We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Duck Burger!”
Review of Happy Gnome

Happy Gnome
Reserve with OpenTable
Happy Gnome is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 889 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Selby and MacKubin
Transit: The 21 drops off right in front.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Duck Burger!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I've had duck burgers only a few times but this was was very good. It was very tender, good flavor without being too gamey. Very good service too. Apparently the duck burger is only available part of the year, so I'm coming back ASAP. The other items were a 3, but the DB was a 5!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    122
    30
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
twin cities
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food + great beer = great night”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went for the fantastic beer list but the food was a wonderful surprise. We ordered the short ribs and the ribeye and both were fantastic but slightly over salted. The beet salad was one of the best but the chicken wild rice soup was more brothy than creamy. We told our waiter we were in a bit of a hurry and he was wonderful about keeping our meal flowing without us feeling rushed. We ate upstairs which was quieter and more intimate but a tad dark - we had to use the light on our cell phones to see the menu.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank wife-o-matic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
189 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“If you like beer, it's a great stop.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Huge beer selection, if you can't find something you like here, you never will. Only had bar food and had the pork tots and the pretzel, both were incredible. It's not cheap but the atmosphere is fun and awesome beer selection.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
157 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went here with friends for HH and had some light bites. Was very good and yummy. The selection of drinks is nice but very pricy. If you have more than a couple beers it will get $$$$. Love the outside deck and worth it for a treat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mommyto4blessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best local bars.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great for entertaining out of town visitors and happy hour meetings. Wide selection of beer and great food to compliment. Been going to this place since it was aka Chang O'hara's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thuy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Gnome also viewed

 

Been to Happy Gnome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing