We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location when heading to Xcel Energy Center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Manitoba
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location when heading to Xcel Energy Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Recently spent one night here with a group that had 3 rooms. We had no issues with anything during our stay. We were able to check in slightly early. Amazing location to walk across to the hockey game. My room was on the street side which had some morning traffic noise but do not feel that this is any different then other hotels. Will definitely stay here again when heading back to Xcel Energy Center.....

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liv2Travul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    127
    71
    27
    8
See reviews for
59
75
16
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you are in town to attend a game/concert at the X-Cel energy center,this is the place to stay. It also has numerous restaurants nearby along 7th St.West. We ate several times down in the Liffey restaurant attached to the hotel and were most pleased with the service and food. The hotels hot tub and pool were nice,but not particularly large. Workout center included two treadmills,an elliptical machine, and a universal weight machine all in good working order.If you like to run/walk head down Eagle street, across from the Hotel, and walk along the Mississippi river. The River pathways are beautiful, well situated and maintained. All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

The hotel was clean and convienent my event location. Parking was easy and security tight in the evening as there were several big events in the area Saturday Night. Noise from the 7th Streetside after the crowd got out of the concert. Room on the 5th floor with a nice view of the area ooking out to the River. Shuttle was convienent and the driver excellent nees to brush up on the local restaurant though. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North Side are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamrocki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

As noted by other reviewers, the hotel is a bit worn, and could really use some refurbishment. However, I found the room clean and adequate, and the staff was kind enough to put me on a higher floor to avoid the noise (Wild game that evening). My floor was quite quiet, no noise issues at all. All in all, average economy hotel with better than average staff if you need directions, questions, etc.

Room Tip: Get highest floor available, staff seems to put the less rowdy hockey fans there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomIm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Had a king room on the 8th floor. Room was good. Nice view of the River & Xcel center. Lots of lights. (kind of a minus). Parking is $14.50/day. There was an NHL hockey game at the Xcel Center, so the hotel put up signs asking guests to not be noisy. I'd be sensitive to the possibility of noise if there's an event at the Xcel. While I wonder what one hand clapping sounds like, this hotel makes me wonder if a hockey crowd is noiser after the game than a rock-n-roll concert crowd after the show. When I got off the elevator on the 8th floor, I was concerned about an "electricky" burnt smell. I looked around and saw a burning scented candle in a glass globe in a small hotel office down the hallway. (There are hotel offices up there). I reported it, and the general manager said she thought it was safe because the office was occupied and the candle was under a sprinkler head. As a business traveler, I won't stay there again, but if you're going to something at the Xcel Center, it would be perfect.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rw939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

The Holiday Inn staff was really the highlight for me. They were always helpful and friendly. The location of this hotel is another plus. It is within walking distance of the River Center, many museums and restaurants. The rooms were clean, had free wifi and were very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burrfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed here for one night, was in town for Wild hockey game. Stayed the night of 12/17/11 in room 724, had view of downtown and Xcel center. When we got to room there was a towel animal on the bed, looked like a dog, and the kleenex was folded to look like flowers, and the toilet paper looked like a fan, very creative housekeeping. Room was fairly standard with king bed, chair, flat screen tv, desk and another chair, and 2 night stands. There was also a fridge and microwave, coffee maker. Bathroom was on the small size, and not very much counter space, but there were plenty of towels, standard Holiday Inn toiletries. The room and bathroom were very clean. As for the noise people have complained about, we had to sign a noise contract when we checked in that states if hotel staff are called once with noise complaint to your room they come speak to you, if there is another complaint you will be asked to leave the hotel at that time. We did hear some people talking in hall when returning to their room, but only other noise was sirens a few times during the night. Did find the bed to be harder than I like. Did not eat at the restaurant or use pool or exercise room. Would return if going to another event at Excel as it is just accross the street.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nursecommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
4.8 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#11 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Address: 175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing