We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a night out” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for a night out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Some friends and I stayed one night for a bachelorette party. We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel itself, but the location is excellent. There is a connected bar/restaurant along with several other options close by. The rooms are small but are clean and have all the essentials, including Bath and Body Works bath products.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppler-Powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Poppler-Powell,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're happy to hear that we were able to provide you with clean rooms for a restful night of sleep and with a base from which to see the city during your visit! We love our central location across from the Xcel Energy Center and within blocks of many great pubs and restaurants! We'll hope to see you again the next time you stay in Saint Paul, and we wish you happy travels until then! Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    127
    71
    27
    8
See reviews for
59
75
16
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Beds are a bit stiff, TV's get out of sync for some reason. Very loud street noise. Doors do nothing to stop noise from the hallways. Irish Pub on the main level is actually quite good for both dinner and breakfast. I probably won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the street. It can be really loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang_D_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi Ang_D_123,

Thanks for reviewing our property. We appreciate your kind comments about our attached Irish Pub, The Liffey. We think they provide great food in a beautiful setting that makes you feel as though you've stepped into a true Irish Pub. On the day that you stayed, we know that the pub, the hotel, and the area in general were full of energy and excitement for the first home playoff game of the Minnesota Wild and that this did lead to some noise from the street. We do employ hotel security on a nightly basis in order to address any noise concerns from within the hotel, but we always do suggest that those particularly adverse to noise let us know of their preference for a quieter room. As you note, a room not facing the street would prevent any street noise from being heard, and we are happy to try accommodating guest requests for rooms away from elevators or ice machines as well. Additionally, our staff is always happy to address any maintenance concerns, so, if a TV is acting up, please let us know and we'll be sure to make it right. We do hope you'll stay with us again the next time you visit the area, because we believe our hotel has a lot to offer: great location, friendly and helpful staff, excellent attached pub, and lots of useful amenities. In any event, thank you again for your review of our property, and we wish you happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Paul hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed for two days for a business trip. Like the other reviews, the location is excellent and apparently the "Mighty Ducks" restaurant is within walking distance it that's your thing. Being a business trip, I didn't much care about the cost but at $150per night (taxes in) it is a good deal.
The room was spacious, carpets and bathroom were clean. Bed was quite comfortable and I like the selection of pillows.
I strongly suggest a drink at the pub, food is good and it has a great atmosphere. Skip the Eagle Street Grille across the street. It’s okay but overrated.
As to the water (I really couldn't believe this), while checking in a member of our party asked the front desk for bottled water (charged to her room) but was told they did not have any, except for the bottled water behind them in pretty bags meant for preferred guests. She offered to buy the bag but was refused because someone would then need to make another preferred guest bag. She was advised that there was variety store somewhere nearby (no specific address was provided). So basically the staff told a female guest to go walking at night looking for a gas station that may or may not exist...nice! Since 3 members of our party were “preferred” guests, they promptly went to their respective rooms and retrieved the water bottles they were given in the pretty bags. Maybe they just don’t like Canadians...though the Flames got hammered that night.
Overall, I would stay again. I'm okay with drinking tap water.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearbait-north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hi Bearbait-north,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed so much of what our hotel has to offer--from excellent location to clean and spacious rooms, comfortable beds, variety of pillows, and absolutely great attached Irish pub, The Liffey! We love its unparalleled atmosphere and ambiance too! We are proud of all that our hotel has to offer, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed all of this!

We are sorry that there was an unusual issue in obtaining bottled water however. While it is true that guests who are registered with our IHG Rewards program may be eligible for numerous benefits including a complementary bottle of water, it is not as though bottled water is otherwise unavailable to other guests. On site, pop machines stocked with bottled water are available on almost every floor of the hotel. Tap water is available from the on-site restaurant if this is preferable. If neither of those work, in order to get bottled water or any number of other bottled beverages, guests could go to either a Walgreen's or a gas station, both of which are only a few blocks away and which we are happy to provide directions to. In fact, we have a complimentary shuttle service that could be used to go to either of these places or to a Target or grocery store in order to buy an entire case if necessary. In any event, we do apologize about the unusual turn of events you described and will be more than happy to better serve you in the future.

That aside, we are really delighted that you enjoyed so much of what our hotel has to offer and are interested in coming back again when you return to the area. We'll look forward to providing you and your party a superior guest service experience! Until then, we wish you all happy travels and thank you again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, MI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel itself is okay. The rooms are smaller and you have to pay for parking, but it's location is excellent, with many bars, restaurants and venues within walking distance. And the Irish Pub within the hotel is also wonderful. Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi Paul J,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're thrilled to hear that you loved our excellent location close to several major venues as well as numerous bars and restaurants. We're especially delighted to hear that you enjoyed our "wonderful" in-house Irish Pub, The Liffey! While we do have a parking charge for those who park, we think you would find that this is common in the downtown area. Also, while we do apologize if the rooms were smaller than you hoped, we trust that they met or exceeded your expectations in terms of amenities and cleanliness--this is the standard we aim for! In closing though, we are thrilled that your stay was a good one, and we will absolutely look forward to seeing you again in the future! Until then, happy travels, and thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My brother and I went up to see the Wild vs. Red Wings game on March 22nd and as it turned out, the UW Badgers hockey team made the Big 10 Championship, so we had to stay and watch that game also and we needed a place to stay. The location is perfect for hockey games at the Xcel and the room and hotel was immaculate, albeit a bit pricey for St. Paul in my opinion. But I guess you're paying for convenience. The front desk folks were very friendly and very accommodating as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T_17Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi T_17WI,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're thrilled to hear that you had a terrific stay with us, loved our "perfect" location, and found your room and the hotel generally to be "Immaculate!" We strive to provide an excellent guest experience, and we're delighted to hear you had a great time! We'll look forward to seeing you again in the future, and, in the meantime, go Badgers...unless they're playing the Gophers (: Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

My kids and I went to a concert at the Xcel and stayed at the Holiday Inn when it was over. You cannot get any closer than this for an event at the Xcel. It was extremely convenient. The restaurant in the lobby does room service very late into the evening which was convenient since we did not have time for dinner before the concert and I'm way too cheap to buy food at the Xcel. We did not spend a lot of time in the room but it had everything we needed. The pool was nice and quiet in the morning when we went down.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi Sarah P,

Thanks for writing a review of our location! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay with us, appreciated our unique location across from the Xcel Energy Center, enjoyed the convenience of the room service offered by our attached restaurant, The Liffey, and had a nice time in the pool the morning after the concert! We really appreciate the review, and we'll look forward to seeing you again in the future. Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Check in was good, Evan was very friendly. Rooms not very inviting or comfortable, TV kept going out, took a long time for hot water in the shower, coffee in room terrible, I forgot my lotion and went to grab the lotion that comes with the room and it was already used, half gone and the morning front desk lady had the attitude of don't bother me! More than likely not stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi Kim T,

Thanks for reviewing our property. We are very happy to hear that check in was good and that Evan was friendly, but, on the whole, we are sorry to hear that there were a few issues during your stay. If you didn't, we always invite our guests to let us know of any issues they encounter as soon as possible so that we can try to correct them. Our maintenance staff is always happy to come and look at a TV if it is having any issues as well as addressing any hot water concerns. Also, if the coffee in the rooms is not to your preference, we do offer a different brew of complimentary coffee in the lobby, the attached restaurant has its own as well, and there is a coffee shop just two blocks down the street if that is preferred. We do apologize if a staff member wasn't helpful in the morning also. We pride ourselves on providing great service to our guests, and we didn't do so at that time. We'll be sure to go over what happened with the person working that morning. In closing, we are happy to hear of the positive points of your stay but sorry that there were some clear areas of improvement that we will address going forward. Thank you for your review, and we hope you'll stay with us again so that we can show you the great guest experience we expect to and strive to provide. Until we then, we wish you happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Address: 175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing