We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but unattractive room!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Saint Paul
Hillsborough, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice location, but unattractive room!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband, son and I were in St. Paul for a weekend wedding and spent two nights at this hotel.
The room was clean, but decorated in depressing brown and beige tones. There was no vent in the bathroom, so, when showering, you had to leave the door open or try to dry off in a totally steamy bathroom with the door shut. The towels, while hopefully clean, were a dingy white. I, unfortunately, left some clothing in a drawer and called the hotel, but, after promising to contact housekeeping, they have never called me back. Extremely slow elevators and parking is extra! On the upside, the hotel does have a nice location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealtorAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hi RealtorAtSea,

Thanks for writing a review of our property. We're very happy to hear that you loved our location and appreciated your clean guestroom, but we are sorry that you found the room decor to be a little drab. On the bright side, we are currently improving our guestrooms with all new beds and carpets, so we are sure you will find the rooms looking good if you visit again! We are also very sorry to hear about your lost and found item and implore you to call us again regarding it. Please call our manager on duty at 651-225-1515 at your earlier convenience, and we will get back to you as soon as we possibly can! Thanks again for the review, and we wish you the happiest of travels in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    117
    67
    27
    8
See reviews for
49
71
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a nice hotel that is right across the street from the Xcel Energy Arena. There are a decent amount of restaurant with in walking distance and the hotel has a nice parking garage. The rooms are clean and a good size, typical of this class of hotel. Breakfast is not included but there is an attached restaurant with a decent menu. Check in was easy and staff were friendly. If, like us, you are going to the arena this a very good hotel. Our room was very quiet also. My only complaint would be the fact that you HAVE to use the elevator to go up or down from or to the first floor. Sooooo when 3/4 of the hotel guests come back from a concert the lobby becomes a bit of a cluster-feck as you can't use the stairs. Now that's some ingenious engineering.

Room Tip: drive into the parking garage entrance to unload and getting your parking pass
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzerd03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi Buzzerd03,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're happy to hear that you appreciated our great location across from the Xcel Energy Center and near numerous restaurants within just two blocks of our hotel! We're glad that you enjoyed your clean and quiet guestroom as well as our friendly staff and convenient parking too! It's true that stairs are not generally accessible as they are fire exits that lead to the outside of the building. However, our staff is certainly happy to open them if need be. Feel free to ask if we haven't opened them yet! Overall though, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we'll hope to see you again in the future! Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed for a recent show- this place gets a five for location (excel right across the street, many restaurants within walking distance, Science Museum a few blocks away as is the river) but a three for actual accommodations. Not bad, not great- I guess you could say it serves it purpose.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisctravfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi wisctravfamily,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're happy to hear that you loved our excellent location across the street from the Xcel Energy Center and near numerous other attractions and great restaurants! We are also glad to hear that our accommodations were to your and your family's satisfaction, We always want our guests to consider their stay with us a 10, so please always feel free to let us know if there is anything that we can do to make your stay better! If not before, we'll look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the area for a concert! In the meantime, happy travels, and thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great location for downtown St Paul and close to Harriet Island park and pavilion. Also just across the street from the Excel center. Had to pay extra for parking so it was a little pricey, house keeping and other staff was awesome. Liffy's restaurant and lounge is right there and across the street was Eagles Bar and restaurant which was very good

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottmt59405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi scottmt59405,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and appreciated so much of what our hotel has to offer: great location; excellent housekeeping and other staff; and delicious in-house restaurant, not to mention many others nearby! It is true that there is a cost for parking, but the cost is similar in price to other parking fees for hotels in the downtown area. Regardless, we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we'll hope to see you again the next time you visit St. Paul! Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the holiday inn while entertaining clients at a show across the street at the Xcel Center.

The location was ideal for the concert and that is how we chose the hotel. Check in was handled efficiently yet a bit confusing as the cab driver dropped me in front of the Holiday Inn sign, which was not the entrance to the hotel.

As you'd imagine the hotel takes on the likeness of who is playing across the street so I would caution this to anyone not selecting the hotel to attend a conference.

The room was about as you'd expect from a holiday inn. Not great but generally clean. The shower was pretty bad but again clean and met the expectations you would expect from the property.

The attached Bar and Restaurant was great and featured a nice deck that was packed after the concert. The restaurant inside served a nice breakfast and was nicely packed for happy hour.

Bottom line is we made this decision based on location, location, location and our expectations were met.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmordski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi bmordski,

Thanks for reviewing our property! First and foremost, we're thrilled to hear that you loved our excellent location across the street from the Xcel Energy Center and nearby numerous different attractions and restaurants! We're also delighted to hear that you greatly enjoyed The Liffey, our attached bar and restaurant. We agree that it has a lot to offer--from it's amazing elevated outdoor terrace to its great happy hour to its delicious food! We're also happy to hear that you found your guestroom to be clean our staff to be efficient. As always, do let us know if there's anything that we can do to make your stay better, and we'll be more than happy to help while you're with us! We'll hope to see you the next time that you visit for an event at the Xcel, and, in the meantime, we wish you happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
751 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,382 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I recently had a three night stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown in St. Paul. We arrived and parked our car in front of the hotel on the street while we checked in. Check in was simple and easy. Service was friendly and knowledgeable. We then parked our car in the parking garage for the night. The room had a king size bed, small fridge and a microwave. The tv was of decent size. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was small but doable. The fitness center has 2 treadmills and an elliptical but no free weights. There is an Irish pub connected to the hotel with some rooftop seating which is nice on a great day. The Xcel Center is right across the street and there are a few good places to eat withing walking distance...Moe's Burgers, Zambonies Pizza and Cosetta Pizza. No free breakfast but free wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderDelarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi AlexanderDelarge,

Thank you for reviewing our property! Even though you awarded us a three-star rating, we are delighted that your review had nothing but positives to say. We are very pleased to hear that you found check-in simple and easy, our staff to be friendly and helpful, parking to be convenient, the bed to be comfortable, and our attached restaurant, The Liffey, to have excellent outdoor seating, not to mention our great location near many restaurants and prominent locations like the Xcel Energy Center and Rivercentre. We thank you very much for your business and will hope to see you again in the future! Until then, happy travels, and thank you again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a great location if you are attending an event at the Xcel Center, which is across the street. The cost was reasonable and place was clean with contemporary furniture. The Liffy restaurant food is good, and it has a fun atmosphere although I was not able to meet my friends outside on the deck because my wheelchair couldn't fit. Spaces are small and get crowded quickly which made me feel like I was always in someone's way. The accessible room was too small to get around in my chair, and the shower was also too small .The only "accessible"entrance is through the back door but it is difficult to get through because the doorway is too high. My wife wasn't strong enough to push me over the hump so I helped but it was still so difficult I ended up falling out of my chair and felt humiliated. The staff was helpful but I wish they would invest in a better ramp rather than pay employees to pick me up off the floor. If I wasn't in the wheelchair i probably would have liked staying there a lot more.

Room Tip: The room I had on 8th floor was nice although too small for my wheelchair
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Daniel C,

Thanks for reviewing our property. We are happy to hear that you appreciated so much of what is great about our hotel: fantastic location across from the Xcel Energy Center and near many other attractions, bars, and restaurants; excellent in-house restaurant with an authentic Irish pub atmosphere; courteous and helpful staff; and clean well-furnished guestrooms. We also thank you for rating us a full five stars in all but one rating area.

We do apologize that you felt that there were some issues with handicap accessibility however. While our hotel and its handicap-accessible rooms do comply with all ADA specifications, we are nonetheless sorry if the shower and room generally were smaller than you would prefer. In regards to all aspects of guests' stays, we always ask that guests let us know if there is anything than we can do to make their stays better or to better meet or exceed their expectations. While it may have been difficult to find a quiet space in the restaurant on the night of your stay (A Lady Gaga concert was playing across the street that night, and the restaurant was likely full to everyone), we or restaurant staff would have been happy to try accommodating you and your party. Similarly, if there was any issue with entrance or exit to the hotel, we certainly hope that you felt comfortable letting us know in order for us to fix or otherwise help overcome it.

While we are terribly sorry that you encountered some difficulties during your stay, we are pleased to hear that our staff was useful and willing to help, and we are thankful for your review's constructive criticism of where we can improve. Thank you once again for your review, and we will hope to see you again the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Paul
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#2 of 18 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#1 of 18 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Address: 175 7th St W, Saint Paul, MN 55102-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing