We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rivercentre in Winter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rivercentre in Winter”
Reviewed January 20, 2007

We stayed here for one night. There was a lacrosse game going on across the street at Xcel, so the area was busy. Parking was a easy and registration was fast. The 7th floor room overlooked the parking ramp/hotel entrance, but was surprisingly quiet. My only complaint was that the shower took almost five minutes to get warm.

There are a few restaurants and bars in the area, but we took a quick drive up to Grand Ave. for dinner instead.

Overall, it was a good place to stay in downtown St. Paul.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Garbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    131
    74
    27
    8
See reviews for
61
80
16
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

I stayed at the Holiday Inn while taking the bar exam. It is literally across the street from the Excel Energy Center, so that is very convenient. It is also close to Cosettis, a great Italian take-out place, and a Starbucks. However, there are a lot of homeless who live in the area between the hotel and downtown. They do approach and ask for money, and they do loiter at the hotel. Also, the rooms are not noise-proof at all, so be ready to hear what the people in the next room are saying, because you will. The roomservice is great, but really pricey. Just go down to the Liffey and eat there instead. The hotel could really use some new furniture.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess_2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
210 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2006

Property is handy to downtown. Cosettas Italian Restaurant and Woodfire Grill (both excellent) are nearby not to mention the on-site Irish pub, Liffeys which now has a rooftop garden pub.

Front desk staff friendly.

That being said, the mauve carpeting needs updating and the heater rattles on and off. Occasionally have found the rooms to need vacuming.

Tried to make me pay a higher rate than the one I reserved, though (a one-time occurence). Would like to stay there again.

  • Liked — Nearby (excellent) restaurants
  • Disliked — Noisy heater
  • Tips/Secrets — On the bus route (54D)from MSP, just $1.50 (off peak) and a 20 minute ride
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Paul hotels

Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
173 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2006

Overall it was a nice place to stay. If you are going anywhere downtown St Paul, this is the place to stay. Very clsoe to XCel Center. Rooms were very nice and the staff made you feel at home.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flxible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

I stayed here with my friend for a Minnesota Wild hockey game. The hotel was super clean, and the staff was very friendly. My only complaint about the hotel was there was no business center, or atleast a computer with internet service.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — No internet service besides if you have a laptop
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYPAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2006

Awesome room, great staff and nice parking....something that we were scared of before arriving. Just have to pay, something like $13 per day but you have a nice parking garage in downtown St. Paul, so nothing to complain about. The LIFFEY in the hotel was awesome too, great place to grab a beer before the game at Xcel and fun place to party after with great food too. Stay here, no worries!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank outsider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2006

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn River Centre for 4 days during a business trip. I was very concerned after reading the earlier reviews of this hotel. I found my experience to be 100% opposite. The front desk staff was more than friendly and helpful. I never went by without a personal question or remark about my stay. The room was clean and large enough (it's a hotel room not a suite). The maid service was above par. When my party asked about getting a taxi to a meeting, the front desk offered the use of their shuttle. I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation. Also, the Liffey Irish Pub has very good food and service.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RabyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Address: 175 7th St W, Saint Paul, MN 55102-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing