed. There was a two inch gap under our door that we stuck a blanket under the second night to mute the conversation from game night fans. Our room was TEENY TINY and the 'view of the cathedral' was really over taken by the giant parkade we had to look through. Then again, it was a hop to the arena, a skip to a bunch of neat little shops and a jump to this pretty little park with all kinds of Christmas lights. How do you make a Manitoban happy? Bring her an NHL team so she doesn't have to travel to see one.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Kibbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Stayed here one noisy night, even though it was not a hockey night, to attend a meeting at the medical complex a block away. This is a seedy area in spite of the nearby medical center and the Xcel Center across the street. A huge Dorothy Day homeless shelter is a block away, and security gates and bars are prominent all over the area. There are a few antique stores along 7th, but it's not an attractive shopping area at all. I would not have walked here alone after dark.
Located at the corner of 7th and Kellogg, traffic noise is a big problem for rooms streetside. There's nothing like listening to motorcycles at midnight. If you have to stay here, request a room facing the so-called courtyard, actually a parking garage.
The hotel is a very basic, rather dreary Holiday Inn. The front desk staff were efficient and polite. The rooms were clean and appeared to be newly painted and tv and ac worked fine. There is an inch or more space between the door and floor, so there is no noise insulation at all from the hallway. We put two towels across the space but to very little benefit. A group of children were running up and down the hall and literally yelling at 11 p.m., so it probably was just as loud as if the hockey crowd had been there.
We ate at the Liffey Pub adjoining the hotel, and it was just okay. If I were to stay here again (which I won't) I would try the Mancini Char House several blocks down 7th. It had good reviews and the huge parking lot was full when we drove by; again, heavily boarded windows, sad.
We really just endured rather than enjoyed this hotel. St. Paul does have lovely shopping and dining areas (for example, about a mile west on Grande Avenue)...but this hotel is not one of them.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toonces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
0.3 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Address: 175 7th St W, Saint Paul, MN 55102-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range: $126 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown. You are in the heart of it all! If you are attending a hockey game, concert, or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and the RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Infor, Ecolab, and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport and the Mall of America are only minutes away. If you are planning a family vacation, you are steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum, Palace Theater, and the Ordway Center. We are also the closest hotel to Children's and United Hospitals. While you're here be sure to visit St. Paul's only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey, located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing