We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Muskegon, MI
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel itself is okay. The rooms are smaller and you have to pay for parking, but it's location is excellent, with many bars, restaurants and venues within walking distance. And the Irish Pub within the hotel is also wonderful. Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi Paul J,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're thrilled to hear that you loved our excellent location close to several major venues as well as numerous bars and restaurants. We're especially delighted to hear that you enjoyed our "wonderful" in-house Irish Pub, The Liffey! While we do have a parking charge for those who park, we think you would find that this is common in the downtown area. Also, while we do apologize if the rooms were smaller than you hoped, we trust that they met or exceeded your expectations in terms of amenities and cleanliness--this is the standard we aim for! In closing though, we are thrilled that your stay was a good one, and we will absolutely look forward to seeing you again in the future! Until then, happy travels, and thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    131
    75
    27
    8
See reviews for
62
81
16
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My brother and I went up to see the Wild vs. Red Wings game on March 22nd and as it turned out, the UW Badgers hockey team made the Big 10 Championship, so we had to stay and watch that game also and we needed a place to stay. The location is perfect for hockey games at the Xcel and the room and hotel was immaculate, albeit a bit pricey for St. Paul in my opinion. But I guess you're paying for convenience. The front desk folks were very friendly and very accommodating as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_17Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi T_17WI,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're thrilled to hear that you had a terrific stay with us, loved our "perfect" location, and found your room and the hotel generally to be "Immaculate!" We strive to provide an excellent guest experience, and we're delighted to hear you had a great time! We'll look forward to seeing you again in the future, and, in the meantime, go Badgers...unless they're playing the Gophers (: Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My kids and I went to a concert at the Xcel and stayed at the Holiday Inn when it was over. You cannot get any closer than this for an event at the Xcel. It was extremely convenient. The restaurant in the lobby does room service very late into the evening which was convenient since we did not have time for dinner before the concert and I'm way too cheap to buy food at the Xcel. We did not spend a lot of time in the room but it had everything we needed. The pool was nice and quiet in the morning when we went down.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi Sarah P,

Thanks for writing a review of our location! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay with us, appreciated our unique location across from the Xcel Energy Center, enjoyed the convenience of the room service offered by our attached restaurant, The Liffey, and had a nice time in the pool the morning after the concert! We really appreciate the review, and we'll look forward to seeing you again in the future. Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Check in was good, Evan was very friendly. Rooms not very inviting or comfortable, TV kept going out, took a long time for hot water in the shower, coffee in room terrible, I forgot my lotion and went to grab the lotion that comes with the room and it was already used, half gone and the morning front desk lady had the attitude of don't bother me! More than likely not stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi Kim T,

Thanks for reviewing our property. We are very happy to hear that check in was good and that Evan was friendly, but, on the whole, we are sorry to hear that there were a few issues during your stay. If you didn't, we always invite our guests to let us know of any issues they encounter as soon as possible so that we can try to correct them. Our maintenance staff is always happy to come and look at a TV if it is having any issues as well as addressing any hot water concerns. Also, if the coffee in the rooms is not to your preference, we do offer a different brew of complimentary coffee in the lobby, the attached restaurant has its own as well, and there is a coffee shop just two blocks down the street if that is preferred. We do apologize if a staff member wasn't helpful in the morning also. We pride ourselves on providing great service to our guests, and we didn't do so at that time. We'll be sure to go over what happened with the person working that morning. In closing, we are happy to hear of the positive points of your stay but sorry that there were some clear areas of improvement that we will address going forward. Thank you for your review, and we hope you'll stay with us again so that we can show you the great guest experience we expect to and strive to provide. Until we then, we wish you happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Paul hotels

Willmar, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Recently stayed here for business and a Wild game. The location is excellent with the Xcel Energy Center across the street and in plenty of food and night spots nearby. The onsite Irish Bar, The Liffy is an awesome establishment with many food and beverage choices. The only downside was the heating unit in our room seemed to be either hot or cold, I just could not seem to find the "just right" temperature.
Check in was a breeze and Kjerstin was awesome at the front desk. Will definitely stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi Mikreyn,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay with us and were able to take in a Wild game during your stay! We are huge fans of The Liffey too--great food and great ambiance, a true spirited Irish pub! As you say though, if you're looking for something different, there are plenty of other options just right outside the front door! By the way, do let us know if you need assistance with anything during your stay--heating unit or otherwise. We're always happy to help! All in all, we're happy to hear that you had a great stay, and we'll look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We always choose to stay at this hotel when we come to the city for concerts and hockey games at the XCel Center. It is diagonally located across the street. The hotel is beginning to show its age and is in need of some renovation. The beds and pillows are getting uncomfortable and the quality of the linens is poor. It is too bad that the beds are only doubles. Having said that, the hotel is clean, excellent value, in a great, convenient location with a very helpful staff. In spite of the fact that the hotel is a favorite of sports fans and concert goers, it is very quiet and security is present and very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi arenamama,

Thanks for reviewing our property, and thank you for listing the many great features of our hotel: excellent location across the street from the Xcel Energy Center, clean guestrooms, quiet and secure premises, and a very helpful staff! We think that our hotel has all of this and more to offer. We do appreciate the comments you made regarding a few improvements too. The next time you stay, we suggest making use of the pillow menu provided in all of our rooms. If the pillows in the rooms aren't to your preference, there are numerous other types that can be delivered, and we'll be happy to do so. Otherwise, we'll look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the area for an event at the Xcel, and, until then, we wish you happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and each time we are impressed. It really is at the center of the action - you can walk everywhere and there are many different restaurants to choose from. Xcel Center is right across the street. Staff was very friendly, room was nice and clean. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchtoodutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi Muchtoodutch,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We always love to hear a glowing review! We're thrilled to hear that we impress each time you visit and are more than happy to hear that you appreciate our clean rooms and friendly staff! We're glad to hear you enjoy being able to walk to all sorts of different fun places as well! Thanks so much again for the review, and we'll look forward to seeing you next time! Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
716 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Address: 175 7th St W, Saint Paul, MN 55102-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing