We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I couldn't disagree more with the positive reviews here!”
Review of Meritage

Meritage
Ranked #8 of 892 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I couldn't disagree more with the positive reviews here!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am quite surprised by all of the positive reviews that Meritage has gotten. While the space itself is beautiful, the food totally fell flat. We didn't finish one item we ordered...the french onion soup was SWEET (seemed to be not just from a sweet onion, but it tasted like there was 1/2 cup of sugar in it) and inedible. I had a few bites of the cheese on top but the broth was not good at all. We ordered oysters (fine enough) and escargots, which tasted like they came out of a jar. Our server was delightful but, to be direct, smelled like she just finished a bottle of brandy. I'd say this would be a good place to go for a drink and a few happy hour oysters only.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cowgirl359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    98
    34
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE place to go for Oysters, and one of our favorite restaurants”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We come here often for oysters. Their wine selection is outstanding, and their sommeliers are very knowledgeable. Food is consistently excellent., and staff and owners friendly, and very professional. They also offer great wine classes (we attended a few). The restaurant is always busy, so either come early to bar or make reservations. One of our favorite places in the Cities.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DCS555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“best pomme frites ever”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice place -- had lunch/brunch there. Food was excellent, especially the French Fries. Only downside, I would say, are the acoustics. It was a little too echo-y to hear well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank galinuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant blend of France and Minnesota cuisine”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Excellent for occasions when you want to feel special - with high quality cuisine, pleasant atmosphere, and knowledgeable service. We have dinner here 2-3 times per year. On a recent visit, with a group of 7, everyone thoroughly enjoyed their experience. Among the entree highlights: The Sea Bass with razor clams along with some delicate shrimp and mussels had a velvety ocean-herb sauce; The duck breast, medium rare, with its accompanying quince-rosemary puree had outstanding flavor; the two members of our party who ordered the trio of pork with sweet potato puree described it as "succulent and hearty". The Meritage oyster bar stocks a good selection of east and west coast fresh oysters; we ordered 3 eastern varieties, served with a wine sauce, and they delighted us. The restaurant has some unique signature house cocktails, along with standard cocktails, presented elegantly. Certainly consider the "amusements" - tiny morsels which rotate on and off the menu. This time, members of our group enjoyed the saffron-mussel soup, the tuna tartare taco, and the duck liver schmear. We have never met anyone who has dined at Meritage and has not liked it, but two caveats: 1) Don't expect a classic French restaurant. We have never met a server there who speaks French. 2) The wine list might disappoint you. It does have an extensive selection of French reds (which we love), but tends toward the pricy end, and it lacks some variety beyond the wines of France.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerPaul_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's a great splurge”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I went here with our adult children. Since they could not accommodate a reservation for us in the dining room, we ate in the "Oyster Bar" which is first come, first served seating. The area was a bit noisier than I expect their dining room is, but it was easy to have conversation at the table in the bar. The menu choices were intriguing and unusual. We had a couple of starters to share, a main dish each, and a few deserts to share. Each of the dishes we had was amazing to look at, smell and, of course, eat. The service was fabulous. We never felt rushed and our server graciously accommodated all of our requests. We had a great experience at Meritage and look forward to returning some day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderLikeAWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing