We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
80
141
80
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
141
80
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish pubxcel energy centergreat locationwild gameattending an eventroom was cleanparking ramphigher floorhockey gameearly checkwithin milesbusiness tripshuttle servicehot tubfitness centerfree shuttleliffey
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 338 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I love this hotel. I've stayed here several times and I know the St. Paul area very well. I'd say this hotel is absolutely the best location for business or vacation travelers to the area. Why? Because you can walk across the street to the Excel Energy Center, plenty of nice restaurants, all the nightlife St. Paul has to offer (which is not much), and bars. You can even walk into downtown without the need for a cab.

It's basically in the heart of everything that happens in this town. Now if you want to spend a few more bucks for luxury and ritz, then I'd head over to the Crowne Plaza or the St. Paul Hotel. I like those places too but you gotta spend the bucks.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mytravels234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Recently my wife and I were looking to combine a short getaway with some work travel in the St. Paul area. While looking for a hotel that was located in the city (instead of some far-flung suburb) and was not extremely pricey, we stumbled across the Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown. What we found was a functional hotel with a great location across from the Xcel Center and just a short walk from the many restaurants and coffeeshops that are springing to life just west of downtown St. Paul.

Once we arrived at the hotel, we found your standard downtown Holiday Inn. The rooms were comfortable, were somewhat spacious (for a downtown hotel,) and had nice views of the surrounding neighborhoods and river bluffs.

Overall, though this is not a remarkable downtown hotel, we found it was a nice place to stay in the Twin Cities and is in a location that can't be beat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoMoRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The location of this hotel is fantastic. So much to do right around the area. We were there going to La Traviata at the Opera house. It's location is right across from the Excel Energy Center, The Science Museum is right down the Street. Several bars right in the area. We also had our engagement pictures taken around down town St. Paul and that was fun. The hotel was very busy along with the Liffy Bar that is right down stairs. It was the State Hockey Tournament so their were families everywhere. I imagine the guests change quite a bit depending on what is going on in the area. We ordered room service and had the cheese tray and curry fries and they were perfect pre-opera food. The room was pretty average and ours over looked Excel Energy Center it was fun to watch the very busy street. The staff was courteous and was very helpful in getting us a cab to the opera...It was to cold in March to walk there even though it is within walking distance. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfly0187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed here in June for a business event at the Xcel Center. Location was great, within walking distance. Hotel was clean but seemed outdated. Bathroom was dirty upon check-in, hair on the floor and toilet seat needed wiped down. Bed was comfy but the walls and doors are EXTREMELY thin and you can hear everything in the hallway at all hours of the night. My door lock didn't seem to work too well, had to pull the door shut hard to get it to lock. Food in the Liffey was good. Overall it's a Holiday Inn. Don't expect anything more and you'll be satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDsHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We arrived early, got checked in early and had a supberb view of the Cathedral. The girls on reception treated us like friends and were real role models for how all hotel receptions should be. The room was spotlessly clean with plenty of space. We used The Liffey restaurant and bar attached to the hotel, and found the food average, but the prices a bit high, same applies to the bar. On our 4-week trip, this was one of the more expensive places to eat and drink, and not particularly brilliant for food.

Room Tip: Ask for a Cathedral view
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews