We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome hotel with awesome location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
FUQUAY VARINA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel with awesome location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Excellent affordable hotel for attending events in downtown St. Paul. A snowstorm extended our wonderful stay for an extra two days due to cancelled flights and the Holiday Inn staff accomodated us with no issues. Room service breakfast from the Liffey is first rate.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McRickNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    120
    70
    26
    8
See reviews for
50
74
16
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have stayed here several times when my wife and I were attending Xcel Center events.
The hotel is well kept and staff very accommodating. Reasonably priced for its location. The pool is quite small, but then we are downtown.
The best part is The Liffey, an authentic Irish pub on the first floor. Nice beer selection, great ambience and friendly staff. All this and you are a two minute walk from front door of the Xcel Center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I love this hotel. I've stayed here several times and I know the St. Paul area very well. I'd say this hotel is absolutely the best location for business or vacation travelers to the area. Why? Because you can walk across the street to the Excel Energy Center, plenty of nice restaurants, all the nightlife St. Paul has to offer (which is not much), and bars. You can even walk into downtown without the need for a cab.

It's basically in the heart of everything that happens in this town. Now if you want to spend a few more bucks for luxury and ritz, then I'd head over to the Crowne Plaza or the St. Paul Hotel. I like those places too but you gotta spend the bucks.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mytravels234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Recently my wife and I were looking to combine a short getaway with some work travel in the St. Paul area. While looking for a hotel that was located in the city (instead of some far-flung suburb) and was not extremely pricey, we stumbled across the Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown. What we found was a functional hotel with a great location across from the Xcel Center and just a short walk from the many restaurants and coffeeshops that are springing to life just west of downtown St. Paul.

Once we arrived at the hotel, we found your standard downtown Holiday Inn. The rooms were comfortable, were somewhat spacious (for a downtown hotel,) and had nice views of the surrounding neighborhoods and river bluffs.

Overall, though this is not a remarkable downtown hotel, we found it was a nice place to stay in the Twin Cities and is in a location that can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoMoRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The location of this hotel is fantastic. So much to do right around the area. We were there going to La Traviata at the Opera house. It's location is right across from the Excel Energy Center, The Science Museum is right down the Street. Several bars right in the area. We also had our engagement pictures taken around down town St. Paul and that was fun. The hotel was very busy along with the Liffy Bar that is right down stairs. It was the State Hockey Tournament so their were families everywhere. I imagine the guests change quite a bit depending on what is going on in the area. We ordered room service and had the cheese tray and curry fries and they were perfect pre-opera food. The room was pretty average and ours over looked Excel Energy Center it was fun to watch the very busy street. The staff was courteous and was very helpful in getting us a cab to the opera...It was to cold in March to walk there even though it is within walking distance. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonfly0187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDsHouse
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed here in June for a business event at the Xcel Center. Location was great, within walking distance. Hotel was clean but seemed outdated. Bathroom was dirty upon check-in, hair on the floor and toilet seat needed wiped down. Bed was comfy but the walls and doors are EXTREMELY thin and you can hear everything in the hallway at all hours of the night. My door lock didn't seem to work too well, had to pull the door shut hard to get it to lock. Food in the Liffey was good. Overall it's a Holiday Inn. Don't expect anything more and you'll be satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDsHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Level Contributor
339 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We arrived early, got checked in early and had a supberb view of the Cathedral. The girls on reception treated us like friends and were real role models for how all hotel receptions should be. The room was spotlessly clean with plenty of space. We used The Liffey restaurant and bar attached to the hotel, and found the food average, but the prices a bit high, same applies to the bar. On our 4-week trip, this was one of the more expensive places to eat and drink, and not particularly brilliant for food.

Room Tip: Ask for a Cathedral view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JstarkScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 17 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#1 of 17 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Address: 175 7th St W, Saint Paul, MN 55102-2520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing