We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel last weekend and had a great time! Perfect location within walking distance to many local restaurants and the Xcel Arena. All the employees were very curtious and timely. Great outside patio upstairs with plenty of room! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    128
    71
    27
    8
See reviews for
60
76
16
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Good location if going to a concert. Parking is extra. Staff was average or less.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton City, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We checked in and greeted promptly and professionally. We were stopping on our way for a road trip we had planned and decided to do a Mississippi river cruise. The hotel was not far away but we decided to get a taxi, all I had was $100 bill so I asked if i could change it out for some smaller bill the front desk clerk was more then happy to do so. When I booked the hotel through hotels.com I selected a King room when we checked in she confirmed that we were stay for one night and in a queen. I told that I should have booked a king and apparently hotels.com only put in a note that we wanted a king. She was more then happy to helps us out but the only thing they had was a handicap room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshWBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that my staff was able to accommodate your request. Our goal is to offer comfortable rooms and great service to keep our loyal guest returning each and every time. We value your opinions and thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

First I would like to say that I am not writing this because I'm hating on the hotel but with my experience there, I wish not to return and seemed like a racist act for no reasonable accusation. And I am not making this up. Booked the hotel for one night, checked in about 3pm dropped our stuff off because we were from out of town, of course, then left about 3:30pm to explore out stay in MN. Came back around 7:00, took or swim and the pool and the Jacuzzi, this was with like 7 of my friends. We rented 2 rooms with 2 beds. So then around 9pm maybe close to 10pm we went out to have fun for the night. Didn't get back till 2 and 20 minutes later the manager, Evan, came and told us that we were way too loud. So we were like ok maybe we are loud so went to our own rooms, 4 in the bedrooms, and not even 10 minutes later kicked us out for being loud again. I don't know about the other 4 people because they did have visitors too but in my room it was only 5 of us which the extra one was a visitor. We were just watching tv and talking to each other and he came back and kicked us out and said that we were being loud for the past 3 hours. First of all, we just got back for about 20 minutes only not 3 hours. Second, are we suppose to be whispering to each other, why we can't talk to each other? Thirdly, was there a sub-imprint somewhere on our stay that said that there's a curfew before a certain time? This was a horrible experience. Kicking us out at 2 in the morning, with no where to go, for not a reasonable reason and a total lie. I would love to at least have my money back for just a few hours of stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lxiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
We have reviewed your comments and we have sent you a private message to gather additional information about your stay.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Paul hotels

Kemaman, Terengganu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Arrive on the 8th Jun, the hotel is nice, clean and people are great!!! Staffs and general public. Housekeeping folded a pet from the towel which was very sweet. Location is good, many bars and restaurant within walking distance. Overall had a real 5 days stay :)

Room Tip: the rooms should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzhamTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I was in town with friends for the Roger Waters concert at the Xcel Energy Center. Let me first say the location could not be better. The Xcel Center is a short walk across the street. Several bars restaurants within walking distance. If you want a good location this is it.

Parking was $15 during my stay and check in went smooth. The hotel has 3 elevators in the lobby one of which did not appear to be working. The other two were very slooooow.

When we got to our room it was clean but very warm. We turned the AC to 60 and went to have a good time. When we returned to our room after midnight the room was still very warm the AC was not working properly. Figured it was too late to switch rooms so we notified the fromt desk of the problem when we checked out. My room had two twin beds which were comfortable but small and many pillows to choose from. TV reception and picture was great. We asked for a roll away but were told fire codes prohibited but was offered additional sheets and blankets if needed.

The toilet had a purple foam running down the outside of it. We would wipe it up but it would return. The shower also had some dark marks on the floor. It made it appear dirty. We never used or saw the pool. Free coffee in the lobby in the morning and free USA Today.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBB071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I have been in this hotel in may, 2012. The position is close the Saint Paul down-town, walking distance. The room is large with view on the cathedral, the internet connection is included in the price and it is fast enough. In the room a coffee machine is provided, which is also appreciated. The personnel is kind. Beds are comfortable and with choice of pillows.

On the negative aspects: the bath is really small, not for an adult. The toilet is automatically flashing a small amount of water each 15 minutes, which is annoying during the night. The breakfast is not included, it can be done in a restaurant within the hotel, not very convenient. The room has a fridge but it is empty (?). Not serious drawbacks anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zarpietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear zarpietro,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations. We are sorry you found the bathroom accommodations less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Address: 175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing