We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel- Not sure about the staff ? Wouldn't book it for a wedding again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK hotel- Not sure about the staff ? Wouldn't book it for a wedding again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed past weekend under a group wedding reservation. Everything was fine until we got back from the wedding late Saturday night. We had about six people in our room visiting, no music or TV.
There was a knock on the door and someone opened it, assuming it was family staying on the same floor. A man came in, he did not give his name or stated that he worked for Holiday Inn. He yelled, "This is your 1st warning, it is 1 AM". He did not say what the warning was for or that we would be evicted or some other consequence. He left immediately, it took probably less than 10 seconds. We initially assumed it was hotel staff, but it happened so fast we're not sure his dark shirt (blue or black) had a Holiday Inn logo or not. He definitely had no name tag. We had not heard from the front desk about any noise complaint.

Perhaps Holiday Inn could ascertain if it was there employee or not. If it was not, obviously, it is something out of their control. And a slightly above average rating would be warranted.

If it was their employee, he needs to identify himself and maybe improve his interpersonal skills. After spending about $500 ourselves and the wedding guests, in total, several thousands; it's reasonable to expect staff to handle problems in a professional manner. Also, it would likely be more effective.

The staff at the front desk was helpful and totally professional. If anything, it's a good reminder to check the peephole before letting anyone to enter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GNvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi GNvk,

Thanks for writing a review of our property. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay until the verbal warning for noise was given late that Saturday night. As you encountered, we do employ hotel security on a nightly basis in order to maintain a quiet environment in which guests may sleep and rest at night. While we believe this service to be valuable, we do agree that our security personnel should have acted differently. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we will reiterate to our personnel the importance of announcing themselves and explaining to guests why they are visiting a room. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you but hope that you otherwise enjoyed your stay and the wedding. Thank you again for the review, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    127
    71
    27
    8
See reviews for
59
75
16
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I recently had to stay at this hotel because almost every other room in all of the Twin Cities was totally booked. It was not a pleasant experience. There were a good number of drunk people wandering around being very obnoxious and the hotel itself was stuffy. I had a hard time breathing and I'm not a person who would normally struggle with that.

Outside of a wide selection of pillows there aren't a lot of extras in this hotel, unless you count the coffee maker. It's a reasonably clean hotel and for the price it's not too awful, although there are many other options in the St Paul area and next time I'll be definitely staying at one of those.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLSchiebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi KLSchiebel,

Thanks for writing a review of our property. We're pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and reasonably priced but sorry to hear that there were some other troubles. First, we hope that you brought any stuffiness in your room to the attention of the front desk so that our maintenance personnel could inspect your air conditioner to ensure it was functioning properly and so that they could fix it if necessary. We aim for all guests to be comfortable during their stays with us. In the same vein, we hope that you let us know if there was anything else (any "extras") that you needed to make your stay more comfortable. We always try to honor these requests when we can. Laslty, we are sorry if other guests proved to be a bother to you as well. We do employ hotel security every night to ensure that guests maintain quiet after 10pm. We trust that these guests--presumably some of the many wedding guests we had in-house the night of your stay--were only found in the bar and lobby areas, as we regularly try and keep wedding guests on floors separate from other guests. Nonetheless, we apologize if they inconvenienced you at all. Once again, thanks for writing a review of our property, and we wish you happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Paul hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July for a family event. The hotel's location is excellent if you are looking for easy access to the Excel Center and other downtown St. Paul venues. There are several really great restaurants, grills, pubs, and so on near the hotel, so you this is a great place to stay if you are a foodie or simply don't like to eat in hotel restaurants. The room itself was on the small side as was the bathroom. There was no enclosed closet, the bathroom area was quite small and, overall, I felt like I was in an economy European hotel. The AC unit did not work well, and so I was constantly up throughout the night trying to adjust the temp to stay consistent, but it varied from 65–75 degrees in the room. The bed itself was really uncomfortable. The fitted sheets kept coming off the corners and the other covers were too light and short to make it comfortable for a tall person like myself. The room was not overly clean. We found long hair on the towels, bathroom floor, and in the tub when we arrived. We mentioned this to the hotel staff, who were very quick to offer a new cleaning plus vouchers for a complimentary breakfast.

On the plus side, all of the hotel employees were incredibly polite, quick to help, and empowered to solve problems.

Also, in spite of the proximity to downtown, our room was very quiet. This may be due, in part, to the fact that all guests had to sign the hotel's "quiet policy," which let people know that after the first warning, guests would be expelled from the hotel for subsequent complaints. We did not hear traffic noise or other outside noise at all.

Parking is a bit problematic. We were fortunate to get the last spot in the hotel's parking ramp, which is shared with other venues apparently for concerts and businesses. The cost of parking was over $15/day, including tax, which was too much given that spots were not easily accessed. But, that's not entirely unusual for downtown hotels in this day either. So, the consumer has to simply put up with it I guess.

Room Tip: Try to get a hotel room away from the street side; they are quieter, although the view isn't qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musician47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi Musician47,

Thanks for writing a review of our property. We're happy to hear that many of your comments about our property were positive--that you found the location "excellent" as being close to major venues and many dining options, that the hotel was quiet despite its location and therefore provided a restful environment in which to sleep, and that our staff was "incredibly polite, quick to help, and empowered to solve problems."

We do believe that we have a great staff that is eager to help make guests' stays great and therefore hope that you felt free to notify them (the front desk in particular) of any issues you encountered during your stay, especially of any maintenance or housekeeping issues we could take care of. We genuinely desire to make your stay as comfortable as possible and sincerely urge you to let us know of any issues you encounter during your stay (should you have any in the future) that we can correct.

Regarding parking, there is indeed a fee of $14 + tax per day (equaling $15.07 per day) per car. Parking through the hotel also permits in-and-out privileges for guests for the parking ramp next to our building. As you say, it is common in downtown locations for there to be a charge for parking, and I believe this to be the case in other hotels in downtown St. Paul as well.

In closing, we'd like to thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting St. Paul, and we hope to see you again in the future. We look forward to the opportunity to make your stay as great as possible. Thank you again for your review, and we wish you happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights (25-27 June 2013) on a trip around Minnesota. The Hotel is ideally located within close walking distance to most attractions and restaurants in the area. Our Room faced the street and was inclined to be a bit noisy late at night and the Queen sized beds seemed a bit small. The killer, though, was the cardkey system. Our room failed to open second time and also when the keys were reset - the lock failed! Our daughter's Room Key also failed and needed recreating - the explanation in this case that the key may have been too close to either cell phone or Ipad did not apply in this case. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi were more than adequate. I would return to this hotel but select a room not facing the road and also checking that the cardkey system was reliable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hi Eric O,

Thanks for writing a review of our property! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's ideal location in downtown St. Paul! The next time you visit we absolutely invite you to let us know whether a street view is desirable or not. We're always do our best to honor these requests! We apologize for the problems with your keys as well. They do occasionally get erased when they get near cell phones or anything with a magnet in them. Do feel free to have us double check that the keys are working the next time that you check in with us though. That way we can minimize errors on our end anyway. Regardless, we're happy that, on the whole, you stay was a good one, and we look forward to making your next stay a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
245 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I came to this Holiday Inn for a business trip, expecting to stay 2 nights and going on the mostly positive reviews here. However, everything from the minute I set foot on this property was underwhelming and the staff (front desk) was about the most uncaring I've ever encountered at a Holiday Inn or IHG property.

I arrived late at night, around 11 p.m., to be told the computer system was undergoing repair or an upgrade and they'd have to check me in by hand. No problem, until they said they had no record of my reservation. I had booked a king nonsmoking room. I was told none were available (even though on the IHG website and app there were clearly plenty of king n-s rooms available for immediate booking for that night, and the hotel was clearly not sold out). I accepted a non-smoking double, with request for a quiet location and high floor. Got the high floor but the room faced the street and also was both across from the 2 main elevators and next to the 3rd one. Therefore, anything but quiet.

The room was surprisingly basic and in fact, having stayed at dozens of Holiday Inns, seemed rather tired and outdated, more reminiscent of of a Super 8 or something along that line. The bed in that room were uncharacteristically hard and for some reason there were flannel sheets on - in the middle of June. The bathtub also didn't drain well. But it was midnight and i needed to get up early so i just went with it. No, the room was anything but quiet and sleep was poor.

I should also mention the parking garage gate didn't work - ate my key card so that was another trip to the front desk.

A colleague of mine also stayed at this hotel, who is from Australia, and had a family emergency back home requiring numerous international phone calls. The phone in her room didn't work and required the front desk to be helping her out manually with placing those calls.

Upon check-out, the morning staff were rude to her - clearly stating in my ear shot how off-putting all those international calls were and their job wasn't to be doing that. What? Excuse me, your job is guest service, not to grouse and complain because your room telephone didn't work.

When I checked in the previous night, the staff were really not helpful and just gave a very distinct impression that they couldn't be bothered, both with the alleged lack of king rooms and the parking garage key card fiasco.

I checked out early the next morning and found another hotel. I would never stay at this HI again - they have a long way to go with their facilities and customer service.

Room Tip: stay on top floor facing back of the property, away from the street and the Xcel Center. And definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hi hotelreviewer333,

Thank you for writing a review of our property. We are thankful to hear compliments when we earn them and very appreciative of constructive criticism when it is warranted. We apologize for the aspects of your stay that you've highlighted in your review, and I personally welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay more. In order to do this, I've sent you a personal message with my contact information; I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I can understand being the unfortunate one who got a room over the loading area in the parking lot that's busy all night, however, real curtains so that i'm not woken at sun up, and kept up seems like an obvious feature that should have been there. Both clocks were wrong (10 min slow and 45 min fast). No conditioner day one but 4 bottles of awful body lotion! The thermostat needed to be set to 62 so that it would keep the room at 71, which it did do well. My associate's door lock had to be replaced, which delayed us an hour from going out. Coffee was not replaced for the second morning; just as well since it was expectedly horrendous. The shower temperature took 15 min to adjust and then mid wash changed so drastically i almost broke my neck fleeing the scalding heat. The have cute pillows labeled by firmness which is good because they are so lumpy you wouldn't know otherwise. As always the iron almost ruined my clothing. WiFi network was corrupt and caused "blue screening".
...staff was friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_phillip_stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear j_philip_stewart,

Thank you for writing a review of our property, but we are terribly sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. We strive to make all our guests' stays great ones, and most reviews (including those on Tripadvisor) we receive from guests show that this is only rarely not accomplished. Where we do not live up to our goals and your expectations, we always try to make amends. In order to better accomplish this, we ask that you contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with our Front Office Manager. Alternatively, please feel free to provide us with an email address or phone number and we will be glad to contact you. Once again, thank you for bringing all of this to our attention and for reviewing our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We arrived at the hotel around 10pm. They were very friendly at the check-in desk and they had bell carts ready for us. Everything looked clean. We checked out the pool and while small, it was open until 11pm so that was great because after the long car ride, the kids were ready for the pool. I didn't try out the hot tub as I was not in the mood for swimming but it looked nice as well. There were plenty of towels out and the temperature was just fine. The room was just a normal hotel room, but we did not expect anything extravagant. The beds were clean, made, and the pillows were fine. I brought my own but they gave the option of both firm and soft pillows. The beds were firmer than I personally like, but I slept just fine on them. The bathroom was clean and in good order. The shower had good water pressure. The halls were not loud at all. My kids did get yelled at by someone because they were laughing too loud, but it was not a staff member and I agreed they were being too loud for 10pm. There was a parking garage right next door. The cost was $14 for the overnight, which I did think excessive, but honestly, there was no where but there to park downtown, and I do understand the cost. The view from our room was great. We could see the downtown shops and the river with the riverboats. All in all, the room was just fine for the 1 night we stayed and was in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frisk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Hi Frisk32,

Thanks for writing a review of our property! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're happy to hear that you found everything throughout the hotel to be clean and comfortable and that you were able to enjoy a restful sleep in your quiet room. We're glad to hear that you appreciated the nice view from your room as well--a bonus aspect of our great location in downtown St. Paul. Thanks for your review and for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Address: 175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing