We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
80
141
80
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
141
80
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish pubxcel energy centergreat locationwild gameattending an eventroom was cleanparking ramphigher floorhockey gameearly checkwithin milesbusiness tripshuttle servicehot tubfitness centerfree shuttleliffey
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 338 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2011

When we arrived, we discovered that we had the wrong room type. One of the people with us had to sleep on the floor. We were stuck with that for two nights. The check in agent was unapologetic. She seemed to think it was somehow our fault. Then she was aburpt and somewhat rude. We were not compensated for the mistake.

The rest of the staff was friendly. The location is awesome if you are going to the Xcel Centre. The hotel is clean and was reasonably quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mblakeknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Despite its reasonable price, our room was fairly spacious and included a microwave and refrigerator. Bed was nice and firm. Location was truly downtown, within easy walking distance of interesting antique shops. on 7'th street. Great 30's-era diner (MIckey's) just a few blocks up 7th street.

The in-hotel restaurant (the Liffey) was a decent Irish pub/sports bar, although service was way too slow. This didn't bother us because we were in no great hurry, but keep it in mind if you eat here. We were eating with a large group (about 12 people). They did have the good sense to bring out kids' food first.

The bar was fun, with interesting beers/ales on draft.

There were two hockey nights at the Excel center during our stay. Perhaps we were just lucky, but there wasn't a noise problem from this. We were on the 4th floor with a view of 7th street and the Excel center.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColdStorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed at this hotel because it was close to the Excel Center for a concert I went to. The management were great at keeping things quiet at the hotel after the concert, they mentioned they hired security to allow their guest a peaceful stay. Usually guest at hotels after a concert can be pretty wild but we never heard any problems. The hotel is very nice, and in a very good area of town. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I would stay here again when I'm in St. Paul!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Excellent affordable hotel for attending events in downtown St. Paul. A snowstorm extended our wonderful stay for an extra two days due to cancelled flights and the Holiday Inn staff accomodated us with no issues. Room service breakfast from the Liffey is first rate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McRickNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have stayed here several times when my wife and I were attending Xcel Center events.
The hotel is well kept and staff very accommodating. Reasonably priced for its location. The pool is quite small, but then we are downtown.
The best part is The Liffey, an authentic Irish pub on the first floor. Nice beer selection, great ambience and friendly staff. All this and you are a two minute walk from front door of the Xcel Center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews