We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If the airconditioner was waking you up when it turned on and again when it turned off then the cars and trucks rumbling by were - the window has to be paperthin glass. The mattress was spongey and squeaky and the toilet seat slid all over the place. Ugh - go elsewhere for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usatravelnut4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Hi usatravelnut4,

Thanks for writing a review of our property. It sounds like the issues you describe were of two types: room location and maintenance--both of which can usually be rectified by contacting the front desk to seek resolution of the issues.

Take room location first. Our hotel has a prime central location just across the street from the Xcel Energy Center, a half block from the St. Paul Rivercentre, a stone's throw from the rest of downtown St. Paul, and within two blocks of eight different restaurant options for guests. While this central location is largely positive, it, like most everything, can have its downside: many of the rooms in the hotel face the streets running in front of these locations, and, naturally, traffic runs along these streets. While many people prefer streetside rooms due to the views of downtown, others who are lighter sleepers may prefer rooms that do not face the street. We always try to honor guest requests regarding room location even when preferences arise only after checking in.

In a similar vein, we have a maintenance staff on site in order to fix any equipment issues that there may be in our guestrooms--everything from toilet seats to air conditioners. While we certainly agree that it is best to fix problems such as a noisy air conditioner or loose toilet seat prior to check in--we do periodic preventative maintenance in all of our rooms in an attempt to do just that--we also invite you to contact the front desk in case this isn't accomplished and there is something to fix.

Where there is an issue with a room, our goal is to make it right for you in order to make your stay a great one. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you visit the area and hope we've made you feel comfortable to input any room location preferences in your reservation upon booking. Thank you again for your review, and we wish you happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 321 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding a few weeks ago. Our room was clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. The front desk staff helped us arrange a cab to the ceremony, which we really appreciated.

There's an Irish pub/restaurant that's attached to the hotel. We visited it during both nights of our stay and, each time, the service was painfully slow.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mieka Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hi Mieka Y,

Thanks for writing a review of our property! We appreciate your comments about the restaurant and will be sure to pass along your comments to them. For now, let us say that we apologize for the slow service. Aside from that though, we are very happy to hear about the positive aspects of your stay. We are especially happy to hear of the cleanliness of your room and about the front desk's help in aiding you to get around the city--both things those respective departments strive hard to do well. If you visit St Paul again, we hope to see you again and invite you to try us and the attached restaurant again. If the restaurant doesn't appeal, remember that there are seven other great dining options within two blocks of the hotel as well! Until your next visit, happy travels! Thank you again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed past weekend under a group wedding reservation. Everything was fine until we got back from the wedding late Saturday night. We had about six people in our room visiting, no music or TV.
There was a knock on the door and someone opened it, assuming it was family staying on the same floor. A man came in, he did not give his name or stated that he worked for Holiday Inn. He yelled, "This is your 1st warning, it is 1 AM". He did not say what the warning was for or that we would be evicted or some other consequence. He left immediately, it took probably less than 10 seconds. We initially assumed it was hotel staff, but it happened so fast we're not sure his dark shirt (blue or black) had a Holiday Inn logo or not. He definitely had no name tag. We had not heard from the front desk about any noise complaint.

Perhaps Holiday Inn could ascertain if it was there employee or not. If it was not, obviously, it is something out of their control. And a slightly above average rating would be warranted.

If it was their employee, he needs to identify himself and maybe improve his interpersonal skills. After spending about $500 ourselves and the wedding guests, in total, several thousands; it's reasonable to expect staff to handle problems in a professional manner. Also, it would likely be more effective.

The staff at the front desk was helpful and totally professional. If anything, it's a good reminder to check the peephole before letting anyone to enter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GNvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi GNvk,

Thanks for writing a review of our property. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay until the verbal warning for noise was given late that Saturday night. As you encountered, we do employ hotel security on a nightly basis in order to maintain a quiet environment in which guests may sleep and rest at night. While we believe this service to be valuable, we do agree that our security personnel should have acted differently. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we will reiterate to our personnel the importance of announcing themselves and explaining to guests why they are visiting a room. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you but hope that you otherwise enjoyed your stay and the wedding. Thank you again for the review, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I recently had to stay at this hotel because almost every other room in all of the Twin Cities was totally booked. It was not a pleasant experience. There were a good number of drunk people wandering around being very obnoxious and the hotel itself was stuffy. I had a hard time breathing and I'm not a person who would normally struggle with that.

Outside of a wide selection of pillows there aren't a lot of extras in this hotel, unless you count the coffee maker. It's a reasonably clean hotel and for the price it's not too awful, although there are many other options in the St Paul area and next time I'll be definitely staying at one of those.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLSchiebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hi KLSchiebel,

Thanks for writing a review of our property. We're pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and reasonably priced but sorry to hear that there were some other troubles. First, we hope that you brought any stuffiness in your room to the attention of the front desk so that our maintenance personnel could inspect your air conditioner to ensure it was functioning properly and so that they could fix it if necessary. We aim for all guests to be comfortable during their stays with us. In the same vein, we hope that you let us know if there was anything else (any "extras") that you needed to make your stay more comfortable. We always try to honor these requests when we can. Laslty, we are sorry if other guests proved to be a bother to you as well. We do employ hotel security every night to ensure that guests maintain quiet after 10pm. We trust that these guests--presumably some of the many wedding guests we had in-house the night of your stay--were only found in the bar and lobby areas, as we regularly try and keep wedding guests on floors separate from other guests. Nonetheless, we apologize if they inconvenienced you at all. Once again, thanks for writing a review of our property, and we wish you happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July for a family event. The hotel's location is excellent if you are looking for easy access to the Excel Center and other downtown St. Paul venues. There are several really great restaurants, grills, pubs, and so on near the hotel, so you this is a great place to stay if you are a foodie or simply don't like to eat in hotel restaurants. The room itself was on the small side as was the bathroom. There was no enclosed closet, the bathroom area was quite small and, overall, I felt like I was in an economy European hotel. The AC unit did not work well, and so I was constantly up throughout the night trying to adjust the temp to stay consistent, but it varied from 65–75 degrees in the room. The bed itself was really uncomfortable. The fitted sheets kept coming off the corners and the other covers were too light and short to make it comfortable for a tall person like myself. The room was not overly clean. We found long hair on the towels, bathroom floor, and in the tub when we arrived. We mentioned this to the hotel staff, who were very quick to offer a new cleaning plus vouchers for a complimentary breakfast.

On the plus side, all of the hotel employees were incredibly polite, quick to help, and empowered to solve problems.

Also, in spite of the proximity to downtown, our room was very quiet. This may be due, in part, to the fact that all guests had to sign the hotel's "quiet policy," which let people know that after the first warning, guests would be expelled from the hotel for subsequent complaints. We did not hear traffic noise or other outside noise at all.

Parking is a bit problematic. We were fortunate to get the last spot in the hotel's parking ramp, which is shared with other venues apparently for concerts and businesses. The cost of parking was over $15/day, including tax, which was too much given that spots were not easily accessed. But, that's not entirely unusual for downtown hotels in this day either. So, the consumer has to simply put up with it I guess.

Room Tip: Try to get a hotel room away from the street side; they are quieter, although the view isn't qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musician47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hi Musician47,

Thanks for writing a review of our property. We're happy to hear that many of your comments about our property were positive--that you found the location "excellent" as being close to major venues and many dining options, that the hotel was quiet despite its location and therefore provided a restful environment in which to sleep, and that our staff was "incredibly polite, quick to help, and empowered to solve problems."

We do believe that we have a great staff that is eager to help make guests' stays great and therefore hope that you felt free to notify them (the front desk in particular) of any issues you encountered during your stay, especially of any maintenance or housekeeping issues we could take care of. We genuinely desire to make your stay as comfortable as possible and sincerely urge you to let us know of any issues you encounter during your stay (should you have any in the future) that we can correct.

Regarding parking, there is indeed a fee of $14 + tax per day (equaling $15.07 per day) per car. Parking through the hotel also permits in-and-out privileges for guests for the parking ramp next to our building. As you say, it is common in downtown locations for there to be a charge for parking, and I believe this to be the case in other hotels in downtown St. Paul as well.

In closing, we'd like to thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting St. Paul, and we hope to see you again in the future. We look forward to the opportunity to make your stay as great as possible. Thank you again for your review, and we wish you happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights (25-27 June 2013) on a trip around Minnesota. The Hotel is ideally located within close walking distance to most attractions and restaurants in the area. Our Room faced the street and was inclined to be a bit noisy late at night and the Queen sized beds seemed a bit small. The killer, though, was the cardkey system. Our room failed to open second time and also when the keys were reset - the lock failed! Our daughter's Room Key also failed and needed recreating - the explanation in this case that the key may have been too close to either cell phone or Ipad did not apply in this case. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi were more than adequate. I would return to this hotel but select a room not facing the road and also checking that the cardkey system was reliable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Hi Eric O,

Thanks for writing a review of our property! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's ideal location in downtown St. Paul! The next time you visit we absolutely invite you to let us know whether a street view is desirable or not. We're always do our best to honor these requests! We apologize for the problems with your keys as well. They do occasionally get erased when they get near cell phones or anything with a magnet in them. Do feel free to have us double check that the keys are working the next time that you check in with us though. That way we can minimize errors on our end anyway. Regardless, we're happy that, on the whole, you stay was a good one, and we look forward to making your next stay a great one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I came to this Holiday Inn for a business trip, expecting to stay 2 nights and going on the mostly positive reviews here. However, everything from the minute I set foot on this property was underwhelming and the staff (front desk) was about the most uncaring I've ever encountered at a Holiday Inn or IHG property.

I arrived late at night, around 11 p.m., to be told the computer system was undergoing repair or an upgrade and they'd have to check me in by hand. No problem, until they said they had no record of my reservation. I had booked a king nonsmoking room. I was told none were available (even though on the IHG website and app there were clearly plenty of king n-s rooms available for immediate booking for that night, and the hotel was clearly not sold out). I accepted a non-smoking double, with request for a quiet location and high floor. Got the high floor but the room faced the street and also was both across from the 2 main elevators and next to the 3rd one. Therefore, anything but quiet.

The room was surprisingly basic and in fact, having stayed at dozens of Holiday Inns, seemed rather tired and outdated, more reminiscent of of a Super 8 or something along that line. The bed in that room were uncharacteristically hard and for some reason there were flannel sheets on - in the middle of June. The bathtub also didn't drain well. But it was midnight and i needed to get up early so i just went with it. No, the room was anything but quiet and sleep was poor.

I should also mention the parking garage gate didn't work - ate my key card so that was another trip to the front desk.

A colleague of mine also stayed at this hotel, who is from Australia, and had a family emergency back home requiring numerous international phone calls. The phone in her room didn't work and required the front desk to be helping her out manually with placing those calls.

Upon check-out, the morning staff were rude to her - clearly stating in my ear shot how off-putting all those international calls were and their job wasn't to be doing that. What? Excuse me, your job is guest service, not to grouse and complain because your room telephone didn't work.

When I checked in the previous night, the staff were really not helpful and just gave a very distinct impression that they couldn't be bothered, both with the alleged lack of king rooms and the parking garage key card fiasco.

I checked out early the next morning and found another hotel. I would never stay at this HI again - they have a long way to go with their facilities and customer service.

Room Tip: stay on top floor facing back of the property, away from the street and the Xcel Center. And definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Hi hotelreviewer333,

Thank you for writing a review of our property. We are thankful to hear compliments when we earn them and very appreciative of constructive criticism when it is warranted. We apologize for the aspects of your stay that you've highlighted in your review, and I personally welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay more. In order to do this, I've sent you a personal message with my contact information; I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
744 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Address: 175 7th St W, Saint Paul, MN 55102-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range: $125 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown. You are in the heart of it all! If you are attending a hockey game, concert, or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and the RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Infor, Ecolab, and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport and the Mall of America are only minutes away. If you are planning a family vacation, you are steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum, Palace Theater, and the Ordway Center. We are also the closest hotel to Children's and United Hospitals. While you're here be sure to visit St. Paul's only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey, located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing