We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris in St. Paul”
Review of Meritage

Meritage
Ranked #7 of 889 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paris in St. Paul”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Last night, pre-Opera, we did our usual scramble from Minneapolis through rush-hour traffic to St. Paul in order to eat at our favorite restaurant, Meritage. The food is excellent (especially the organic greens salad and ham in the Thursday night special); the service spot-on (right there when wanted; not when not); and the ambiance festive without being too loud. It reminds us of our favorite brasseries in France so we feel we get a mini vacation each time we are there. Oh, and the wine - a malbac from CA -- was reasonably priced, rich and warming on that extremely cold night. Capped off with three amusements for dessert, we made it to our seats before the curtain rose..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    97
    33
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
216 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A fancy meal . . . so be prepared”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Meritage is not exactly casual dining, but two dinners here in the past couple months have each been memorable experiences. Perhaps the most notable dish was the "trio of [local] pork," which was an immense treat -- three entirely different tasting cuts of pork. Duck breast predictably delicious, wonderful oversize burger, wonderful mussels with fries. Excellent wines, indeed many with surprisingly good values at around $40/bottle -- especially for restaurant fare -- but we did not say inexpensive. Chef Russell Klein greets his regulars. Get a reservation (early) for the dining room, or enjoy the full menu in the less formal bar. Outside seating as weather permits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank torla42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I couldn't disagree more with the positive reviews here!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am quite surprised by all of the positive reviews that Meritage has gotten. While the space itself is beautiful, the food totally fell flat. We didn't finish one item we ordered...the french onion soup was SWEET (seemed to be not just from a sweet onion, but it tasted like there was 1/2 cup of sugar in it) and inedible. I had a few bites of the cheese on top but the broth was not good at all. We ordered oysters (fine enough) and escargots, which tasted like they came out of a jar. Our server was delightful but, to be direct, smelled like she just finished a bottle of brandy. I'd say this would be a good place to go for a drink and a few happy hour oysters only.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cowgirl359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE place to go for Oysters, and one of our favorite restaurants”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We come here often for oysters. Their wine selection is outstanding, and their sommeliers are very knowledgeable. Food is consistently excellent., and staff and owners friendly, and very professional. They also offer great wine classes (we attended a few). The restaurant is always busy, so either come early to bar or make reservations. One of our favorite places in the Cities.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DCS555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“best pomme frites ever”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice place -- had lunch/brunch there. Food was excellent, especially the French Fries. Only downside, I would say, are the acoustics. It was a little too echo-y to hear well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank galinuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing