We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”
Review of Meritage

Meritage
Ranked #8 of 892 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Willowbrook
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had reservations for 8 on a Saturday but our plans changed and we arrived earlier. No problem, after a brief wait, they were able to seat us. Enjoyed a lovely meal with excellent service. Started with the panzanella salad which we could have split, there was so much on the plate. Also had the escargot, the duck breast and the saddle of rabbit. Profiteroles for dessert with homemade ice cream filling was delicious.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LFL101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    98
    34
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Dining experience”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a great dining experience, this is your place. You must have some oysters from around the country. The Peters Point, Mass ones are not to be missed. The broiled oysters are good too. The muscles and frittes are amazing. You can just call them French fries but they are the best fries you ever had. The chunks of pancetta in the sauce is amazing. Some great bread to dip in the sauce just tops it off. The rabbit saddle and marrow crusted beef was extremely tender and tasty. The martinis were a little small and poured to half full. That was disappointing for the money you spend. The only negative thing I can say. The cream brûlée was amazing! Good atmosphere and huge wine list are a bonus on top of great food. You must go if you come to St. Paul.


Helpful?
Thank bekntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stopped here by accident. We got tired of waiting in line for a bagel, and walked around to find an alternative, saw this place and decided to stop by. We figured if we were going to wait, we might as well sit down!
And we were not disappointed. The brunch was excellent- cooked French style. I had the raspberry and cheese blintzes and my husband got scrambled eggs with bone marrow.
Next time we are going to stop here for dinner.
Awesome food!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shotguncloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

You can always tell a good restaurant, it is one where you can close your eyes, stab your finger at the menu, and know that everything they bring you will be fabulous.

This is such a restaurant.

The food is excellent, without being overly pretentious, the atmosphere is upscale without being stuffy, the service is attentive, without being annoying. And the menu choices are varied without being overly confusing or too extensive to execute correctly.

In short, it's a great place to eat and drink, with a low cost valet outside, it's easy to see why it ranks so highly on this site.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZCT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Downtown St. Paul gem”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I had dinner at the lively oyster bar at Meritage before going to the Coldplay concert later that evening. Neither of us had been to Meritage, and now we know what we were missing! We can't wait to go back. The bartenders were energetic, friendly and competent, and the food is outstanding. We had an assortment of west coast oysters, foi gras, and their Friday special, which was a whole bronzini fish. All were delicious and well-prepared. Matt the bartender recommended a perfect white wine (Muscadet) to accompany our meal. The bar and building have a European feel. Meritage is a downtown St. Paul gem!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNdawnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing