We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Zoo Dining?”
Review of Zobota Cafe

Zobota Cafe
Ranked #14 of 20 Quick Bites in Saint Paul
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

My husband & I grabbed lunch while we visited Como Zoo and the first thing we noticed was the atypical menu. We expected standard "zoo cafeteria" fare, but Zobota had Pad Thai and sandwiches with aioli. It sounded good, but it really wasn't. The Pad Thai was mediocre and undercooked. The chicken sandwich tasted like a pre-cooked, reheated chicken and was just not great. Basically, they are trying to do some sort of pseudo-gourmet fast food thing and it completely falls short.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank queenkiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 17 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

Ordered the vegetable Pad Thai. A few noodles and invisible vegetables at the bottom of a plastic tray. My partner ordered cup of chili and the Hickory cheeseburger which was so-so and came with cold fries. No refills on fountain pop. Cost? $27.40

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank honeymoonerAug2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Nice place to have a snack or lunch when going to the zoo at Como Park. Reasonable prices and both indoor and outdoor seating.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Momster224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2016

We ate in the Zobota Cafe and it was very good! Seemed a touch pricey for the quantity of food you got, but not having to pay an arm and a leg to get into the zoo offsets the price for sure! And the staff was very nice!!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2016

OK, better than hot dogs and cheeseburgers. I would not travel to the Zoo to dine, but if at the Zoo already then I would gladly enjoy a meal at this restaurant. We were in the area to visit family, I grew up in Roseville, a visit to the Como Zoo was a standard activity. My family enjoyed the animal visits and then decided to grab a bite to eat. Checking TripAdvisor we realized that there was nothing of interest close, so decided to check out this restaurant. We each ordered a dish: loaded Mac and Cheese, Chicken Alfredo, Corn Chowder Soup, and Chicken Pad Tia. When we received the dishes we realized that there was way too much food and that we should have just ordered two dishes to share. You order, grab a seat, get buzzed, then go back and pick up your stuff. There food is OK, nothing fancy, tasty enough, and well worth the price that you pay. They have a great range of variety available. The prices are reasonable for what you get. So if you visit the Zoo and decide that you would like to grab a bite to eat, then stop in and know that although you will not be "wowed", you will de fulfilled.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MO4975678910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zobota Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Zobota Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing