We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
80
141
80
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
141
80
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish pubxcel energy centergreat locationwild gameattending an eventroom was cleanparking ramphigher floorhockey gameearly checkwithin milesbusiness tripshuttle servicehot tubfitness centerfree shuttleliffey
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 338 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed here in June for a business event at the Xcel Center. Location was great, within walking distance. Hotel was clean but seemed outdated. Bathroom was dirty upon check-in, hair on the floor and toilet seat needed wiped down. Bed was comfy but the walls and doors are EXTREMELY thin and you can hear everything in the hallway at all hours of the night. My door lock didn't seem to work too well, had to pull the door shut hard to get it to lock. Food in the Liffey was good. Overall it's a Holiday Inn. Don't expect anything more and you'll be satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDsHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We arrived early, got checked in early and had a supberb view of the Cathedral. The girls on reception treated us like friends and were real role models for how all hotel receptions should be. The room was spotlessly clean with plenty of space. We used The Liffey restaurant and bar attached to the hotel, and found the food average, but the prices a bit high, same applies to the bar. On our 4-week trip, this was one of the more expensive places to eat and drink, and not particularly brilliant for food.

Room Tip: Ask for a Cathedral view
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

stayed 2 nights had a family wedding in downtown St. Paul. Picked this hotel for convenience and based on other good reviews, plus we got a pretty good value. This hotel has it all for location. Right across the street from the events center. Walking distance to several restauraunts. We walked to the Science Museum and also walked down to the River where there is a nice path to walk on. The church where our family event was only 3 blocks walk also. Very convenient.

We did get a good value on our hotel room. The room was clean, bed was comfy & 4 pillows on each bed to choose from. Fridge in the room nice to have but didn't use it. Kids liked the pool (even tho it's a bit small) and hot-tub was nice. Restuarant on site ( the Liffy) is really nice & got a good value for breakfast with the Kids Eat Free deal.

The only thing that bothered me is that the beds (in the Double Bed rooms) are indeed Doubles, not Queen size. Not a huge deal, I just didn't realize until I got there. The rooms are very small, so I'm sure Doubles is all they can fit? Bathroom is small with very little counter space to put your things. I couldn't connect to the free wii-fii. Probably not any fault of the hotel, signal appeared to be strong, just couldn't connect. Otherwise we were very satisfied with our stay. They have a shuttle that runs all day & will bring you to any downtown location for free, which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sd2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Comfy beds. Clean hotel. Very convenient to the Rivercentre. The bar/restaurant, the liffey, is decent. Staff is so nice. they make a killer drink! get some ginger cucumber with vodka. They also have a gluten free menu. That rocks. hotel room was fine. maybe a tad pricey for what you get

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarenicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is a nicely updated, recently renovated Holiday Inn with comfortable bedding, multiple pillow options (always a plus in my book), flat screen television, and free wi-fi in tthe rooms. There also is a small fridge in the room. My room faced the parking ramp and was on a lower floor, and early in the morning I woke (an hour earlier than intended) to the sound of garbage loading, or other maintenance/supply type tasks. Later one evening a loud group of folks going to or from the parking garage from the lobby could easily be heard through the closed window. That aside, the hotel is a great value for the location and amenities. Small pool and small fitness room on-site, comfortable bar/restaurant attached. Parking is an additional daily charge in the adjacent garage, for a reasonable (by downtown metro standards) charge. I would recommend this hotel to others and stay again, particularly if attending events at the Excel Center across the street. The Science Museum also is within a block's walk. Great neighborhood for a morning jog just up the hill down Summit Avenue, and you have easy access to all the great shops and restaurants on Grand Avenue as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNnortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews